Customer Reviews for

Superstitious

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    I love R.L. Stine, but I was a bit disappointed with the supernatural context. I grew up reading his books, so I wanted 2 see how he did in adult writing. His writing was great, as usual, but...

    The book was a great read until the last 20 pages where he began 2 tie it all together. The story of the return student who falls in love with the ecentric, superstitious, not 2 mention attractive Irish professor was great. It kept you guessing as the killings began to happen and u don't know who 2 suspect. All arrows point 1 way, then another. Then you begin 2 find out about the professor's scetchy past and the truth about him. Once it all starts 2 come 2 light is where the disappointment begins 4 me.It did have me guessing until the end, just not the ending I would have liked... I guess. If u are in2 the supernatural, u will love this book. It just wasn't my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    10 years later and I finished it

    So I bought this at a yard sale 10 years ago and started it, got a few chapters in and put it back on the bookshelf, then periodically I decided to pull it off and give it a fair try, and now, 10 years later i have finished it, all I can say is i am glad that i only paid $.50 for this, because it was a let down all the way through. The killer, obvious, the plot was somewhat interesting and the characters were an obvious attempt in trying to create complex characters, and makeing them more dull and unbelievable. When you spend thre to four pages repeating the same phrase in every paragraph 8-12 times persentence, it's time to pray that the Muses will smite you for a litterary disaster. When I finally finished it I was glad, because i would not have to read it again. The only reason I sped through the last 25 chapters was because it was 1 rediculously short chapters, and 2. thats when the whole stroy actually began to get good, to bad the character remained as dry and boring as they started out.<BR/>All in all the idea behind it was good, just a pitty that it was written in such a horrible manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    R.L. Stine does it again!

    I really enjoyed this book! I thought the storyline was great and I love R.L. Stine's writing style. I used to read Goosebumps and Fear Street when I was younger and was so happy that he wrote a book for adults. I hope he comes out with more adult books! I couldn't put this one down! Good read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Outstanding

    This book was awsome. A really good read R.L. Stine outdid himself! I hope he makes more adult books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book called Superstitious a book by R.L. Stine is about a young man named Liam he is about 30 years old, he is a collage professor. When people start to come up dead on the campus everyone is terrified. It reminded me of all the people who die every year and how you can¿t trust anyone. I really enjoyed this book and hope you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Big Long time Fan

    This book was very good.The way he told everything.I swear I never would have guessed who was killing everybody and neither will you no matter how good of a detective you think you are.But there were some sexual parts you might want to skip over. Or maybe not,but I did. And the secerts some of those people have will blow you away and why they have those secerets are even more shocking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    One of the best books!!

    I bought this book on a hunch from when i was younger reading Goosebumps. I was shocked to find this was a little more indepth than those books yet intrigued to find it was very interesting. I finished the book in 2 days and since then i have read it 7 times. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys horror, suspense and a twist of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    very boring!

    The first chapter starts off very promising, but I just couldn't get interested. I forced myself to read 11 chapters, and then finally put it down and started on something better. Reading should be fun!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Disappointing sums it up

    First of all, i need to say that if this is the first Adult fiction book by R.L. Stine, then he needs to stick to Goosebumps. Stine needs to realize that you can't write a perverted story filled with disgusting, (yet pretty awsome) deaths and overly detailed sex, put a cheesy cover on it and then have the guts to say it's an 'adult fiction' it got two stars cause the deaths were kinda cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    FOR THRILL SEAKERS

    THIS BOOK WAS ONE OF HIS BEST BOOKS, BECAUSE IT HAD THRILL, BUT, IT ALSO HAD PASSION AND IT WAS VERY MUCH IN DETAIL FOR DEFINITE THRILL SEAKERS. IF YOU'VE READ HIS YOUNGER VERSION OF BOOKS THIS A GOOD BOOK TO BREAK FROM YOUNG ADULT TO ADULT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    Good plot, bad ending

    This book gives you suspense, overall the plot is great, but the ending was somewhat horrible. The solution was poorly satisfying. I guess R. L. Stine didn't really know how to end it. After I finished the book, I felt I've been ripped off my time reading 400 pages. The main plot is good however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    I love R. L. Stine's work

    R.L. Stine is the best horror story writer. Superstitious is one of R.L. Stine best works. I have read practically every series that he has. I hope that he comes out with more books like this. The way it was vividly explain to the reader is what I most enjoyed about it. I deeply recommened it to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    His best book yet!!!!

    I have read all of stine's fear streat series.. When i read this book I was very impressed.. it is the best book he has ever wrote.. and I am hoping to see more adult books from him..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Best book I've ever read

    This book is go to be the best book I've ever read. It kept me in total suspence. I could never put the book down, I said 'Just one more chapter' but it ended up with about 10 chapters. I recommend this book for all readers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1