Customer Reviews for

Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    an underrated work of genius

    this is my favorite album of all-time by any artist. every song is an emotional, philosophical, spiritual journey. it is a shame that this album was so overlooked by the industry because it is not only better than jagged little pill, but alanis's best work to date. some of her best songs are on here--including "that i would be good," inspired by the pressure to live up to JLP's success, "the couch," a dark, quirky tale about what goes through her head during therapy, the rocking, should-have-been-a-hit-single "so pure," and the incredible "thank you." most alanis fans will tell you that she is a lyrical genius, and the proof for that is nowhere more evident than on this album. do yourself a favor and pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BETTER THAN JAGGED LITTLE PILL!

    Jagged Little Pill was great album fives stars all the way, but this album is a break through! Alanis really comes to term with her ideas on religion, politics, spirituality, sexuality, and many other things. You will love this CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Ponderous Disappointment

    Not much to say here but this album seems to have sophomore jinx written all over it. Jagged Little Pill, and then Alanis' albums after SFIJ are truly remarkable and stand up so well to repeated listenings. However this, with the exceptions of Thank U, So Pure and Joining You, is almost like a repititious drone, unremarkable melodies to say the least, making it hard for me to reach for this CD when I want to enjoy Alanis. Completists will naturally want this and there are a handful of good tracks as I mentioned, but for all others, there is far better Morissette fare out there from which to choose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's ok

    You have to have a lot of time, patience, and be in a certain mood to listen to this CD. A lot of the songs don't seem like songs they have good lyrics but that's all they are. They're not catchy or fun to listen to at all. The ones I thought stood out were Front Row, Baba, Thank U, and So Pure. Thank U and So Pure are my definite favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still a Junkie for Alanis

    Alanis Morisette's sophomore effort presents itself as more of an epic journey than the raw soul searching and analyzing we felt on JLP. Though some of the songs contain abstractions that may appear unrelative to the average listener, this CD shows Alanis is still experiencing her own self-deepening and it works in most of the songs. Songs like "Front Row", with the wonderful line, "I'd like you to be schooled and in awe as though you were kissed by God full on the lips," and "Sympathetic Character" show Alanis is still absorbing the highs and lows of her experience with relationships. The CD does contain other gems like "Joining You," "So Pure," and "Baba," among others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thank U Alanis! Really Good Songs!

    Very Peaceful Songs but interesting lyrics, "Unsent", "Baba", "Would Not Come". Alanis has settled down and stated to make more like adult music. "Joining You" is the best track. It is so touching track! I love it! All the tracks are really good although there is many songs. Normally albums fail when they have too much but this doesn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very beautiful and confessional album

    I really like this album because it sounds like diary entries. It shows Alanis dark side and I like it more than Jagged Little Pill. If there is ever any albums in which I think Alanis Morissette shines as a star is on Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie and on Alanis Unplugged. I loved it and you should get it. People said they didnt like it but I think its because they didnt buy it because of the beautiful song Thank U that everyone hated and didnt give it a chance. PEACE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis,why you always so sad?

    Alanis is really a very very cool rock star. Her songs are always so wonderful. But why her always wrote so sad and angry songs, like ''Can't Not'',''Baba'',''Uninvited''etc. Who can tell me please write to me, ok? Alanis, please write more happy songs,ok? I love you. You're the best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Real Talent Will Always Shine Through

    This album is absolutely pure, unadulterated pleasure. Her use of wonderous variety in her instrumentation as well as lyrics shows that she has astounding talent. Every song just sweeps you off your feet with the music and hits home with the profoundly deep lyrics. I predict that she will continue to do even bigger and better things as time progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it

    I absolutly loved this album....quite possibly more than JLP. The lyrics were brilliant from Front Row to Your Congradulations. I am a long time Alanis fan and am elated that she decided to put out another album. I can't wait to see what she will put out next...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rock Out!

    What an amazing album!Alanis is one of the most untreging and unique artist around and this record proves it.With the most intresting sounds to the most heart-felt songs, this album is one of a kind.With the most pure mixture of sounds on the tracks,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Superb Album

    i loved the mixture of the moods and the intensity was incredible. you can feel the emotion in each song. you can really tell where she is coming from. i would definately recommend this cd to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis Morissette-Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie

    This is an awesome CD, but not better than Jagged Little Pill. They're both equally as good. In Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie, Alanis brings us along on a journey that goes deeper into her feelings and emotions. Her use of vocabulary is astounding. Some of my favorites would be: Front Row, Baba, Can't Not, and Would Not Come. I really love all of the songs. This album should be in every home in the world. As well as Jagged Little Pill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1