Customer Reviews for

Supreme Justice

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

fast-paced thriller

In Oregon, former cop Sarah Woodruff is on death row having been convicted of killing her lover, John Finley. Her appeals are running out with her last chance being the Supreme Court. Her lawyer has filed the papers to get a delay and a hearing.

However, there are ...
In Oregon, former cop Sarah Woodruff is on death row having been convicted of killing her lover, John Finley. Her appeals are running out with her last chance being the Supreme Court. Her lawyer has filed the papers to get a delay and a hearing.

However, there are those who do not want her plea to go before the highest court because most likely criminal activity inside the CIA will be revealed. A vacancy enables the behind scenes operatives to reject her request for a hearing. However, to anchor this position, the assassination of a justice is ordered. Private investigator Dana Cutler and law clerk Brad Miller are in the middle of preventing a Beltway murder from happening.

The latest Cutler-Miller DC thriller (see Executive Privilege) is an ultra fast-paced tale that hooks the audience with a need to know the identity of the conspirator(s) as another Oregon death row case has ties across the country. Although much of the cast, especially the DC crowd is stereotyped out of headlines news, readers will appreciate the latest Oregonian-Beltway hook up. A Pacific Northwest private investigator and legal clerk try to prevent a travesty orchestrated on the other side of the country from happening.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too confusing

I am an avid reader of this author, but found this book hard to follow since it seemed to constantly jump from one story to another. I hoped that soon all the characters would meld and the story would become consistent, which didn't happen. Disappointing compared to h...
I am an avid reader of this author, but found this book hard to follow since it seemed to constantly jump from one story to another. I hoped that soon all the characters would meld and the story would become consistent, which didn't happen. Disappointing compared to his other books.

posted by deb53WA on May 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fast-paced thriller

    In Oregon, former cop Sarah Woodruff is on death row having been convicted of killing her lover, John Finley. Her appeals are running out with her last chance being the Supreme Court. Her lawyer has filed the papers to get a delay and a hearing.

    However, there are those who do not want her plea to go before the highest court because most likely criminal activity inside the CIA will be revealed. A vacancy enables the behind scenes operatives to reject her request for a hearing. However, to anchor this position, the assassination of a justice is ordered. Private investigator Dana Cutler and law clerk Brad Miller are in the middle of preventing a Beltway murder from happening.

    The latest Cutler-Miller DC thriller (see Executive Privilege) is an ultra fast-paced tale that hooks the audience with a need to know the identity of the conspirator(s) as another Oregon death row case has ties across the country. Although much of the cast, especially the DC crowd is stereotyped out of headlines news, readers will appreciate the latest Oregonian-Beltway hook up. A Pacific Northwest private investigator and legal clerk try to prevent a travesty orchestrated on the other side of the country from happening.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Too confusing

    I am an avid reader of this author, but found this book hard to follow since it seemed to constantly jump from one story to another. I hoped that soon all the characters would meld and the story would become consistent, which didn't happen. Disappointing compared to his other books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Disappointed

    This story seemed to not move along very quickly. I found myself skipping pages and I have never done this with his previous books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Supreme Silliness

    This may not be the worst book you could read as the story is interesting at different points, but the author takes it to such heights of silliness that I just couldn't take it seriously. Another reviewer pointed out that the story jumps around a lot, and that makes it hard to follow as well. So, if you are looking for something that is not intellectually challenging, then go for Supreme Justice. You'll forget about it minutes after you are finished with it, but no harm will be done. No animals will be hurt, and, if you get the e-book, no trees will have suffered needlessly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Fast paced thriller. Sometimes I think I might have a heart atta

    Fast paced thriller. Sometimes I think I might have a heart attack from the excitement and suspense in Phillip Margolin's legal thrillers! They are nonstop, never a dull moment reading. And that's the way I like my books. Exciting and can't put down from page one!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    NOOK CITY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I enjoyed the story.  It wasn't a deep read, but that's not what

    I enjoyed the story.  It wasn't a deep read, but that's not what I was looking for.  A nice, quick adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good Page Turner

    I really enjoyed this book. It does have continuing characters but it stands alone. Twist and turns of Washington DC politics, bad guys and murders! His descriptions of his characters is excellent; you get a good visual of what the people look like. I'd recommend this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very entertaining

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It had a good plot that felt really current, even though it was written three years ago. I'm just finishing my third Philip Margolin book and haven't yet been dissappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    This novel is an exciting thriller, a puzzling murder mystery involving a ghost ship and the President's nominee to the U.S Supreme Court. The story leads us in a twisted tale that opens more questions than answers involving a real soup mix of law enforcement officers: local police, state police, CIA, FBI, Homeland security and the U.S. Supreme court... (Hahaha it seems the only group missing is the keystone cops..:) )

    This is quite an involved story with numerous characters, plots and sub-plots weaving in and out.

    The main plot involves an attack on Felicia Moss, a Supreme Court Justice, who has the swing vote concerning a death penalty case reviewing the fate of Sara Wooddruff, a police officer, convicted of murdering her boyfriend, John Finley. When the officer's appeal reaches the top court, shadowy links begin to surface to a mysterious ghost ship and several cold case murders. Reopening the case threatens to uncork a bubbling mess hidden within the justice system.

    Private investigator Dana Cutler, FBI Agent Keith Evans and attorney Brad Miller are brought in to determine why the murder case is causing shockwaves in Washington. As they search for answers, they are forced to pull out every trick in the book, jump many hoops and cross many avenues. The result will inevitably leave a warm spot in the heart of any demanding mystery reader.

    This book is sharply written with an interesting and charming cast. Although some recurring characters from "Executive Privilege" have the lead roles, not knowing their past history did not deter my interest, the non-stop action kept me on the edge of my seat and entertained for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can buy the hardback for 6.98 at b&n

    Can buy cheaper at b&n

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5