Customer Reviews for

Surfacing

Average Rating 5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    I bought this CD for my husband, and he just loves it. He enjoys this style of music on his commute to and from work each day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this

    There were seven songs on here that were incredible. First, the songs that weren't my cup of tea: "I love you," "Witness" and "Last Dance" were too slow for me. The songs I loved were "Sweet Surrender," "Building a Mystery," "Adia" and "Angel." They were all big hits. I thought "Do What You Have to Do" and "Full of Grace" should have also been hits. I also loved "Black and White." Listen to the samples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my all-time favs

    Sarah has a pure, beautiful voice. The band on this album is top-notch as well. Also, there is so much subtle beauty in the accompanying instruments. Listen for the slight off-key guitar feedback after "are you an angel" in Sweet Surrender. Gives me shivers down my spine every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    Surfacing is a masterpiece. Sarah McLachlan has really put mind, body, and soul into her music. She has the most incredible voice... I could listen to her music all day long. I hope anyone who is introduced to her, enjoys it as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece

    I think this is her more famous CD, due to the fact it contains "Angel", a beautiful song but unfortunately the only song most people identify her with. Usually when I tell people Sarah Mclachlan is my favorite singer, they respond, 'she's the one that sang that song "Angel", right?' If only people took the chance to get to know her music more. This is truly a great collection of songs, all fantasic. Personal favorites are "Building a Mystery" (genius!), "Sweet Surrender" (to me it deals with change, taking a risk but not forgetting who you are, I love the line- 'are you an angel, am I already that gone?'), "Do What You Have to Do" (sooo moving and so deep, about how we feel when having to move on, let something go), "Witness" (Many people overlook this amazing song, it makes you really look at life as well as yourself), and "Full of Grace" (also strong and emotional- I freaked with I heard it on Buffy- it was PERFECT, truly wicked!) If you like meaningful lyrics and an angelic voice singing along to amazing and bloody good music- Try this CD out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Surfacing

    In review I wrote for Sarah's latest, 'Afterglow', i said that was her best album. Then i bought 'Surfacing'. This ladies and gentlemen, is her best album. Rarely (and i mean rarely) do you really like all the songs on one album. This is an exception, most definately. The songs are all excellent and enchanting. As usual, her writing is top notch. The best songs are "Adia", "Building a Mystery" and "Angel" (if you are a guy this song will seduce you, quite literally). Buy this cd! It is a must have. A any store (including BN where i got my copy) should be very very very proud to have this masterpiece on its shelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it

    this is actually my first album i bought from Sarah Maclachan so i am a new listener. I only bought it because it contain the song Full of Grace which was featured in the TV show Buffy the Vampire Slayer for any of you who are fans like me that song appearing in Season 2 finale Becoming part 2. after listening to that song i decided to buy her cd and it turned out to be pretty good. i recommend listening to Angel its really beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    WOW! I fell in love with Sarah's music the second that i heard her voice, and i've loved it since. Surfacing is the best Sarah CD. I recommend this CD to any true lover of music. Sarah has the greatest voice of all time. Her rich cords, haunting lyrics, and soulful voice are sure to bring a tear to your eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Stuff!!

    I have to admit I first bought this album to impress this chick I was trying to get with. After a couple of dates and driving around, the songs kinda grew on me. Now, many years later the girl is gone but Sarah is still here. I guess at the end of the day this cd is a-ok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    *****

    Not since Skeeter Davis has a voice emerged as pure as Sarah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diva with Soul

    I have listened to each track of "Surfacing" several times over the last several weeks, and I can't remember another pop singer/songwriter in recent times with more depth and poetic nuance than Sarah. She's not only a philosopher, but an accomplished performer, giving full effect to the depth of her lyrics with her style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I bought this cd in '97 back when it first came out. i can't stop listening to it! i love the way she sings her songs with such feeling and soul. turn the lights low, put on the air conditioner on a summer's night, and lay down on the bed with this on. i also listen to it in the car and stuff all the time! Next time you go to the cd store, get this one. you won't regret it...unless you have this cd already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't get enough of Sarah!

    This cd is #1 in my book! as always, sarah's work is always excellent and touching. this is my favorite. i listen to it in the car with my mom or dad,put it on while i'm in bed, and dance to it, too! Get this cd-youll be glad u did. cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best I've ever heard

    Sarah has given so much to me with this album.I recently discovered her music and I can't put it down.I would walk a million miles to get more and more and more...It's just not enough sometimes.I intend to get every thing she's ever sung...I can't Thank her enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Sarah more than anything

    Sarah McLachlan is one of mine all time favorites!I adore the songs ''I love you'' and ''Black and White''. This album is a great, and it will really help you relax if you ever hear it. or own it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eloquence...

    Ever since I listened to this album 2 years ago Sarah has been my most beloved artist (and that is no easy feat!) Her incredible lyrics and vocals are movig. Sarahs obvious passion and intellect are beyond her years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Haunted

    I was new to Sarah - lured by the single Adia, I bought the CD Surfacing, and was immediately hooked. Every track has it's own character, and almost all grow and grow on each hearing. This CD is totally haunting, I defy you to get it out of your head. More please, Sarah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST CD ever

    This is the best CD I've ever listened to. I love all the songs. I would, VERY HIGHLY,recomend it. This is even better than my band's songs! I love the content and her voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sarah's Best By Far!!!

    Even though Sarah McLachlan's albums are always beyond superb, this one will send you into a trance.Her lyrics are nothing short of pure emotion and desire. Her voice is smooth and enchanting. This album is a must for anyone with ears!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Ever!!!

    This is her greatest CD yet. I am looking forward to more. She improves with time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2