Customer Reviews for

Surfing for God: Discovering the Divine Desire Beneath Sexual Struggle

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    To Men you will need this

    This book is excellent and should be read by all men. We have been taught that pornography is just fine, but when you are addicted to it you will find that it is never fine. The author is very straight forward and helpful in dealing with this problem. It will open up your eyes to the problem we have here in the US. As Christians we need to acknowledge that it is a huge problem in the Church. There are answers and there can be healing. May you read with an open mind.
    Mike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Wow....an eye opener!!!

    Driving home from work listening to christian radio I was introduced to this book and has been a blessing to me. For those men who want to be real, this book is a must. This book will open your eyes and will help you understand why we men struggle with porn and how we can do something about it.

    RB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Surfing For God is a book written on the subject of sexual strug

    Surfing For God is a book written on the subject of sexual struggle from a Christian perspective. More specifically this book deals with issues of lust and pornography, the fallout that occurs when our hearts and minds are consumed with such things, and also how there is hope and that victory can be found.

    The author Michael John Cusick is both an ordained minister and a licensed counsellor with a very powerful story of his own battle with sexual purity. He brings both personal experience and professional expertise to this subject.

    Having taught and led small groups on this subject, I have reviewed and read numerous resources on lust and sexual purity and I have to say that this book is by far the strongest material I have read. What I appreciated most about Cusick's approach is how balanced it is (the spiritual & the physical) and how the answer to the problem isn't "try harder".

    Cusick makes it clear from the beginning that our hope to live whole lives, free from sexual struggle and lust, doesn't come from trying harder, managing our sin, or assembling a group of accountability partners, but rather our hope is found in the cross. It's in the Gospel of Jesus that freedom can be found. Freedom is found in heart transformation, not numerous attempts at behavior modification.

    Cusick talks thoroughly about this subject from a spiritual and scriptural perspective, but also talks about the physical make up of our brain and how pornography literally changes how our brain functions. This chapter is fascinating and does an excellent job of explaining the chemical reactions that happen in the brian in a way that everyone can understand.

    In the end this book brings so much hope to the struggle men have with the issue of lust. Cusick guides his readers to discover the lies that we base our faith and struggle on and to replace those lies with truth. Our identity as Christian men is not defined by the world, our struggle, or our own opinions, but rather is determined by the God who created us and died for us.

    I highly recommend this book to men who are struggling with lust and pornography and/or to anyone who has a loved one struggling in this area. If you teach on this subject or lead a small group or recovery group, I would also suggest reading this book.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Surfing for GodDiscovering the Divine Desire Beneath Sexual Str

    Surfing for GodDiscovering the Divine Desire Beneath Sexual Struggle
    By Michael Cusick Published by Thomas Nelson Michael's book is a
    fresh breathe in the men's self help books. I spent time in my under
    grad and graduate work doing research on pornography addiction and this
    book I feel is a valuable resource. Cusick addresses the validity of
    the addiction and the struggle of it and uses his own personal
    experiences as a counselor and an individual who he himself has
    experienced the struggle. He addresses not only the psychological but
    also the spiritual, physical and practical levels of the struggle. I
    appreciate that Cusick spoke to the spiritual warfare side of things and
    addressed that the battle is not just the psychological aspects. Many
    people fail to understand the whole picture of the addiction and the
    addict and only look at select aspects of the issues. Cusick handles
    well the issues and helps the reader to see that the struggle is really
    tied to their search for God and true intimacy and love. He helps the
    reader to understand and hear the lies that they believed about
    themselves that may tie them to their struggle or addiction whatever it
    may be. Cusick writes in specific about sexual addiction but his
    principles can be used to address many addictions and struggles. This
    book is a definite must read for any person who struggles with sexual
    addiction. I also think any pastor or youth pastor should read this
    book and use it as a reference in their counseling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Back to God

    Review:

    Watching the news recently I noticed how many stories revolved around extramarital affairs, addiction to pornography, and call girl solicitation, and most of the people involved were married. I was appalled thinking about the guilty party's significant other. Did they know? Were they shocked? Were they angry? What did they decide to do about it? Etc... To find out that someone you love is cheating, (physically or mentally), must be absolutely horrible, and I can only imagine the pain and emotional hurdles one must face after such a transgression. So when I got the chance to read Surfing for God I was compelled to hear Michael Cusick's take on why some people are so tempted to indulge in forms of cheating or adultery online. I admit, I have seen an occasional pop-up advertisement for "Find Sexy Singles Now!" or "For Better Sex, Click Here" while browsing the inter-webs, but my thought has always been, "Who the heck is going to click on those?". Well, I haven't, but I do know people that have, and that forbidden curiosity got them into more trouble than they thought possible, nearly toppling a marriage and leaving their relationships strained.

    I liked the overall format of the book. The flow seemed to work pretty well and the progression from "What's Better than Porn" to "Becoming the Hero that You Are" followed an enlightening and scripture-filled path that allowed for deep reflection on discussed topics. Michael Cusick talked about his own struggles with pornography/strip clubs throughout the book, using his experiences with temptation to emphasize the debilitating effects of any addiction. I could tell by the way that he described the situations, and how he dealt with them, that he genuinely wanted to help other men with similar problems; allowing the lost sense of kinship with God to return to them. However, I felt that the overall tone was one of punishment, and some of the sections seemed to berate the reader - don't get me wrong, in these situations someone needs to "put their foot down", but will a man read a book that continuously blames him, with no reprimand for society and the media? It is not just the individual's fault, (though they are the primary instigator), but also the fault of those that allow such material to be showcased for all to see. There was a lot of judgement going on, and even I felt guilty - for what? I am not sure. For this reason, I cannot call the book inspirational, even if it is meant for Christians. Another aspect that I did not quite care for was the language, which was very crude in some instances - it got the point across, but there were other ways to explain things without it. Overall, I feel that Surfing for God is a great tool for any man who struggles with indiscretions or addiction, or those who are curious them, but I wish that women had also been a target audience. There are women with the same types of problems that could definitely benefit from some guidance. Good book for getting control of core issues and getting back to God.

    Rating: On the Run (4/5)

    *** I received this book from the author (Book Sneeze) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    A Book for All Men

    “Every man who knocks on the door of a brothel is looking for God.” – G.K. Chesterton

    Michael Cusik uses this quote by Chesterton as a stepping stone for his new book, Surfing for God: Discovering the Divine Desire beneath the Sexual Struggle.

    Most books about men’s struggles focus on controlling lust or diverting your eyes. They seldom get to the real issues as to why lust is present. Cusik does that. He looks at the struggle with pornography as being a heart issue, not just a lust issue. He discusses the emotional and spiritual needs men are often seeking when they struggle.

    I recommend the book for men, ministers who work with men, or anyone who cares about men (and no, this isn’t just a male issue, but this book is primarily directed to men). It offers healing and freedom.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Cusick is an ordained minister and counselor who draws from his own experience with the restoring touch of God in his deeply broken life and marriage, broken by his many sexual sins and addictions. Cusick’s insights help you understand how porn struggles begin, what to do to prevent them (hugely important information!), and how to overcome the compulsion once it begins.
    My favorite chapter is “It’s Not About Sex”, this chapter discusses the “broken promises of porn”, which are: validation of our manhood without requiring strength, sexual fulfillment without relationship, intimacy without requiring risk and suffering, passion and life without connection to your soul, power over women without responsibility and humility and comfort and care without depending on others. I felt completely enlighten by this information and this topic sparked some very interesting dialogue between my husband and I. I always assumed this subject was rather cut and dry but it is a very complex struggle, especially for men.
    This book is not a long book (197 pages) and is a very quick read but I was surprised by the amount of material that was covered and how in depth most topics were discussed. While it is a “self help” book, it was still a “page turner” I found myself very interested in this topic. It’s no secret that American church and family is being torn apart by pornography, infidelity, sexual abuse and every other kind of sexual immorality. We typically think about men struggling with these issues but there is a rising number of women who now struggle with sexual sin, too. This is very important information for all to have.
    I would recommend this book not only to anyone struggling with a sexual addiction, but to parents of any young person and also to anyone who counsels people struggling with sexual addictions.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Do you think Every Man's Battle (Arterburn & Stoeker) and Wi

    Do you think Every Man's Battle (Arterburn & Stoeker) and Wild at Heart (Eldredge) are good books? Add to your bookshelf Surfing for God: Discovering the Divine Desire Beneath Sexual Struggle, by Michael John Cusick.

    I know what you’re thinking; the title of the book is a bit odd. I was hesitant to read this book, given my opinion that ‘porn use/lust’ and ‘God’ were unrelated. However, do not be mislead. The book is more practical than it is theological. Mr. Cusick does make a few points to make a correlation between 'viewing pornography' and 'searching for God.' For the most part, this argument is weak and it is not really the brunt of the book. In my opinion, it is a poor book title choice. However, the book is fairly substantive; it does waste very much of its 197 pages. I also thought that it got more interesting the further I read.

    It is obviously interdenominational. There are some theological issues with the book, and his choice of paraphrased Bible translations for his scriptures is ill advised (The Message, Updated NIV, etc...). He waters down our Lord's teaching in Matthew 5:29-30, saying that it “misses the point entirely” of Christ’s teaching to take drastic measures to avoid the temptation of lust (“drastic,” i.e. moving your computer somewhere that isn’t as tempting). Cusick also erroneously explains (I believe) one of Paul’s writings in Romans 7, possibly leaving people with the impression that they are not accountable to God for the sexual sin in their lives. If we are not accountable for our sins, why try to overcome them?

    However, he goes into new territory compared to other books. The intricacies of how pornography affects the brain are discussed in great detail (chapter 10). He also provides a fairly detailed plan on how to break an addiction to pornography (and it ain't fluffy). These are things that I believe are lacking in most other books on the topic of pornography and sexual perversion and lust.

    I would recommend this book not only to men struggling with a sexual addiction, but also to anyone who counsels men struggling with sexual addictions. This book will help everyone get a better understanding of the devil’s foothold of sexual temptation and enslavement in the lives of millions of men.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for purposes of fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    A Must Read for Men!!

    My Thoughts- This book is a must read for any man who may be struggling with sexual problems or may know someone who is. As a wife, I don’t think I would give it to my husband if there was not a solid relationship.

    There are many parts in this book that could help many with more than just sexual struggles. I think that is great, because some men may have more issues than just the sexual struggle.

    One of the best parts of this book was learning about the 3 Spiritual Counterfeits. They are the “counterfeit good,” “counterfeit truth,” and “counterfeit worship.” These are the works of the enemy and he uses those to lure us to him. It is his lies and temptations that keep men away from the true God and His promises.

    I would highly recommend this book to any man who struggles sexually.

    Disclosure of Material Connection- I received Surfing for God: Discovering the Divine Desire beneath the Sexual Struggle by Michael John Cusick for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze Review Bloggers Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1