Customer Reviews for

The Surgeon (Rizzoli and Isles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(582)

4 Star

(404)

3 Star

(182)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling

This is my first book by this author and it was difficult to put down. I was skeptical at first, being unfamiliar with the author, but I am now a fan. I did expect Rizzoli to be more of a front character in the book, but was still very pleased with the story filled with...
This is my first book by this author and it was difficult to put down. I was skeptical at first, being unfamiliar with the author, but I am now a fan. I did expect Rizzoli to be more of a front character in the book, but was still very pleased with the story filled with suspense. I am looking forward to reading the sequel, which I just purchased. I would definitely recommend this book to the people who enjoy suspense thrillers and solving the mystery.

posted by nanktsc on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The Surgeon- fine for a rainy day read

When I discovered this book was available for a wonderful well acceptable price, I jumped at the chance to read this on my nook. I researched and found this book was part of a series so I took a chance; bought and downloaded this book and, put the next book in this seri...
When I discovered this book was available for a wonderful well acceptable price, I jumped at the chance to read this on my nook. I researched and found this book was part of a series so I took a chance; bought and downloaded this book and, put the next book in this series on my wish list. I think I put my expectations to high this time sadly.
This book was okay to pass a boring rainy muggy day with, but it wasn't great. I was at first hooked by the plot and the beginning chapters and the authors creative touches with the medical world/ field, then everything went downhill from there. I agree with another reviewer, maybe I've just seen one too many murder/mystery shows/movies. I kept finding myself realizing that points in the book reflected many other books/TV specials/movies and then I just lost interest from there. I had to force myself to finish. I did find certain parts in the book that were well above disturbing, but that only kept my attention just so long and then dull predictability showed every other chapter. All in all, this was a decent read, but I will not be purchasing any other book from this series.

posted by -LadyinWriting on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 582 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    This is my first book by this author and it was difficult to put down. I was skeptical at first, being unfamiliar with the author, but I am now a fan. I did expect Rizzoli to be more of a front character in the book, but was still very pleased with the story filled with suspense. I am looking forward to reading the sequel, which I just purchased. I would definitely recommend this book to the people who enjoy suspense thrillers and solving the mystery.

    47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    A Must Read

    Oh my gosh!!! I'm not a big review-type of person, but, I do want to say that this is a must read for those who enjoy a good murder/thriller/mystery. Well thought out and written. Draws you right in from the very first chapter!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I definitely recommend!

    A serial killer strikes Boston and detective Thomas Moore, mourning his deceased wife, begins his investigation. This killer butchers his victims with expert medical knowledge and is labeled The Surgeon. While doing background research, Moore discovers that a serial killer in a distant city operated in a similar manner years earlier. That killer was finally stopped when one of his victims shot him. Dr. Catherine Cordell, that woman, now practices in Boston, and the current killer seems to be working his way closer to Catherine. Catherine fears this. So does Thomas, who is becoming emotionally attached to Catherine following his long mourning period. She had shot and killed the serial killer as he was about to make her his fourth victim so who was this guy, a ghost, a copy cat? THE SURGEON is a thrilling, sit on the edge of your seat novel. I definitely recommend!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This was my first book I had read by this author and I enjoyed this one. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Excellent detective/mystery

    Had all the aspects I love, hospital and detective mystery, enjoyed!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Fabulous read!

    I have read the whole series and can't wait for the new addition to them!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Tess Gerritsen Rock!!

    Quick read. Read all the rizzoli and isles series in a week. You must read them. The rizzoli and isles series in order, starting with the surgeon. I am now reading one of her stand alone called The Bone Garden...ANOTHER page turner. Full of suspense and you go along for the ride and solve the mysteries with them. Enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Excellent book!

    Love the entire Rizzoli & Isles series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great read

    I was hooked on this book when I opened the first page. I am a big fan of Rizzoli and Isles and noticed it was based on a book. So I picked this up to see what it was all about and I was hooked. It was a struggle to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Solid

    A good entry point to a series albeit without the aforementioned Isles or any real character focus to draw you in. The main character is the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    A mystery made perfect

    Any body who loves a mystery will love this book the characters are as serious as the crime yiu will nit be able to stop rrading and enjoy it as much as i am.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You must read it!

    This book grabbed me by the throat and didn't let go! I loved it. Excellent read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    GREAT READ!!

    Great Book!! It was hard to put down and now I must read the whole series. I have them saved in a wish list to be downloaded at a later date.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    Enjoyable

    This was a very good ebook. I cannot wait to read #2

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Great reading!

    This is the first Tess Gerritsen book I have read. I loved it! The characters are great, the plot full of suspense. I didn't want to but the book, or should I say my Nookster, down. I will definitely read more of her books. I have already download the next 2 books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Awesome book!!

    This book I loved. It is based on the show Rizzoli and Isles which is very good. If you like suspense then this series is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Fast-paced thriller. Great characters, lots of suspense. I hav

    Fast-paced thriller. Great characters, lots of suspense. I have moved on to the rest of her novels in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Good book.

    Recomend to read if you are into who done it and how. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    A very sad news report

    Frost from Rizzoli and Isles commited suicide. He shall be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Surgeon by Tess Grerritsen

    this wass my first murder mystery i ever read and i totally loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 582 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30