Customer Reviews for

Surprise-Inside Cakes: Amazing Cakes for Every Occasion--with a Little Something Extra Inside

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I read the bad reviews by decided to look at the book anyway.  W

I read the bad reviews by decided to look at the book anyway.  Whoever wrote those reviews (must be the same person) is clearly delusional.  This book is beautiful,  has some of the most easy to follow instructions of any baking book I have seen, and is completely adora...
I read the bad reviews by decided to look at the book anyway.  Whoever wrote those reviews (must be the same person) is clearly delusional.  This book is beautiful,  has some of the most easy to follow instructions of any baking book I have seen, and is completely adorable.  I also tried the strawberry cake recipe and was so pleasantly surprised at it's wonderful flavor and richness.  It is strawberry cake that is not from a box, a big plus in you were at ask me.  I think that whom ever thought it was ok to leave such false comments about this book was trying to attack the author for some personal reason.  

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cute book but difficult to make look like the pics. Expect to s

Cute book but difficult to make look like the pics. Expect to spend a lot of time making these cakes.

posted by 18080545 on March 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    I read the bad reviews by decided to look at the book anyway.  W

    I read the bad reviews by decided to look at the book anyway.  Whoever wrote those reviews (must be the same person) is clearly delusional.  This book is beautiful,  has some of the most easy to follow instructions of any baking book I have seen, and is completely adorable.  I also tried the strawberry cake recipe and was so pleasantly surprised at it's wonderful flavor and richness.  It is strawberry cake that is not from a box, a big plus in you were at ask me.  I think that whom ever thought it was ok to leave such false comments about this book was trying to attack the author for some personal reason.  

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Surprise-Inside Cakes is a phenomenal book. These ideas are trul

    Surprise-Inside Cakes is a phenomenal book. These ideas are truly revolutionary in the cake decorating world. Amanda's cakes are beautiful  in side and outside. Imagine cutting into a cake to reveal a hidden surprise!  Your guests will LOVE it!

    Filled with full-page, stunning photographs, as well as detailed process shots, Surprise-Inside Cakes takes you through each step to make the perfect surprise-inside cake for your friends and family. Amanda writes with passion about her craft, and you will surely enjoy getting to know her through her stories and personal anecdotes.

    Don't let a cowardly anonymous reviewer sway your opinion of this book. I have personally used Amanda's recipes and techniques with great success in my own kitchen. Also Amanda encourages readers to use her delicious cake recipes, box mix cakes, or their favorite family recipes. Start where you are most comfortable! 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I read Amanda's blog all the time and even used her cake recipe

    I read Amanda's blog all the time and even used her cake recipe and rose technique to make my wedding cake. And trust me I can't decorate and it came out beautiful. 
    I have made a few of the recipes from the book all turning out well. 
    I have yet to try any of the shapes but I have confidence after doing the rose cake that I can do it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    I love this book. Amanda, explains in great detail how to do eve

    I love this book. Amanda, explains in great detail how to do everything to make these beautiful cakes. I can't wait to make my first one!!! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    This is so much more than a cookbook!  It is a cookbook, photogr

    This is so much more than a cookbook!  It is a cookbook, photography book, and coffee table book all wrapped into one! 
    The detailed step by step instructions and pictures are amazing and inspiring, so much, that I was able to make and decorate
    a beautiful layered cake and applied the technique to cupcakes as well.  
    I felt like I “got to know” the author, through her personal stories and antidotes; I read the book cover to cover,
    and can’t say that very many cookbooks.  I now follow her blog, I am baker.  Surprise Inside Cakes, makes a great casual book
    for the coffee table; I leave my copy on the kitchen bar, which has sparked many conversations.  I have also given the book as gifts,
    and have purchased for some upcoming gifts.  They have all loved the book! One of the gift recipients, is as a 2nd grade teacher,
    she shared the book with her class as a fun way to learn to read measurements and directions.
     My own kids, love looking through the book and it has started a baking frenzy at our house!  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    For the, what seems to be one person bashing this book, I think

    For the, what seems to be one person bashing this book, I think your problem is that you are jealous. I found this book to be cute, fun and inspiring.  I  think it's awesome when people, like Amanda, have the will and desire to  do something positive and go after what they want.  After looking through the book, and myself not being a baker, I believe will the will and patience I can make any one of these cakes.  The instructions are clear and the series of pictures are a Godsend.  If you want to support and own an inspiring book about baking, this is the one for you to pick up with out hesitation. Amanda, great job on the book and I look forward to what you dream up next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Hmm

    Good engagement ring idea
    LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    To Zenia

    Give coat and comforts Zenia

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    To Zenia

    Still on.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Jack to Zenia

    Hi do you need a jacket?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Sam to Zenia

    Pats her on the back and hands her hot cocoa and mittens.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Zenia to kidnapper...

    She walked down a street and looked around shivering at the falling snow

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I'm not alone in my love for this book. My children have devoure

    I'm not alone in my love for this book. My children have devoured it, bookmarking cakes they want to make. Step-by-step (and gorgeous) pictures and easy to understand instructions make the cakes doable. I also love how Amanda included a chart of different cakes to try based on the difficulty level. I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1