Customer Reviews for

Surprised by Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking and inspirational scholarship

N.T Wright's Suprised by Hope is a book of solid academic scholarship and has that rare quality of being inspirational as well as informative! I am sure that I will not be the only reader who discovers that his or her traditional notions of the after-life have no actual...
N.T Wright's Suprised by Hope is a book of solid academic scholarship and has that rare quality of being inspirational as well as informative! I am sure that I will not be the only reader who discovers that his or her traditional notions of the after-life have no actual basis in biblical teaching. Wright's methodical handling of the material provides a solid basis for his conclusions and demonstrates that even the most well intended church traditions can sometimes obscure the very truths they were meant to illuminate. For anyone within or without the established Christian tradition, this book will inform and inspire!

posted by Raleighreader on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Empty

I did not enjoy this book. I loved to read many styles of books, but for the first time in a long time found a book I did not like. The writer tended to ramble without content. The actual beef of the book could have been summarized in one chapter. I found the conten...
I did not enjoy this book. I loved to read many styles of books, but for the first time in a long time found a book I did not like. The writer tended to ramble without content. The actual beef of the book could have been summarized in one chapter. I found the content to be longwinded and disappointing without much merit.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Thought provoking and inspirational scholarship

    N.T Wright's Suprised by Hope is a book of solid academic scholarship and has that rare quality of being inspirational as well as informative! I am sure that I will not be the only reader who discovers that his or her traditional notions of the after-life have no actual basis in biblical teaching. Wright's methodical handling of the material provides a solid basis for his conclusions and demonstrates that even the most well intended church traditions can sometimes obscure the very truths they were meant to illuminate. For anyone within or without the established Christian tradition, this book will inform and inspire!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Transformational!

    This book is phenomenal. If you're wondering what happens when you die, you need to read this book. If you want to know what purpose there is for you life, you need to read this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Fresh perspective

    This book provides a fresh perspective on the afterlife and the hope we have in waiting. The author's arguments are well supported and the resulting conclusions are encouraging and exciting. This is the best book I have read on heaven.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Wright's best book yet!

    This is the best book on Christian Hope! No other book spells out so well a biblical view of our future hope while keeping us centered in the present, pointing us in the direction of how to live in the here and now--joining Jesus in bringing New Creation.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reestablishing the relevance of Resurrection for the broad public

    N. T. Wright is a brilliant scholar and theologian, and his series of books on early Christianity has become somewhat of a gold standard in terms of breath and scope of topics and themes that were explored. Those books use the most exhaustive critical methods and most up to date historical scholarship in order to establish the credibility and persuasiveness of the events that shaped the early Christianity, and especially to support the traditional view of those events. The most important of these events is certainly the resurrection of Jesus Christ, and the book that exhaustively deals with is The Resurrection of the Son of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God, Vol. 3). The only "problem" with that book is that it is too long and scholarly for a general reader, and thus it may not reach as wide of an audience as would be desirable. This is partly the issue that "Surprised by Hope" tries to address. It reiterates some of the main points of "The Resurrection" and presents them in readable and accessible form. It makes the main arguments far more succinctly, but also more forcefully. The chief one of those, in my opinion, is that Christianity is not mainly or even primarily concerned with "life after death," but rather with "life after life after death." This is the point that most Christians and non-Christians routinely get wrong. What is at stake, according to Wright, is that by misunderstanding what resurrection and Christian hope are all about we are much less equipped to give a strong defense of that hope and make that hope relevant for our daily life. It prevents us from living the kind of life that would fully reflect our Christian vocation in the World.

    The second part of the book deals with the issues that Wright thinks would benefit from our deeper understanding of resurrection and Christian hope. He has some of his own pet issues that he believes should receive top priority in our concern for the World, like the alleviation of poverty in the global south. He tries to make the connection between our belief in the future resurrection and our action on these issues, but the connection is not always as clear as he might have hoped for. This is particularly the case with some issues of lesser importance, and towards the end of the book Wright employs more of rhetoric than strong concrete arguments. The book becomes a bit too preachy for my taste, but that shouldn't be too surprising: after all, it was written by a bishop. However, even with these shortcoming this is an extremely well written book that provokes Christians to seriously rethink their most fundamental assumptions and reappropriate the message of Christian hope for the 21st century.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Empty

    I did not enjoy this book. I loved to read many styles of books, but for the first time in a long time found a book I did not like. The writer tended to ramble without content. The actual beef of the book could have been summarized in one chapter. I found the content to be longwinded and disappointing without much merit.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Surprised I finished it!

    While this book started out fine it slowed to a crawl. Really wonder if the Author read it once he finished or was it driven by a deadline. While the Author makes a number of good points he gets dragged down into his "pet" causes which detracts from the initial momentum that the book begins with. What was extremely disconcerting were the long run on sentences that left me with the impression that the Author stopped editing his manuscript for readability and just climbed up on to a "soapbox" to expose some of his well meaning but quite half done ideas. Even though the Author admonishes the reader about those who "pick and choose" unfortunately this book was written with a distinct "pick and choose" perspective. While I do not pretend or profess to have either the titles or education I found this book like a shallow pond, it looks good, is "cool" and refreshing to wade into but it substitutes structure for substance and quickly "diminishes" as one looks for depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Clear explanation of traditional resurrection theology

    Started well but a yawner toward the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    One star for the ebook

    No thanks, Harper Collins, for wasting my money on this half-formatted book. The footnotes (in an N T Wright book!) are not hyperlinks. Come on, folks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Clears up confusion on hope

    This is a great exploration of what happens after you die and what it means for you (and the church as a whole) right now. It's a dense read, but I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about life after life after death, Christ's resurrection, our future, and how this great hope should affect your every moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2