Customer Reviews for

Surprising Lord Jack

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family¿s estates for year

Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family’s estates for years but now she must take desperate measures. Her aunt has made a deal with a man to ruin her so that a marriage is required. Getting her dowry and moving to a cottage by herself is the only path she can see ...
Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family’s estates for years but now she must take desperate measures. Her aunt has made a deal with a man to ruin her so that a marriage is required. Getting her dowry and moving to a cottage by herself is the only path she can see out of this mess. So Frances cuts her hair, dons her brother’s clothes and starts her trek to London. She didn’t expect the snow storm, her horse going lame or her needing to spend a night in a tavern inn. Nor did she expect that this would set in motion a chain of events that will put her in the same position she just ran from.

Jack Valentine is the third son to a Duke. His mother is known as the Duchess of Love for all her match making attempts. Trying to escape his mother’s Valentines Day ball, Jack heads toward London only to be thwarted by a snow storm. When Jack arrives at a road side Inn, he finds his normal room is occupied by a young boy taking a dangerous trip to London alone. Being philanthropic, Jack takes this young boy with him to see him safely to his brother. What Jack doesn’t realize is he just shared his bed with Lady Hadley and now she is his young traveling companion.

Old emotional wounds and difficult situations will either bring Jack and Frances together or tear them apart. Out of the frying pan and into the fire is the best way to explain both Jack’s and Frances’s volatile situation. 

I found the story contained a very amusing predicament, a mind boggling murder mystery and wonderful sexual chemistry. The characters were fantastic making Surprising Lord Jack a marvelously entertaining historical romance. I did wish we had more insight into Jack’s philanthropy, but look forward to seeing more in the coming Duchess of Love Series. Shakespeare stole the show :D. 

This ARC copy of Surprising Lord Jack was given to me by Kensington Publishing Corp. - Zebra in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 5, 2013.

posted by Sailon on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in whic

Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in which it is, supposedly, set. The characters, feelings, mores, modes of behaviour and gender relations, were all distinctly, and irritatingly, 21st c.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family¿s estates for year

    Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family’s estates for years but now she must take desperate measures. Her aunt has made a deal with a man to ruin her so that a marriage is required. Getting her dowry and moving to a cottage by herself is the only path she can see out of this mess. So Frances cuts her hair, dons her brother’s clothes and starts her trek to London. She didn’t expect the snow storm, her horse going lame or her needing to spend a night in a tavern inn. Nor did she expect that this would set in motion a chain of events that will put her in the same position she just ran from.

    Jack Valentine is the third son to a Duke. His mother is known as the Duchess of Love for all her match making attempts. Trying to escape his mother’s Valentines Day ball, Jack heads toward London only to be thwarted by a snow storm. When Jack arrives at a road side Inn, he finds his normal room is occupied by a young boy taking a dangerous trip to London alone. Being philanthropic, Jack takes this young boy with him to see him safely to his brother. What Jack doesn’t realize is he just shared his bed with Lady Hadley and now she is his young traveling companion.

    Old emotional wounds and difficult situations will either bring Jack and Frances together or tear them apart. Out of the frying pan and into the fire is the best way to explain both Jack’s and Frances’s volatile situation. 

    I found the story contained a very amusing predicament, a mind boggling murder mystery and wonderful sexual chemistry. The characters were fantastic making Surprising Lord Jack a marvelously entertaining historical romance. I did wish we had more insight into Jack’s philanthropy, but look forward to seeing more in the coming Duchess of Love Series. Shakespeare stole the show :D. 

    This ARC copy of Surprising Lord Jack was given to me by Kensington Publishing Corp. - Zebra in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 5, 2013.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This novel has everything I love about Sally MacKenzie novels: w

    This novel has everything I love about Sally MacKenzie novels: witty dialogue, a hero with heart and a heroine to cheer. I love the Valentine family dynamic, too. So often, romance heros are without parents and to see a family so closely knit is a joy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Least Favorite

    There were multiple story lines that died on the vine the Houses, the aunt and father, etc. If another hundred pages had been added maybe this would have turned out better. It was my least favorite of Sally Mackenzie's books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in whic

    Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in which it is, supposedly, set. The characters, feelings, mores, modes of behaviour and gender relations, were all distinctly, and irritatingly, 21st c.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I enjoyed "Surprising Lord Jack" .This (I think) is my

    I enjoyed "Surprising Lord Jack" .This (I think) is my first  Sally MacKenzie book, I now plan on reading all of her books!
    I and most of my friends who read historical romance are tired of all the
    detailed pages of graphic sex with little or no romance. I'm looking forward to
    reading ALL of Sally MacKenzie's books, starting with "Bedding Lord Ned"
    which was published prior to this one.  Oh, and I disagree with the reviewer
    who said that too many story lines were left over and there should have been 100 more pages.  Too many pages is NEVER good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Entertaining!

    I love Sally Mackenzie's writing style and her books never disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first book from Sally MacKenzie and I would say it w

    This was my first book from Sally MacKenzie and I would say it was a good first read. From the blurb I found it very intriguing and I love it when the heroines masquerades in breeches and cravats. From the first couple of pages I was already hook and excited about how the story was going to develop and it was also already picking up pace.

    The characters were well developed and were very likable but then I just couldn’t stand them towards the end. Mostly the heroine, Miss Frances Hadley. She was bold, headstrong, and judgmental. I liked her at first but then she kept on degrading and disregarding Jack Valentine’s character. It was a never ending repetition of her thoughts of him being a Rake and a not good for anything because of all the gossip of him in the gossip columns. And then towards the end her ill thoughts of him just magically disappeared. Argh I really didn’t like Miss Hadley that much anymore, how could she just automatically say loved him after all that snickering? She was an interesting character though.

    Jack Valentine on the other hand I adore~ He is everything you would want in a man. For me that is. He did everything he can to help and be as patient as he could with Miss Hadley even though he knew she disliked him. He was not a Rake but was just playing the part being the thrid son of a Duke and all, he has to keep up on image right? Oh and he helped those in need, mostly fallen women and abandon children. Who wouldn’t love him!

    At the end of the story though, I felt like everything was rushed for them to be together and be in love. It was a clif hanger! It didn’t end the way I wanted it to. We’ll have to see how their relationship progress in the next book with eldest brother and heir Ash’s story. I’m kind of afraid to read her first book in the series for Ned’s story because of how he’s portrayed in this book but all in all it was a great first read from Ms. MacKenzie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Surprising Lord Jack  Full of humor and heart, with interesting

    Surprising Lord Jack 

    Full of humor and heart, with interesting characters and emotional stories, I recommend Sally MacKenzie’s books to anyone who enjoys historical romances.  Full review is available at BookTrib(dot)com or RomanticReadsandSuch(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Jo

    Witty and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    One bad choice can ruin the lives of two people. Neither is at f

    One bad choice can ruin the lives of two people. Neither is at fault, but the circumstances have just become dire.  There is no time to waste, call in the Duchess of Love.

    Frances never plans to marry.  She has seen firsthand that marriage not for her, but her aunt thinks otherwise.  Now that she knows what her aunt has planned, she is off to fix this and to keep her independence.  Problem is, though she has managed a rather large estate on her own and is quite intelligent, she is but a woman and she must disguise herself for her trip to London to collect her dowry.  Best way to do it…dressed as a man.

    Jack doesn't need nor does he desire marriage, so the moment one pursuer gets a little too close and is a bit too determined, he runs for the hills.  Well actually, it is the local inn for the time being, because the winter storm is too treacherous for night travel.  As he runs from one entanglement, he unknowingly runs smack dab into the middle of another.  To top things off, he doesn't even like the woman that he may have to marry.

    Time to call in reinforcements; they must find a way out of this mess and soon.  If rumors spread, they will both be ruined.  There has to be a way out of this.  The work is slow, but with perseverance and a lot of help, they may be able to get out of this unattached.  Getting out of their possible marriage isn't their only concern though.  There are murders occurring in town and Frances is a prime target.  Jack must work on repairing their damaging circumstances and keep her safe.  When all is said and done, can he protect her and his heart?

    There is something about this series.  The characters are enjoyable, the plots are unique and the Duchess is a keeper.  Ms. MacKenzie does a great job bringing it all together into heartwarming stories that keep you amused and makes you want more.  Surprising Lord Jack had sad touching moments and then the next I was smiling ear to ear; never a dull moment.

    Surprising Lord Jack is fun, sweet and extremely entertaining.  I can’t wait for the next installment to this series.  Ms. MacKenzie is an author that rarely disappoints and can always be counted on for a delightful escape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    SURPRISING LORD JACK by Sally MacKenzie is an exciting Regency H

    SURPRISING LORD JACK by Sally MacKenzie is an exciting Regency Historical Romance. #2 in the "Duchess of Love",but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Bedding Lord Ned". Fast paced with danger and love. Someone is killing prostitutes and societal Ladies of the ton,who are having affairs. But love just may be in the air for Jack Valentine,the third son of the Duchess of Love, when feisty Frances Hadley enters his life dressed as a none other than a boy. Gossip can be just that, gossip with none or little truth in it. So Lord Jack must keep Frances safe from danger of not only losing her heart but her life also,when gossip runs a muck,a killer is forced into action. Now Frances' life is at stake. With romance in the air,sensual tension running a muck,and a killer on the loose to rid London of ladies of ill repute Lord Jack must work fast to save Francis and find a killer. Enter his beloved family to save the day. "Surprising Lord Jack" is filled with action,a bit of humor,lots of romance,a meddling matchmaker Mother and love. A action filled love story that will have your turning pages as Lord Jack is brought to his knees by the one thing he never expected...love. I would highly recommend "Surprising Lord Jack". Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Natalie

    Kisses back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Jake

    Is here for gay nook sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Ok

    I will be here at 11:00 to nite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Za tpyugs of dwe fgh

    X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Sam

    Yellow

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Hee hee

    My dogs are named jack and sally

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Fox

    Reset meh nook

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Dfgf

    Hvvb

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    To jack

    At vamp res 14.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3