Customer Reviews for

Surprising Lord Jack

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family¿s estates for year

Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family’s estates for years but now she must take desperate measures. Her aunt has made a deal with a man to ruin her so that a marriage is required. Getting her dowry and moving to a cottage by herself is the only path she can see ...
Frances Hadley has lived safely at her family’s estates for years but now she must take desperate measures. Her aunt has made a deal with a man to ruin her so that a marriage is required. Getting her dowry and moving to a cottage by herself is the only path she can see out of this mess. So Frances cuts her hair, dons her brother’s clothes and starts her trek to London. She didn’t expect the snow storm, her horse going lame or her needing to spend a night in a tavern inn. Nor did she expect that this would set in motion a chain of events that will put her in the same position she just ran from.

Jack Valentine is the third son to a Duke. His mother is known as the Duchess of Love for all her match making attempts. Trying to escape his mother’s Valentines Day ball, Jack heads toward London only to be thwarted by a snow storm. When Jack arrives at a road side Inn, he finds his normal room is occupied by a young boy taking a dangerous trip to London alone. Being philanthropic, Jack takes this young boy with him to see him safely to his brother. What Jack doesn’t realize is he just shared his bed with Lady Hadley and now she is his young traveling companion.

Old emotional wounds and difficult situations will either bring Jack and Frances together or tear them apart. Out of the frying pan and into the fire is the best way to explain both Jack’s and Frances’s volatile situation. 

I found the story contained a very amusing predicament, a mind boggling murder mystery and wonderful sexual chemistry. The characters were fantastic making Surprising Lord Jack a marvelously entertaining historical romance. I did wish we had more insight into Jack’s philanthropy, but look forward to seeing more in the coming Duchess of Love Series. Shakespeare stole the show :D. 

This ARC copy of Surprising Lord Jack was given to me by Kensington Publishing Corp. - Zebra in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 5, 2013.

posted by Sailon on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in whic

Terribly anachronistic, with no real sense of the milieu in which it is, supposedly, set. The characters, feelings, mores, modes of behaviour and gender relations, were all distinctly, and irritatingly, 21st c.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This novel has everything I love about Sally MacKenzie novels: w

    This novel has everything I love about Sally MacKenzie novels: witty dialogue, a hero with heart and a heroine to cheer. I love the Valentine family dynamic, too. So often, romance heros are without parents and to see a family so closely knit is a joy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    SURPRISING LORD JACK by Sally MacKenzie is an exciting Regency H

    SURPRISING LORD JACK by Sally MacKenzie is an exciting Regency Historical Romance. #2 in the "Duchess of Love",but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Bedding Lord Ned". Fast paced with danger and love. Someone is killing prostitutes and societal Ladies of the ton,who are having affairs. But love just may be in the air for Jack Valentine,the third son of the Duchess of Love, when feisty Frances Hadley enters his life dressed as a none other than a boy. Gossip can be just that, gossip with none or little truth in it. So Lord Jack must keep Frances safe from danger of not only losing her heart but her life also,when gossip runs a muck,a killer is forced into action. Now Frances' life is at stake. With romance in the air,sensual tension running a muck,and a killer on the loose to rid London of ladies of ill repute Lord Jack must work fast to save Francis and find a killer. Enter his beloved family to save the day. "Surprising Lord Jack" is filled with action,a bit of humor,lots of romance,a meddling matchmaker Mother and love. A action filled love story that will have your turning pages as Lord Jack is brought to his knees by the one thing he never expected...love. I would highly recommend "Surprising Lord Jack". Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    My Crush of The Month

    Strong, smart, funny and irrestistible....in a se<_>xy way<p> He glances at me and makes me laugh. He has soft brown hair and hazel eyes, strong and smart. And se<_>xy hot. <p> Everytime i see him i feel like blushing. Like kissing him. Like bringing him home for the night. But he doesn't know that i love him yet. But someday i'll tell him.<p> I hope he wants me as much as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Natalie

    Kisses back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Jake

    Is here for gay nook sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Ok

    I will be here at 11:00 to nite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Hee hee

    My dogs are named jack and sally

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Fox

    Reset meh nook

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    To jack

    At vamp res 14.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Xavier to Rain

    Where is Snow

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Jack

    Ok bye...

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    R

    Jake?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Jason

    Idk

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Slasher

    Walks in

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    O.o

    I'm so confused ... (/.\)
    Ehhhhhhh.... welll the conversations were nice-ishh...
    Welll..... you can just add me errr .... something nd we can talk from there nd maybesomeone can explain this to me ..

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Hidy

    Lol

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Hiccup

    This is too tense *picks up toothless and leaves*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    to kiley

    Back the hell off im bryans gf sister i demand u to go away now

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Tanner to hidy

    I dont love you anymore. Dont be jealous. Realize that hicvup will never realize how many guys you have slept with. I bet YOU dont realize how many...i mean...thats sad..

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Jake d

    Bryan stop being a creep lol. Cmon lets get out of here and give the love birds some privacy

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2