Customer Reviews for

Surrender

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ

BRENDA JACKSON DOES IT AGAIN. SURRENDER IS OUTSTANDING!!!! ONCE YOU START READING, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN. THERE IS HOT LOVE, HOT PASSION, FRIENDSHIP AND FAMILY AND THEY ALL STICK TO TOGETHER. IF YOU HAVE READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CATCH...
BRENDA JACKSON DOES IT AGAIN. SURRENDER IS OUTSTANDING!!!! ONCE YOU START READING, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN. THERE IS HOT LOVE, HOT PASSION, FRIENDSHIP AND FAMILY AND THEY ALL STICK TO TOGETHER. IF YOU HAVE READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CATCH UP ON OLD CHARACTERS AND WHAT IS GOING ON IN THEIR LOVE LIVES. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ ALL IN ORDER OF THE PUBLICATION DATE.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Most horrible book I have ever read

Honestly, this book was absolutely terrible. I think the author herself must have written all the 5-star reviews because this book made me want to vomit the whole time I read it. Don't get me wrong - I like romance novels. But this one was absolutely horrible. The main ...
Honestly, this book was absolutely terrible. I think the author herself must have written all the 5-star reviews because this book made me want to vomit the whole time I read it. Don't get me wrong - I like romance novels. But this one was absolutely horrible. The main male character is a freak - he kidnaps the female character and has a "vision" that they will get married and basically stalks her. It's not romantic. Horrible book. Do not waste your money. Oh, and on top of that, the writing was terrible

posted by 6923805 on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Bravo Brenda!!!!

    One word: FANTASTIC!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Most horrible book I have ever read

    Honestly, this book was absolutely terrible. I think the author herself must have written all the 5-star reviews because this book made me want to vomit the whole time I read it. Don't get me wrong - I like romance novels. But this one was absolutely horrible. The main male character is a freak - he kidnaps the female character and has a "vision" that they will get married and basically stalks her. It's not romantic. Horrible book. Do not waste your money. Oh, and on top of that, the writing was terrible

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    A MUST READ

    BRENDA JACKSON DOES IT AGAIN. SURRENDER IS OUTSTANDING!!!! ONCE YOU START READING, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN. THERE IS HOT LOVE, HOT PASSION, FRIENDSHIP AND FAMILY AND THEY ALL STICK TO TOGETHER. IF YOU HAVE READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CATCH UP ON OLD CHARACTERS AND WHAT IS GOING ON IN THEIR LOVE LIVES. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ ALL IN ORDER OF THE PUBLICATION DATE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: Surrender Author: Brenda Jackson Publisher: Harlequin Rev

    Title: Surrender
    Author: Brenda Jackson
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Review:

    "Surrender" by Brenda Jackson...

    "After a childhood spent moving from army base to army base, Nettie Brooms is determined to secure a stable life -- and never become involved with a military man. Then she meets handsome, charming Ashton Sinclair, a dedicated Colonel in the U.S. Marines, who's intent on capturing her heart. Now, Nettie's wondering how a man she swore she would avoid could so easily test her resolve...by igniting an irresistible passion she can't ignore."


    What I liked about "Surrender" was that it was a continuation of the Madaris family stories. This story was mainly about Netherland Brooms Colonel Ashton Sinclair where their will be a lots of sensual tension between these two. We have Nettie vowing never to get involved with any military men after growing up in a military family which required her moving around a lot and then here comes Ashton who will come back into her life and changes it all. Also be ready for a story that will have several other story lines that you will have to only keep up with it all. "Surrender" was truly full of sweet intriguing love stories that dud keep my attention till the end. I enjoyed how this author was able to bring along characters from her other series of the Madaris family as well as giving us some new ones as well. Even though this is a stand alone novel I would recommend to enjoy the read even more pick up the previous books in the amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Classic

    I've read this book several times and it still remains as one of my all time favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Surrender

    Story line was ok.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    G

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Mrs. Jackson is the best!

    This has got to be the hottest love story ever!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Nice

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HOT

    This book is one of my favorites I love the love in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I want to Surrender

    I warn each reader not to pre-judge a person, or make up your mind about a potential relationship based on anything other than your true feelings.

    Netherland had her mind made up. Ashton had his mind made up. It was beautiful just to see how her mind was changed and how he waited, with as much patience as any man could.

    When a man with Native American talents, says something can be done. Oh just wait for the outcome.

    Rome thought that true love for him was a thing of the past, just when he thought he was going to be alone, out of the blue came a well-deserved love for both him and Jada.

    Never spend all of your money in one place. When the auction comes you need to have either wit or money to get what you want. Not that money is the most important thing in a relationship, but you need to have a few bucks handy.

    The Madaris men are at it again. Babies are conceived and their family continues to become stronger than life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Surrender....ooh, yes!

    This is a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I have been an avid reader of romance novels since 1999. I've read writings from most of the Romance writers, but Brenda Jackson has captured my heart with her writing. I read The ties that Bind years ago. It was since retirement that I've been able to get back to my love of reading. Then I met The Madaris Men, and Lord it was on and popping. I started with One Special Moment. When I realized that it was a series, I ordered all of the books and read them in order. I was floored when I read about Ashton, Trevor and Sir Drake, but Ashton stole my heart. This book actually had me trying to trace my Cherokee heritage. I wanted to find out if I had the Siclair power, lol. I loved the entire book, but my favorite part was when Ashton left the information for Nettie just in case he didn't make it back. When they were at the site where they waited for word as to whether he had found Jada or not and the helicopter arrived I lost it. They brought Jada out on a stretcher, but he wasn't in site, I cried, but oh boy when he stepped to the door of the helicopter I actually started screaming, he made it thank God he made it, lol. Keep up the good work Brenda Jackson, you have a fan for life.

    pegtimber

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Just one word/

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    AWESOME

    All of Ms. Jackson books to me is just AWESOME. I always recommend her books to anybody/everybody. If I had a man like Ashton Sinclair, I will definitely surrender all..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Brenda Jackson does it again and again

    This was the second book I have read of the Madaris series. I could not put this book down. I read this book in less than 10hrs. I felt like I was there. That Aston Sinclair was one fine brother. I'm in the process of buying all of the others books in the series. I started with Brenda Jackson The Ties That Bind. Ever since that book if Brenda Jackson name is on a book I have to get. She has not let me down in not one of her books. She is an outstanding author. Get all her books you will not be disappointed. I can't wait for my books to get here (The whole Madaris Series). I will probably read them all in 1 week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    HOT!!! SEXY!!! SATISFYING!!!!

    IF YOU HAVEN'T READ 'SURRENDER' YOU HAVE MISSED OUT! ASHTON SINCLAIR HAS GOT TO BE THE SEXIEST AND MOST ROMANTICALLY LOVING MALE CHARACTER YET! READ BRENDA'S DESCRIPTION OF HIM AND YOU'LL UNDERSTAND! NETHERLAND BROOMS IS A SAVVY SISTER THAT IS IN DENIAL ABOUT HOW SHE FEELS ABOUT ASHTON. BUT THAT DOESN'T LAST TOO LONG! READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED! LIKE THE OTHER MADARIS SERIES, AS WELL AS HER OTHER NOVELS, THEY'RE RIGHT ON THE MONEY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    I SURRENDER TOO!

    Brenda Jackson has written a super romantic romance novel with plenty of over the top handsome, virile men who know exactly what they want and how to go about getting it. The love story of Ashton Sinclair, a colonel in the Marines and Netherland Brooms, entrepreneur and owner of 'Sister's Restaurant' is filled with high sexual tension but there is also the tension of two strong personalities pitted one against the other. One declaring ownership and one declaring independence. Ashton Sinclair is Native American as well as African American and he uses his sense of the spiritual from both cultures to accomplish his goals. Not only does he love Netherland (Nettie) but he has had a vision that she will become his wife. Nettie has had no such vision she only knows that she does not want to be the wife of a military man. What follows is Ashtons pursuit of Nettie as she fights hopelessly but never helplessly against surrendering herself to Ashton until she realizes that she no longer wants to flee.There are many characters and sub plots here, but they are all neatly tied together in a story filled with romance, intrigue and mystery. The novel also gives depth and background to family and friends so that you feel comfortable and familiar if you read one of Ms. Jackson's previous novels or move on to the newest one. Her writing is a continuation of a generations saga. I was particularly taken with Rome and Jada. This is my first Brenda Jackson novel, it won't be my last. I too have fallen under the spell of the Madaris family. Vannie(~.~)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    A Remarkable Story!!!

    This was my first book by Ms. Jackson and I couldn't put in down! Netherland and Ashton are both strong and independent. Yet, with each other they are able to find the deepest parts of themselves. The characters and plot bring the reader into the storyline and keeps you turning until the last page. A must read for anyone who loves a wonderful romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    A MUST READ FOR THE MARADIS FANS

    WOW!!!!! If you know the Madaris clan then you know you won't be disapponted! Just when I thought everyone was married and the saga would end. NOT. There is a whole new group of single and eligible Maradis men. I can't wait for the next book!!!!!!!!!!! My only advice is to those who don't know Madaris family....start with the first book TRUST ME!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4