Customer Reviews for

Surrender (MacKinnon's Rangers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book One of MacKinnon's Rangers This is Iain and Annie's story.

    Book One of MacKinnon's Rangers

    This is Iain and Annie's story. Iain is the eldest MacKinnon brother. He is forced into service in the British army by William Wentworth - one of his family's greatest enemies. When he comes across Annie in the forest, he saves her from certain death against his orders. Thus begins a romance to write home about.

    Audio notes - Kaleo Griffith is a god. His use of accents is wonderful and while he differentiates between men and women, he does not try to sound like a woman.

    If you're looking for a well-written, fantastically narrated story about love amongst war, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Wonderful! Highly recommend if you like historical romance.  

    Wonderful! Highly recommend if you like historical romance.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Great series

    Couldn't get enough of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Awesome trilogy

    Awesome trilogy, hated to see them end. Unique plots, great character connections. Steamy to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    AMAZING. So different and refreshing from the recent romances av

    AMAZING. So different and refreshing from the recent romances available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    This was great!

    Iain MacKinnon is a wonderful character, 100% man. Annie is brave, spirited and "bonnie" - the perfect woman for Iain. I loved this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this down!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    Unlawfully charged with a crime and now fighting for the hated British, Iain MacKinnon disobeyed orders and endangered his brothers and his mission to rescue a woman. And though he sensed Annie was hiding something from him, it was too late to hold back his heart...

    REVIEW:

    Okay, so while the about doesn’t provide much, this book is a MUST read. Matter of fact, it’s a read it over and over and over again!
    Ms. Clare has done it again! She manages to ensnare me in her world and just when I think I may just “enjoy” a piece she has written, I walk away after reading, only to find that I absolutely ADORED the crap outta it. *grin*

    The characters are so very real, so very smooth, so very intriguing, and SO very lovable. Iain is the hero everyone wants to meet and Annie is the heroine that everyone wants to be. The rangers are adorable and Ms. Clare maintains such a level of honor and integrity that makes the entire experience so real. So true.

    I truly enjoyed this piece, loved all the different ways she added more drama to it and absolutely adored the MacKinnon brothers.

    Ms. Clare, if you shall ever find yourself in need of sending one of your heroes’s a home – send them my way!

    Five out of five stars for a job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    This truly is an exceptional novel. The history is rich and powe

    This truly is an exceptional novel. The history is rich and powerful and the love story is strong and beautiful. The MacKinnon brothers are strong and sure, their personalities stay true throughout the series and their beliefs held fast within the entire story. Easily the best historical series I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Avid reader

    Excellent book ! I did not want it to end, can not wait for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Wonderful read!

    It makes me want to travel back in time and marry a Scottish Highlander!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Not your typical Historical, so much more...

    I am not a person who usually enjoys historical romance, but I thoroughly enjoyed Iain and Annie's story. This isn't your typical historical, there is no frill and no lace. Annie has grit and spunk and is loyal to the core and will fight for anyone she deems fit. Iain is resigned to his fate, does his job and does it well until...Annie. All that is left is to SURRENDER!!! The historical accuracy was meticulous, flawlessly woven into the tale, never appearing as though it were flung up like scenery in the background. Creating a Battle of Ticonderoga scene sufficiently convincing and captivating that one is not tempted to skim through on the way to the good stuff is quite a feat. I am very much looking forward to Morgan's story "Untamed".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED A MUST READ!

    Icould not put this book down it was very exciting,Ilook forward to more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Sensual Adventure

    Pamela Clare does it again! A handsome Scottish hero, Ian MacKinnon is forced to serve the British crown in their fight against the French in the early American colonies. Ian, a Scottish warrior who has also learned fighting skills from the Abenaki Indians, forms The MacKinnon's Rangers - a skilled group of fighting men. During a scouting operation he comes across the bonnie Lady Anne Campbell who is attacked by Indians. Not only does Ian rescue Anne from Indians, but also from her circumstance as a bond slave. Months before, Anne discovers the evil, sick deeds and murder of inncents by her only living relative, her father's brother. So that his deeds are covered up, Anne's uncle has her falsely accused as a thief, arrested, and sent away to America. As Ian and Anne run from the French, the British, and their pasts, their attraction for each other grows. This passionate, sensual, intelligent romance, written in an interesting period in history, is difficult to put down. I read it in one night. A definite keeper! I sure hope Pamela Clare will make this a series, as there are two more handsome, sexy MacKinnon Brothers. Fans would love to know their stories as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Flawed charcters come out ok in the end

    Surrender by Pamela Clare is the first of a trilogy set during the French and Indian War. Scottish immigtrant Iain MacKinnon is unjustly forced to fight for the British or hang. Annie is betrayed by her uncle, branded a thief and sent to America as an indentured servant. When the Abenaki threaten to kill her, Iain abandons his war mission to save her. The bond between them strengthens as they flee the vengeful Abenaki. At the fort, the commander, Lord Wentworth notices something familiar about Annie, whom he wants for himself. While Iain at war, Wentworth¿s interference brings a visit from Annie¿s uncle. After Iain returns, his blood boils to protect his woman from her uncle and foil Wentworth¿s plans. In Surrender, Pamela has created a suspenseful ride that will have you turning pages to see what happens next. Her characters are strong and full of passion. The historical detail is superb. Surrender will leave you breathless and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    You'll Surrender to Anne and Iain

    Set in a time period not usually used, The French and Indian War in 1757 New England, Ms. Clare takes her readers through a history period many don't know about in the exciting and passionate Surrender. Betrayed by the man she thought of as a father, Lady Anne Campbell is arrested for a theft she didn't commit, branded a thief and sold into indentured servitude in the Colonies. Iain is also falsely accused of a crime and forced to serve the British army as a scout and Major of the Rangers. While on a mission, he comes across a war party of Abenaki burning out the cabin of Anne's employers. She is able to escape the carnage, but only to be tracked down by the blood-hungry warriors. Iain rescues her from certain rape and worst, putting his men and mission at risk. Though facing punishment for disobeying his orders, he doesn't regret saving the lovely lass for a moment. As always, the road to love is rocky and Ms. Clare does well to weave history and romance. Iain and Anne must overcome more than just their social and religious differences. They have to be wary of Lord William Wentworth, the man who falsely accused Iain and who, if he discovers Anne's true identity, will send her back to her abusive uncle. How will Iain react when he learns Anne's identity and will Wentworth manage to seduce her before Iain? Or will her sadistic uncle demand custody of Anne and return with her to England, taking her from the man she loves. Surrender will have on the edge of your seat with its adventure and fanning your flushed face with its hot, sensual love scenes. True love, as always, conquers all. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    wow!

    what an awesome read! how wonderfully realistic this book is! from peeing in the woods starvation and courage i couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    Surrender

    I Just got done reading Surrender it was one of the best books I have read this year. I cannot wait until the other two books come out. I strongly recommend reading this book if you like Historical Fiction. It is a very hard book to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    A Must Read!

    This is a wonderful book! Iain and Annie's story is just terrific and I highly recommend it! The story is great, the love scenes are steamy and sexy! I can't wait for the sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Outstanding. Transcends the category

    I think a truly great love story can transcend a category like historical or contemporary or sweet or steamy. Far Pavilions, Gone With the Wind, The Flame and the Flower are not great historicals but wonderful love stories. Pamela Clare's novels will take you into another world for sure-- not just a world of Scots in Frontier America but a world where love transforms the characters and reaffirms our own belief in the truly heroic and the potential for great and lasting love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Surrender

    Pamela Clare writes great historical romance. She makes the time period come to life. She pulls you into the story and makes you want to keep reading just to find out what happens next. I became attached to the characters because she made them seem so real. Surrender is the wonderful tale of Iain MacKinnon and Lady Anne Burness Campbell. Each one does what has to be done to survive and neither one gives up without a fight. The premise makes for an interesting love story. It is the first in a trilogy and I can¿t wait for the other books to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4