Customer Reviews for

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Another excellent romance by this author!

    One of Madeline Hunters finest! I am so happy to have found this author and have read all of her works, she is an absolute favorite of mine. She certainly gives depth to the characters and just enough to leave you waiting to see how the other characters will emerge in the coming series. Intrigue with the plot, sexual tension between the characters, and much more! Especially an empty ballroom by candle light scene you will never forget!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great storyline! I typically enjoy Madeline Hunter's novels. She

    Great storyline! I typically enjoy Madeline Hunter's novels. She usually uses great character dialogue with intriguing romance. The end of the of book fell a little flat but still a fantastically entertaining story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Classic Hunter

    Well written but promises better stories in subsequent books by introducing future characters beter than she usually does heroine surrenders a little too easily one minute ignorant the next oh so willing but hunter still writes a better romance than most in the genre

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Madeline Hunter never disappoints with her stories and character

    Madeline Hunter never disappoints with her stories and characters. Enjoyed this book tremendously. Ms Hunter has another great series going, even though each book stands alone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Great Story

    I have followed Madeline's writing and series for years. Classic story with good characters and a compelling story line. I hope it starts a series as I want to know more about the others characters and hope the get their own stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Ms. Hunter consistently turns out compelling and lushly written

    Ms. Hunter consistently turns out compelling and lushly written stories, and this is another one to add to the keeper shelf. Miss Fairbourne must keep her father’s auction house running, as long as she continues to believe that her brother did not perish while traveling to the continent. Darius, Earl of Southwaite, must force the sale of the auction house despite being a silent partner. After these two determined and headstrong characters meet, the challenge is set to see who will win. Throw in an inconvenient and confusing attraction, and you have all the hallmarks of another great Hunter story. Readers will also be introduced to secondary characters that will peak the curiosity for further stories associated with Fairbourne’s Auction House.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    I am a big Madeline Hunter fan, and this is one of the best she'

    I am a big Madeline Hunter fan, and this is one of the best she's ever writtten!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    When Emma Fairbourne┬┐s father, Maurice, is found dead at the bot

    When Emma Fairbourne’s father, Maurice, is found dead at the bottom of a cliff near the family cottage in Kent, the duty of running Maurice’s famous auction house, Fairbourne’s, falls to Emma. Except that Society will never accept a woman running a such a prestigious business! Emma plans to hire a front man – someone handsome and charming who can act as the alleged “proprietor” while Emma silently manages the business behind closed doors. But just as she begins putting her plan into motion, Darius, the Earl of Southwaite, appears declaring his half-share interest in the business and his resolute desire to see the entire auction house closed and sold. The war with Napoleon looms on the horizon and Emma must deal with a bevy of spies and smugglers as well as the infuriating Earl of Southwaite if she has any hopes of keeping her father’s auction house open to the public.

    The daughter of a tradesman, Emma is a practical person with a preference for speaking very plainly and directly. She is not the type to sugar coat anything and therefore does not understand the ton’s penchant for hiding venom and distaste behind sweet civility.

    As an Earl and respected member of society, Darius Alfreton is used to his commands being followed. He is used to people turning to him for answers and those same people believing that he can solve their issues. He has strong beliefs about “women’s work” and is unprepared for Emma Fairbourne’s ability and determination to stand up against those beliefs.

    In true Madeline Hunter fashion, the love between Emma and Darius begins subtly and simmers for a while before the lovers give into their feelings. In fact, the attraction between Emma and Darius was such a slow build that when they did consummate their attraction, I doubled back a few pages to see if I had missed something! The clash of wills between Darius and Emma, almost from their very first meeting, is both funny and infuriating. Both characters are strong-willed and convinced they know what is best. This leads to some entertaining arguments, even after they have begun a physical relationship.

    I really enjoyed reading The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne. In it Ms. Hunter presents an entertaining and original plot, a steamy romance, and intelligent, witty dialogue. There is just something about Ms. Hunter’s books that strike me as almost poetic. The expressive language and the intricate, intellectual plots are a delight and I look forward to reading more of her works.

    Originally posted on Plot Twist Reviews [dot] com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Maria

    Guttierez hope

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Not one of her best

    Boring storyline and characters. Ms. Hunter can do much better than this.




    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Highly Reccommended

    A change for me, new author of choice. I really did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Good but not great! I likes it especially at the end. Southwait

    Good but not great!

    I likes it especially at the end. Southwaite got on my nerves a lot he seemed very cold towards everyone but at the end i began to like him. It was an ok read and the introduction to the future book characters was exciting and i cant wait to read their stories. it had mystery and love, so read it and judge for your self

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    A Sweet Story!

    I love Madeline Hunter's Books. This one didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2