BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Surrender the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect urban fantasy

    Besides being a chain smoker Celeste Jackson is a chain drinker and a constant abuse victim. However, in her mind, she believes she deserves punishment as she suffers from schizophrenia. Her mental illness culminates when her abusive boyfriend Brandon threatens to kill her and Celeste sees a demon residing inside him that he commands to leave; as the horned figure flees the human host, Brandon crumbles in death.-----------

    Fleeing for her life, Celeste does what she always does when she hallucinates; she stops at a bar for a drink or ten and a pack of Newports. Her thoughts are she has to get out of this place as Philly is not a safe haven for her. Azrael the Angel who left the Light to protect Celeste meets her at the bar. She thinks he is crazier than she is, which says a lot as he explains who she is and why opposing sides recognize she is critical in the war over humanity. She feels safe with him and he tries to obtain her trust. Celeste must serve as a rallying cry to gather her hybrid angelic-human peers the Remnant and other sensitive receptors to stop the evil dark from continuing their rule over humanity. However, Azrael's attraction to his ward could cost him his wings and mankind their last chance for salvation; only Celeste's addictions may prevent his obsession leaving him wingless forever.------------------------

    This is a terrific urban fantasy with a throwback feel to when authors used the genre to spotlight social issues. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Celeste orders the demon out of Brandon and never slows down even while L.A. Banks looks deeply at what ails the country. Readers will appreciate the battle for humanity between angels and demons as a schizophrenic addict serves as the pivotal essence in a war for eternity.------------------------------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I beyond doubt recommend this book

    A postive read, I enjoyed it. I'm a big fan of The Vampire Huntress, This is almost as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    miss her

    good start to a new series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    R.I.P. You are very missed!

    As I re-read all her books I am forever blessed to have been able to read her works of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    terrific!

    Another greak book from L.A banks
    every book every caracter this woman creates turns to gold as far as I am concerned
    I love her gifted mind and cannot put her books down until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Rip

    Its truely sad to hear that we lost a great author. No one can ever replace the stories she has written. Im going to truely miss her work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Surreder to L. A Banks

    As an lover of science/supernatural/fantasy fiction it is refreshing to find an author that uses urban settings with People of Color as their focus. Ms. Banks integrates not only the diaspora that is part of the American and International experience but also incorporates and creates her own brand of mythology. It is AWESOME to read about characters that look like me and not the run of the mill white characters. It always amazes me how white washed this genre is. But that is a whole different conversation. I look forward to the next one and have loved all that I have read thus far!! KUDOS Ms. Banks for joining the small group of African American writers who have tried and succeeded in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    R.I.P. L.A. Banks

    Ms. Banks will be missed by all. Now when I reread all the books I have by her, it will be so bittersweet to know that there will be no
    more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ms. Banks delivers once again!

    Author, L.A. Banks, blew me away with her Vampire Huntress Series. Her insane knowledge of historical and religious facts totally sucked me in to her world of heaven & hell, vampires & demons, and the war being waged between good & evil. Well, she absolutely did it again! This time focusing on angels and their part in ensuring that good prevails in the coming "end of days." Ms. Banks has such a beautiful way with words and of bringing her characters to life. I can't wait for the next release in this stunning new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good vs Evil - who will win?

    This was my first L.A. Banks book and I really enjoyed it. I didn't think that I was going to at first, but then I found myself really engrossed it in and wanting to know what was going to happen.

    Celeste is a very strong female lead, having lived her life abusing drugs and alcohol and being abused. She thought she was crazy as she always saw demons, but come to find out - she really was seeing demons. When she meets Azrael, she feels safe with him, but still has a hard time trusting him. It was sometimes comical as they learned about each other's worlds - especially as Azrael learned how to cope with his human body and all it's nuances.

    The book is fast paced, but still gives you lots of back ground information as to why the battle between good and evil, and how angels and demons came to be on earth.

    This is the first book in the series, with Conquer the Dark due out in October of this year. She has a couple of other series, Vampire Huntress and Crimson Moon that I think I am going to have to check out in the mean time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Get it today!!!!!!!!

    This was a great read, and I couldn't put it down. Ms. Banks out did herself. If you love adventure, good-vs-evil, and romance then pick this book up or download it today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    AMAZING!!

    I have read most all of her other books, and was expecting a good read. She outdid herself. This was an amazing book. This book was a great read as well as a spiritual awakening for me. I love the way she weaves in just enough spirituality with the fiction to make you feel like you know the characters and what they are going through. I will be the first in line to get the next one!!!
    AWESOME!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I'm addicted to the good-versus-evil books where the main character is a bad girl with a big heart. With an in-depth plot, likable characters and a unique writing style, reading SURRENDER THE DARK was a great way to spend a day. Paranormal and Urban Fantasy fans get ready for this great new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3