Customer Reviews for

Surrender to Temptation

Average Rating 3.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    1

    Didn't even attempt buy it, even though I like seriel books. Once I saw the sample, I was completely turned off. If you are too afraid to offer a real sample, it's a good indication of one of two things: your book is too short to be considered a book, or it's terrible. So which is it? Because I refuse to pay for books shorter than 75 pages anymore. And you only showed us your table of contents as a preview-which is a little bit insulting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    BEWARE

    I was stupid enough to buy it despite the reviews. Got seven pages--title page, TOC, and copyright junk. NO BOOK! I will be sure to remember this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lauren Jameson's Surrender to Temptation series was originally f

    Lauren Jameson's Surrender to Temptation series was originally formatted as a six part novella serial. Now it has been redone and formed into one novel under the original series title. Readers who are familiar with the series will enjoy reading it again all at one time and those who are just being introduced to it don't have to wait to get to the good stuff. The series focuses on Devon, a young woman who is looking for change in her life and Zach, a man who is a true enigma.  Jameson has a trademark wit and does a fantastic job with dialogue and romantic banter. Her steamy sex scenes and light BDSM materiel gives this book heat and eroticism that just won't quit. 

    What I liked: 

    Devon was a great lead character. She was sensitive and somewhat naive. She had a sweetness about her, a type of innocence. Readers quickly pick up on her issues. She is self-conscious and shy. But when she finds that her boyfriend has been cheating she isn't afraid to take a stand and find the change that she needs in her life. I loved watching her bloom and become the woman she truly wanted to be. She gave herself a fresh start. I think I wanted a little more for her than what I thought Zach was giving her for much of the book. I realized he had his reasons, but they weren't quite enough for me to warrant his actions.

    Zach was a character I wanted to like, but I couldn't quite make it. There were parts of his character that were intriguing and he definitely had it going on in the erotic portions of the book, but it just wasn't enough. I liked the corporate bad boy attitude. The dominance he showed in every area of his life and his passion. But he was wishy-washy when it came to Devon. he would draw her in like a moth to flame and then sabotage his own happy ending. Each section or part of the book was a cycle with Zach. He would bring Devon in close and then step back. One step forward, two steps back. I felt like I was being pulled right along with her and I couldn't help but wish he would just jump in with both feet or run for cover. It was exhausting at times.

    The sex was hot, they don't call it erotica for nothing. Jameson really excels at that part of the book. She knows how to set the scene and pull the reader in. Her language isn't overly graphic nor does it make the reader feel like they are in a smut film, but it gets the motor running and the emotions revving. She uses some light BDSM, from spanking to tying and that sort of thing. Nothing that will shock the reader, though it might enlighten them. Zach's form of control was more of trust than anything else. He wanted Devon to believe he would take her to edge but never let her fall off. That was quite intriguing. Loved the scene on the car. Readers might need a cold drink for that one.

    What I didn't like:

    I can sum it up by saying I didn't like Zach or the push and pull relationship he created with Devon. I liked them together and I understood why they needed to be apart to provide conflict for the book. Once or twice would have been fine, but there was a bit of overkill with this one. And it came across as self-serving and disrespectful to Devon. She was a sweetheart. She deserved a little better. 

    Bottom Line:

    This is an extremely hard fought HEA. These two characters fight it tooth and nail. I liked Devon, had issues with Zach, but found their bedroom and beyond scenes very sensual and passionate. So there were good parts and bad. Take it with a grain of salt and see what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Love the Book. I couldn't put my nook down. But what happen to t

    Love the Book. I couldn't put my nook down. But what happen to the last one VI?
    Does anyone know?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great Book kept my interest all the way through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great Book kept my interest all the way through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great Book kept my interest all the way through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highlt recommend

    Great Book kept my interest all the way through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great Book kept my interest all the way through it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    At this point, I'm starting to feel a bit redundant. The stories

    At this point, I'm starting to feel a bit redundant. The stories definitely have a pattern. Zach pisses Devon off, or vice versa, and someone storms away. After a few minutes, or a few days, Devon makes a half-hearted attempt to tell the Zach it's definitely over this time. At which point, Zach turns her so on that they have passionate, angry sex. Then Devon wants more, Zach doesn't want to open up, and she storms away again. Pattern. BUT, I love Jameson's writing. She's an excellent writer of erotica, and I can't get enough.

    This installment had one of the hottest scenes I've ever read. So hot, I nearly fell off the bleachers at soccer practice. (Yes, I read erotica at soccer practice. I get bored and I don't want to talk to the other moms.) Seriously? Unff. This scene is going into the dark recesses of my brain for further examination.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    And so the tale of Zach and Devon's sexual journey comes to an e

    And so the tale of Zach and Devon's sexual journey comes to an end. I was pretty sure the two would end up together, but had no idea how it could come about. Once again, Zach hauls Devon out of the office and is determined she will listen to him. I was happy that he finally came clean with his issues, and confessed his feelings. I will say, though, that his deep dark secret was a bit anticlimatic. Not that it wasn't sad, but I was expecting far worse from someone so messed up.

    I did enjoy how the story ended. I'm a big fan of Lauren Jameson's and will say if you like erotic serial novellas, give this series a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Okay, Part IV was my favorite, but this installment was first ru

    Okay, Part IV was my favorite, but this installment was first runner-up. Of course, Zach and Devon fight again. And of course, she storms off. And of course he comes back for her. But Zach's walls are slowly coming down, and he's opening up to her bit by bit. At the end of this is another crucial moment between the pair and I'm wondering if they'll ever get it together.

    There's a fun surfing scene, and a hot bondage scene. Whoa. Like I've said many times, Lauren Jameson is a fantastic writer of erotica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    One chapter

    Another one of these books you have to buy a chapter at a time. Greedy sob's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    55 pages :(

    Another 55 page tease. i hate buying books a chapter at a time:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    FRUSTRATED!!!

    I could not get this book to load. I could see the table of contents and that is it!!! WANT A REFUND!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Blank

    I just bought this book and its blank. I am a fan of the short series stories and despite the poor ratings i purchased this book. Not sure if maybe a malfunction. So for now it gets poor rating!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    I was anxious and a little worried to start this installment of

    I was anxious and a little worried to start this installment of the Surrender to Temptation Series. After the ending of Tempted to Rebel, with Zach freaking out, I wanted to know what the heck was going on with this mysterious, controlling man.


    Let me say that I don't typically like to read about men like Zach. It's not that I don't get the D/s aspect, it's just that I hate the guy talking to the girl like she's a piece of sh*t. And this does rub me the wrong way with Zach, but I'm so curious about his mood shifts and what ever it is that has him so tortured. Plus, he made a very shocking request of Devon. I'm dying to know what is up with that!


    Tempted to Obey is by far my favorite installment of this series. It was seductive, surprising, twisty, and super sexy. I think I'm becoming addicted to Surrender to Temptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Avid reader

    Sample provided not one word of text. Would liked to have have an idea of what series was about before buying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Avid reader

    Would have liked to read sample of series, but alas, sample provided not one word of text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3