Customer Reviews for

Surrender to the Devil

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The latest Oliver Twist twist is a fantastic entry in a clever well written saga

She and her two friends Earl Lucien "Luke" Langdon (see IN BED WITH THE DEVIL) and club owner Jack Dodger (see BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND DESIRE) escaped London's mean streets and Feagan's den of child thieves and urchin con artists. Whereas the guys have become accustomed ...
She and her two friends Earl Lucien "Luke" Langdon (see IN BED WITH THE DEVIL) and club owner Jack Dodger (see BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND DESIRE) escaped London's mean streets and Feagan's den of child thieves and urchin con artists. Whereas the guys have become accustomed to Polite Society, Frannie Darling (as she calls herself because of her earliest memory of Feagan calling her that) hates the Ton; she prefers the slums of the rookeries rescuing orphans. She earns a living as Jack's bookkeeper.

Earl Sterling Mabry meets and falls in love with Frannie. She is attracted to him too, but prefers to pick his pocket instead. Haughty especially when he wants something and he WANTS her, he pursues her with due diligence, but has no idea she reciprocates though she loathes the idea of loving an arrogant aristocrat. As they fall in love, they get in trouble with vile criminal elements that leave them fighting to survive, but Frannie assumes she caused the assaults somehow when Sterling conceals from his beloved he is the prime source of their danger.

The latest Oliver Twist twist is a fantastic entry in a clever well written saga that stars the latest adult version of one of Feagan's child thieves and the Earl who loves his Frannie Darling. The cast once again makes this fast paced tale super fun to read as Loraine Heath provides another excellent Victorian romantic suspense that hooks audience from the moment Frannie out-arrogance the super conceited Earl.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

We can read!

Ms Harriet..It may come as a surprise to you but we can read for ourselves. Why do you have to keep ruining the many books you "review" foe everyone? They all seem to get 5 stars..that s strange don't you think? Or is it because that's why you get them free for reviews...
Ms Harriet..It may come as a surprise to you but we can read for ourselves. Why do you have to keep ruining the many books you "review" foe everyone? They all seem to get 5 stars..that s strange don't you think? Or is it because that's why you get them free for reviews? Please don't tell us every single thing in a book. We like to read it for ourselves. Thank you.

posted by 7382316 on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Oliver Twist twist is a fantastic entry in a clever well written saga

    She and her two friends Earl Lucien "Luke" Langdon (see IN BED WITH THE DEVIL) and club owner Jack Dodger (see BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND DESIRE) escaped London's mean streets and Feagan's den of child thieves and urchin con artists. Whereas the guys have become accustomed to Polite Society, Frannie Darling (as she calls herself because of her earliest memory of Feagan calling her that) hates the Ton; she prefers the slums of the rookeries rescuing orphans. She earns a living as Jack's bookkeeper.

    Earl Sterling Mabry meets and falls in love with Frannie. She is attracted to him too, but prefers to pick his pocket instead. Haughty especially when he wants something and he WANTS her, he pursues her with due diligence, but has no idea she reciprocates though she loathes the idea of loving an arrogant aristocrat. As they fall in love, they get in trouble with vile criminal elements that leave them fighting to survive, but Frannie assumes she caused the assaults somehow when Sterling conceals from his beloved he is the prime source of their danger.

    The latest Oliver Twist twist is a fantastic entry in a clever well written saga that stars the latest adult version of one of Feagan's child thieves and the Earl who loves his Frannie Darling. The cast once again makes this fast paced tale super fun to read as Loraine Heath provides another excellent Victorian romantic suspense that hooks audience from the moment Frannie out-arrogance the super conceited Earl.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    We can read!

    Ms Harriet..It may come as a surprise to you but we can read for ourselves. Why do you have to keep ruining the many books you "review" foe everyone? They all seem to get 5 stars..that s strange don't you think? Or is it because that's why you get them free for reviews? Please don't tell us every single thing in a book. We like to read it for ourselves. Thank you.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful ending to the triology

    This is a continuation of the story of Feagan's kids; Luke and Jack have already found their loves, and now it is Frannie's turn. Sterling, a Duke and Catherine's (Luke) brother meets Frannie and desires her immediately. Frannie is tempted by his offer, but ultimately decides that she wants more than just being his lover. Circumstances continue to have them thrown together, and utimately they end up spending one precious night together. Sterling has his reasons for not wanting to get too close, and Frannie is afraid to spend any more time with him as she does not want to form any attachments. The story is well-written, engaging and I read it almost through in one sitting, well one sitting, one session on the treadmill, and then another quick sitting!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    A good read.

    Once again Heath does not disappoint. I wish more authors would focus on the characters as well as Lorraine Heath does. To many authors fill pages with silly or unbelievable plot twists when they should be evolving the relationship. Heath does a great job staying with her characters and developing the story through them. A very satisfying read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Out of the nine books of Ms. Heath's I've read so far, this is m

    Out of the nine books of Ms. Heath's I've read so far, this is my
    favorite! Awesome plot, hot romance and twists and turns!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    highly recommend

    very enjoyable and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    GOOD READ

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Good not great..............................

    From the moment they laid eyes on each other----across a crowded room --They are practically drooling over each other. She can't stop thinking about him. Even though she doesn't like the aristocracy. Even though she's is 30 and has never had even the slightest interest in a man. Even though he insults her the first time they have a conversation. He of course can't stop thinking about her. Even though she is a former thief. Even though he thinks she is highly unsuitable for him---he is a duke after all. Even though she works as a bookkeeper in a gaming hall/brothel. It wasn't a bad story but definetley not one of LH best. It all turns out well of course but the instant falling for each other was over the top. They weren't a couple of sixteen year olds. Surely they had seen attractive people before. Read like the emotions of a couple of junior high school students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    LH writes solid G rated historicals. I do not expect chapter lon

    LH writes solid G rated historicals. I do not expect chapter long love scenes like S Laurens, but when you go from a kiss to morning after...that is just lazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Buy It!!!!!!

    I laughed and I cried like a baby! Definitely worth your money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Of all the "Devil" books that involve childhood friend

    Of all the "Devil" books that involve childhood friends - Luke, Jack, and Frannie - this was my least favorite. Oh, I liked Frannie but I couldn't really get The Duke - Sterling. Lorraine is a FABULOUS writer but she failed to help me "see" Sterling. For great reading of the "Devil" series, read Luke and Jack Dodger's stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Loved every moment reading this one. Unlike other series where previous characters just show up for a scene or two happily married with a baby, this one has previous characters very involved in the plot. While technically you could read it as a stand alone you would be missing out on a great series full of amazing characters. The romance between the Hero and Heroine was wonderful. Full of great scenes, action, and drama. Highly recommend you read the whole series. It won't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    More than a love story

    This is the 3rd in this series I've read and while my reading time is limited, I can't wait to pick up and see what happens next. Once you understand the characters and their past and how those histories intermingle into their daily lives and decisions, you feel as if you know a little secret as you read through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Not bad.

    Story was not that interesting .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surrender To The Devil

    Frannie Darling was a child of the streets. Frannie wants nothing to do with the men who lust after her. Her only concern is the children of the streets. The Duke Of Greystone wants Frannie. He's been warned off by her protectors the boys Frannie looked after on the streets. When she was a child of twelve Frannie was kidnapped and raped, now she's over that and wants to be loved. The Duke Of Greystone has a secret, that only he knows. He's going blind and he doesn't want to put a burden on the woman he loves. Soon Frannie's activities get her noticed by the worse kidsman in London, it's up to the Duke to protect her.
    I enjoyed this book, I especially like how like Charles Dickens like the book is. I hope there are more, I would love to read Jim's and William's stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3