Customer Reviews for

Survival, a YA Paranormal Romance (The Guardians of Vesturon Series, Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good YA Read

So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of peopl...
So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of people who provide safety for the people of the particular area where she is located, it is there where she meets Rayn Yarrister, the Guardian of the Vesturon. From that point on their chemistry sizzles and a relationship between the two is inevitable because they are drawn to eachother like a bee to honey!! It is when Rayn risks everything for Maddie that she learns who he really is and learns how deeply he truly feels for her and she is forced to make a choice, let him risk everything important to him for love or walk away from their strong connection to ensure his safety. What will she choose??? I give nothing away because I feel spoilers stink but the scenes that include his brothers and sisters and their interactions with Maddie had me laughing so hard I was nearly in tears! There are plenty of comical scenes, as well as romantic and some hard to get through scenes with her captor. All in all I would say this is a good read, very even paced with a fair amount of action and emotionally driven plots, never a dull moment!! Maddie learns to heal a lot throughout this book and learns to love, as well as how to trust and let down the walls that she has learned to put up due to all the loss she has has endured. I think the author did a great job with making Maddie stay true to her morals even when she is faced with an overly gorgeous and sensual male like Rayn who tempts her constantly, I thought that was rare and I truly found that endearing. That also never happens!! But this was a good read, I love the twisted plot that she has worked into this story and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel to find out just who is behind it and why!!! The Yarristers are hilarious and genuine and Maddie is just truly an all around endearing and motivated lead character, also very comical....good read.

posted by CJ-Hayes on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste time or money

I hate to give negative reviews, but this book is awful. I couldn't get past page 80. The writing, grammar, & character development is childish at best. It's like the author is writing "down" to her audience, yet in certain areas she uses terminology a young adult would...
I hate to give negative reviews, but this book is awful. I couldn't get past page 80. The writing, grammar, & character development is childish at best. It's like the author is writing "down" to her audience, yet in certain areas she uses terminology a young adult would never use. The main character is supposed to be in college, but the dialogue makes her sound 12 at times. Was really looking forward to a good series but was highly disappointed...

posted by HeatherFaz on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Good YA Read

    So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of people who provide safety for the people of the particular area where she is located, it is there where she meets Rayn Yarrister, the Guardian of the Vesturon. From that point on their chemistry sizzles and a relationship between the two is inevitable because they are drawn to eachother like a bee to honey!! It is when Rayn risks everything for Maddie that she learns who he really is and learns how deeply he truly feels for her and she is forced to make a choice, let him risk everything important to him for love or walk away from their strong connection to ensure his safety. What will she choose??? I give nothing away because I feel spoilers stink but the scenes that include his brothers and sisters and their interactions with Maddie had me laughing so hard I was nearly in tears! There are plenty of comical scenes, as well as romantic and some hard to get through scenes with her captor. All in all I would say this is a good read, very even paced with a fair amount of action and emotionally driven plots, never a dull moment!! Maddie learns to heal a lot throughout this book and learns to love, as well as how to trust and let down the walls that she has learned to put up due to all the loss she has has endured. I think the author did a great job with making Maddie stay true to her morals even when she is faced with an overly gorgeous and sensual male like Rayn who tempts her constantly, I thought that was rare and I truly found that endearing. That also never happens!! But this was a good read, I love the twisted plot that she has worked into this story and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel to find out just who is behind it and why!!! The Yarristers are hilarious and genuine and Maddie is just truly an all around endearing and motivated lead character, also very comical....good read.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Don't waste time or money

    I hate to give negative reviews, but this book is awful. I couldn't get past page 80. The writing, grammar, & character development is childish at best. It's like the author is writing "down" to her audience, yet in certain areas she uses terminology a young adult would never use. The main character is supposed to be in college, but the dialogue makes her sound 12 at times. Was really looking forward to a good series but was highly disappointed...

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    This is a great YA book

    I had a little bit of a hard time getting through the first part of this book, the stories timeline was a little confusing with how it bounced around at times I had to backtrack to figure out that we had switched scenes again. The switching between characters and times got smoother as the story advanced, I also think it improved for me when the plot picked up speed and we got more into some of the action sequences. It was at this point that I got really engrossed in Maddie's and Rayn's story. I really enjoyed getting to read the story from both of their perspectives, and seeing that the feelings were just as strong from the beginning for both of them. This author has a way of writing that really brought out the emotions and turmoil that the characters were feeling and making me feel them too. This book is an emotional roller coaster ride you kinda just have to hold on and hope you don't fall off. I think the author tried to embed some really good morality lessons into her story, and the belief that the Rayn has in the deity is refreshing the author brings God into her book but not in an overbearing preachy way. While I was reading it I kept thinking this is a great way to get an alternative choices out to a YA market without making it overwhelming. The romance was intense with out having to bring sex into it and both main characters have made choices to wait until marriage, even so the author was able to put across the intense feelings these two have for each other. Over all I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to book two in the series.
    I received this book as a free book from the author for a fair review. Thanks for the entertaining read. :)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Love the story but writing could be better...

    I will be the first to admit, I recently discovered paranormal romance and am now hooked! So when I saw this book I was excited, especially since it was free! The story line is really amazing! I love the characters and the creative technologies the author incorporated in this book. My one and only complaint is that things are almost repeated over and over. A character will say something that is a paragraph long and then another character replies. Well when the first character speaks again, it's almost the same thing they originally said all over again! If some of this was cut out the book would be cut by 1/3... But with that being said, I still stand by the fact that I loved the plot and characters! I am intrigued about what happens next so I have already started reading the next book. :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Bad writting

    I guess the story was fine but the writting wasnt good. It was extremly cheasy and it seemed like the author was just throwing unformarion at you. The main character got very annoying very fast. I do not recomend it if you want a good book.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome...definite must read!

    The first thing I have to say is that I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK!!! I couldn't put it down. Now that I have that somewhat out of my system, it's time to move on.

    Maddie has had some serious drama in her life. Just when she thinks that things are finally settling with college and life on her own, tragedy strikes...or is is fate? After a horrific experience, she meets Rayn and her life changes. There is something special about Maddie and the relationship that develops between her and Rayn.

    Survival grabbed my attention from the first pages and never lost it! The story being written from several points of view was great for getting inside each of the characters. Although each of the characters was complex, their points of view were written in a way that was descriptive and concise. The plot was never lost in the details, which was very refreshing.

    This book had it all, drama, suspense, romance, action, mystery and comedy! Everything was written in a way that kept my emotions on quite the ride.

    I can't wait to get my hands on Resurrection!! I need answers to my list of questions, I need to know how things will end up for Maddie, Rayn, and all the others!

    As stated before, Ms. Hargrove has definitely gained a fan in me! I sincerely look forward to reading more about The Guardians of Vesturon!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I am being generous with two stars

    I have the book called Survivor which is broken down to 4 books grouped into 1. I will read practically anything I get my hands on but I could not like this as hard as I tried! The story drags on forever and doesn't get interesting till around page 117! The writing comes across as that of a 12 year old who googles the occassional 'big word' and throws it in. It is quite repetitive in many of the actions and quirks of the characters. The idea behind the story was a great one but the execution was terrible.
    TL;DR: don't waste your time and money.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Uhhg

    It was just ....bad love the originality but the writting is horrid though i see potential in the author they just need to get more expeience

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I like the Paranormal romance type books too. This one kept my attention and was hard to put down. Good book worth the time invested to read. Also read the sequel

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was an excellent beginning to a new and refreshing series. I was captivated from page one and couldn't put it down...literally. I laughed, cried and felt the roller coaster of emotions the characters experienced. The character development was rich and the description of the scenery was magnificent. This is an excellent read for all ages, but it is also a "safe" read for younger readers. No sex or nasty language. I would highly recommend this if you like paranormal romance with a bit of science-fiction and fantasy rolled into one. This book made me want to meet the Guardians--I cannot wait to read Hargrove's next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    :(

    It was awful
    It's like when someone tries to be funny and fails miserably
    I could only get through 2/3s bc i wanted to give it a chance
    It's annoying and the attempts at humor are pitiful
    The story progresses too slowly and lacks good flow
    The author seems to have just tried to cobble two people in "love" with thrill, meaning the psychotic murderer, and other things to try to make a good story......0 stars

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    terrible

    This book reads like a cheesy B-movie. I am having a hard time finishing this book. I keep trudging along hoping to see improvement. But I am beginning to think there is no salvation for this book. I am deleting this from my nook.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Uh...

    No.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Ok

    The book was ok. The main charater was kinda stupid tho

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Recommended

    As the first book in the Series, it was a bit wordy. By the end of the book, it had me wanting to know what happened to the people she introduced. I have bought all of the other books in this series and love them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Scifi action and romance!

    This was a amazing and stupendous... I loved the characters and the storyline. I also loved the cliff hanger ending and how you are always on the edge of your seat when your reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Seriously?!?

    This book is a headache waiting to happen. Between the grammatical errors to the elapses of time, the book supplied me with a painful head.
    The book seemed to have endless dialogue with no break for action points. There also seemed to be a rush to get to the bulk of the book which actually hurt the book, because it meant word ommission and lack of some charater development.
    Honestly I am upset that the reviews I saw didn't seem to reflect that. Note though that I am writing this review only after reading a few chapters, but it is still utterly unbearable. If I can, I intend to write another after completely reading the whole book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Bad

    Ok, seriously! I couldn't even finish this book because the writing was sooo bad. The main character acted like she was stupid and the beginning plot was not believable. Who tells people their whole life story in detail minutes after meeting them????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Survival

    I kind of felt like the author of this book didn't put enough details in the story, even though the book was very long. The author jumped too quickly from one place to another, and because of that, I was a little confused at times... But overall this was a GREAT read, and I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes paranormal romances. Therfore, I give this one a four.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved reading this book, ive read it more than twice already! I wouldn't put it down, and if I did I couldn't wait to get back to it to read the next part! I really recomend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12