Customer Reviews for

Survival, a YA Paranormal Romance (The Guardians of Vesturon Series, Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good YA Read

So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of peopl...
So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of people who provide safety for the people of the particular area where she is located, it is there where she meets Rayn Yarrister, the Guardian of the Vesturon. From that point on their chemistry sizzles and a relationship between the two is inevitable because they are drawn to eachother like a bee to honey!! It is when Rayn risks everything for Maddie that she learns who he really is and learns how deeply he truly feels for her and she is forced to make a choice, let him risk everything important to him for love or walk away from their strong connection to ensure his safety. What will she choose??? I give nothing away because I feel spoilers stink but the scenes that include his brothers and sisters and their interactions with Maddie had me laughing so hard I was nearly in tears! There are plenty of comical scenes, as well as romantic and some hard to get through scenes with her captor. All in all I would say this is a good read, very even paced with a fair amount of action and emotionally driven plots, never a dull moment!! Maddie learns to heal a lot throughout this book and learns to love, as well as how to trust and let down the walls that she has learned to put up due to all the loss she has has endured. I think the author did a great job with making Maddie stay true to her morals even when she is faced with an overly gorgeous and sensual male like Rayn who tempts her constantly, I thought that was rare and I truly found that endearing. That also never happens!! But this was a good read, I love the twisted plot that she has worked into this story and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel to find out just who is behind it and why!!! The Yarristers are hilarious and genuine and Maddie is just truly an all around endearing and motivated lead character, also very comical....good read.

posted by CJ-Hayes on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste time or money

I hate to give negative reviews, but this book is awful. I couldn't get past page 80. The writing, grammar, & character development is childish at best. It's like the author is writing "down" to her audience, yet in certain areas she uses terminology a young adult would...
I hate to give negative reviews, but this book is awful. I couldn't get past page 80. The writing, grammar, & character development is childish at best. It's like the author is writing "down" to her audience, yet in certain areas she uses terminology a young adult would never use. The main character is supposed to be in college, but the dialogue makes her sound 12 at times. Was really looking forward to a good series but was highly disappointed...

posted by HeatherFaz on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Good YA Read

    So we are introduced to Maddie who has had a rough life, losing both her parents before she turns 20, she is then abducted while on a hike....alone!!! While she manages to escape due to survival training she learned from her father, she is discovered by a group of people who provide safety for the people of the particular area where she is located, it is there where she meets Rayn Yarrister, the Guardian of the Vesturon. From that point on their chemistry sizzles and a relationship between the two is inevitable because they are drawn to eachother like a bee to honey!! It is when Rayn risks everything for Maddie that she learns who he really is and learns how deeply he truly feels for her and she is forced to make a choice, let him risk everything important to him for love or walk away from their strong connection to ensure his safety. What will she choose??? I give nothing away because I feel spoilers stink but the scenes that include his brothers and sisters and their interactions with Maddie had me laughing so hard I was nearly in tears! There are plenty of comical scenes, as well as romantic and some hard to get through scenes with her captor. All in all I would say this is a good read, very even paced with a fair amount of action and emotionally driven plots, never a dull moment!! Maddie learns to heal a lot throughout this book and learns to love, as well as how to trust and let down the walls that she has learned to put up due to all the loss she has has endured. I think the author did a great job with making Maddie stay true to her morals even when she is faced with an overly gorgeous and sensual male like Rayn who tempts her constantly, I thought that was rare and I truly found that endearing. That also never happens!! But this was a good read, I love the twisted plot that she has worked into this story and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel to find out just who is behind it and why!!! The Yarristers are hilarious and genuine and Maddie is just truly an all around endearing and motivated lead character, also very comical....good read.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    This is a great YA book

    I had a little bit of a hard time getting through the first part of this book, the stories timeline was a little confusing with how it bounced around at times I had to backtrack to figure out that we had switched scenes again. The switching between characters and times got smoother as the story advanced, I also think it improved for me when the plot picked up speed and we got more into some of the action sequences. It was at this point that I got really engrossed in Maddie's and Rayn's story. I really enjoyed getting to read the story from both of their perspectives, and seeing that the feelings were just as strong from the beginning for both of them. This author has a way of writing that really brought out the emotions and turmoil that the characters were feeling and making me feel them too. This book is an emotional roller coaster ride you kinda just have to hold on and hope you don't fall off. I think the author tried to embed some really good morality lessons into her story, and the belief that the Rayn has in the deity is refreshing the author brings God into her book but not in an overbearing preachy way. While I was reading it I kept thinking this is a great way to get an alternative choices out to a YA market without making it overwhelming. The romance was intense with out having to bring sex into it and both main characters have made choices to wait until marriage, even so the author was able to put across the intense feelings these two have for each other. Over all I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to book two in the series.
    I received this book as a free book from the author for a fair review. Thanks for the entertaining read. :)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Survival

    I kind of felt like the author of this book didn't put enough details in the story, even though the book was very long. The author jumped too quickly from one place to another, and because of that, I was a little confused at times... But overall this was a GREAT read, and I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes paranormal romances. Therfore, I give this one a four.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved reading this book, ive read it more than twice already! I wouldn't put it down, and if I did I couldn't wait to get back to it to read the next part! I really recomend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great read! Writer should be getting paid for this!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Great book!!!

    It was a little boring in the beginning but over all a very addicting series so far. I think there was too many flash-backs in the beginning, i mean you would learn something about maddie and then there was a flash-back! I believe some of the flash-backs are just not needed, and it would help make the beginning better. Besides that the prologue was a great cliff-hanger, and really hooked me into reading this book. I cannot wait to read the next one!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Interesting New Sci-Fi Series

    Maddie Pearce is a young girl all alone in the world. Both of her parents were taken away from her
    before the age of 19. It leaves her a bit lost and numb as you would expect. Thank goodness for college and good friends. But while hiking by herself on Christmas, Maddie's life is changed forever. She becomes the target of a crazed serial killer, meets an ancient society of healers and gorgeous Guardian named Rayn that draws her like a moth to a flame. Nothing in her life will ever be the same.

    This was such a unique and interesting story. I felt like it was a bit rushed in the beginning, trying to get us caught up on her backstory, and Rayn's, but I think that's part of it being a first book in a series. I always say that first books are the hardest to get into because they have to establish the characters, their background story, their histories, etc. But I'm happy to say that once the book got past that and really hit the main story it was really good.

    I was worried about Maggie being such a young girl and having never been in a real relationship before, never wanting to be in a real relationship before, and now she was suddenly head over heels for Rayn. But she proved to be very level-headed and it was handled very well. Rayn and his family were unique and fun. I really enjoyed the Sharbabble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great new series!

    This book was so full of emotion. I laughed, I cried (yep, really did), and then laughed some more!

    The characters were well thought out, each with their own personality and each easily identified, which was important in the last chapters where we get different points of view all thrown in together. Surprisingly, the author did a terrific job with that, and it was not confusing at all. You always knew who was speaking all the time; that's sometimes hard to do.

    The main character, Maddie, was fun and seemingly carefree, but she had some hurts to get past, namely losing her mom and dad, and really kept her emotions and feelings bottled up. She was so easy to like and so easy to relate to. I felt there were inconsistencies with Maddie's character, though, in that at times she seemed so strong and fiery, able to stand up for herself, and other times it was like she was the one from another planet and too immature for the character that had being built.

    Rayn was sweet and caring, definitely a guy you could fall in love with. I loved reading from his point of view the best. He loves Maddie so much but is so conflicted over his feelings for her. In the end, you know that he would do anything for her.

    I love having different points of view in a story, and Survival did not disappoint. The author did a great job of transitioning from one point of view to the next without being confusing. The only thing I really did not like was when we switched from Maddie's to Rayn's point of view for the first time we went back and had to re-read everything that had already happened all over again, this time from a different perspective. While that is not always a bad thing, I think that in this book it did not really change anything about the story or give us any new information, other than maybe show us Rayn's feelings for Maddie, which could have been done without going back so far.

    One thing that was absolutely amazing in this book was the imagery. The descriptions of the scenery, the mountains, etc., was so beautiful, I wished I was there. The author did a great job creating this world, and even though I'm not a hiker, I could picture the mountains and trails in my head as I was reading.

    I really enjoyed the author's writing style. It was simple and easy, which went well with the flow of the story. My only real complaint about this book would be…the end! I cannot believe we were left hanging! Good thing the next book in the series is now out!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great read

    Wonderful characters The book is more entrancing as you read ! I THROUGHLY enjoyed it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Add me kaykaydwight@gmail.com

    This book was good had a nice ending it got alil boring after a while but then picked bk up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    This book

    This book was great the only downer is that the author should have continued with the book and not ended it thatway :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Recommended

    As the first book in the Series, it was a bit wordy. By the end of the book, it had me wanting to know what happened to the people she introduced. I have bought all of the other books in this series and love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    an ending that will leave you eager for book 2

    This book was a struggle for me to read throughout most of the book. There were several parts that I thought weren't really necessary...like her whole collage life at the beginning of the book. A lot of the scenes were continuous talking and talking and talking. I think if the author did a little more showing and little less talking it would have been better; at least in my opinion. I seriously thought about putting it down for some time and maybe revisiting it at a later date. But a good friend told me to hang with it...that the story would definitely be worth it.

    And this is where we get to the part I love. I absolutely loved the ending. So much so, I am eager to see what happens to Maddie and Rayn in RESURRECTION. And the twist that happened towards the end? WHOA! I so did not see that coming. Well I might have, but thought I was having crazy thoughts so I let it go. And then BAM! Hargrove was like 'Oh yeah I went there…you weren’t imagining things'. But I will admit I am a little worried about a love triangle. Guess we have to wait and see.

    Some of my favorite scenes were from Rayn’s POV. Woo boy do I love me some Rayn. He stole the show and made the book worth reading. But I wasn’t entirely fond of Maddie. She seemed a little too flaky and clumsy for me. I am hoping as the series goes on, she will grow on me. Oh and I absolutely loved Rayn’s sister, Sharra. Poor gal, she butchered all of my favorite American slang phrases. But it was hilarious to hear her try and say them. When corrected she would brush it off and keep going.

    Yes, the book starts slow…but hang with it!! I promise you will be happy you did and love that ending as much as I did. Cause here I am, after finishing the book, and I am completely giddy and excited with anticipation for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    a very good read

    this was a book i couldn't put down to the author please continue on with the next series. i can't wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Enjoyed this

    I think the couple bucks for the sequel will be worth it to find out what happens, but I hate that they made her so clumsy in the end :/

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    ¿¿¿ 4.5... First of all, I love how the book is broken up into

    ¿¿¿ 4.5... First of all, I love how the book is broken up into 4 'mini'
    books. Bringing with it a change in perspective, as well as with every
    few chapters the change in P.O.V. We have a set of characters for each
    'book' that it can change P.O.V to, it does include setting changes as
    well. While we are in the protagonist, Maddie's point of view, we get
    left with her either speaking formally as the Guardians do, or in her
    usual American slang. It's weird to switch formalities so many times. it
    is random as well, sometimes she feels as if she needs to speak
    formally, whereas others it seems like she lets go the control out of
    her tone and language that she can actually be herself and not ahve to
    speak as mature as she is, especially without her parents we see her
    desire to prove she is mature. However, it is her actions that defines
    her as this, not so much as by the formality in her tone. (Yes, there is
    some, but her use of American slang does not diminish this.) Another
    thing I love about this book is how, even though we mainly see and know
    more than Maddie, we expect everything that happens as well as come to
    more understanding when she finds out, as we are given more information
    about certain topics in the book when she finds out about it. Although
    not much of a big fan of the unexpected seeing as we know most things
    that happen, but I love the way that we are hanging onto the information
    we already know and try to guess for it to strike Maddie's life. This
    also includes the meaning and story behind the occurrence. When we are
    in the brothers' perspective, we see that Maddie starts to get annoying
    with everything that she does to try and help. It brings light to the
    story as well as the added laugh, and is there as a bit of fluff (if you
    get what I mean), yet the fluff is not particularly noticable, we would
    miss this bit of it were taken out. This brings a new side to Maddie's
    character that we start to discover along with the brothers. ¿¿We feel
    sorry for Rayne and Maddie and their complicated relationship. Awww,
    forbidden love! it will never cease to exist (well, it does make for a
    good story). Sometimes, however, we feel that everyone in the book only
    cares about looks and calling each other "hot" and "drop
    dead gorgeous", which does annoy me because to me they are terms
    that don't express or convey any actual feelings and emotions like for
    in the context it was brought into. Like I previously explained, the
    book is majorly predictable (although this is without being shown/told
    the information/situation). Yet it still doesn't quite annoy us as much
    as many others do because there are other elements brought into the
    scene that still make it interesting to read and push through. At the
    end of the book, a lot of questions are still left unanswered, making us
    anxious to read the second novel. The cliffhanger at the end makes me
    suspect that book 2, could lead onto 'mini' book 5?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    This book kind of rocks, folks! I usually don't go for the scie

    This book kind of rocks, folks! I usually don't go for the science
    fiction thing, as I enjoy paranormal and urban fantasy. This book was
    definitely an exception:) The main character, Maddie has had a rough
    go of things. I mean, how could you not feel for the poor chick.
    Having to endure the death of not one, but two parents is beyond
    imaginable. Her coping mechanism is to build a carefully erected wall
    around herself, to keep everyone out. She couldn't go through that kind
    of loss again. I admired Maddie for taking a chance and opening up to
    her roommate Cat. She turned out to be a great friend, even if only for
    a brief time in Maddie's life. Then the unthinkable happens. Maddie
    just can't catch a break. A psychopath on the loose kidnaps her and
    slowly begins his relentless torture. It's a miracle she still has her
    mind by this point. She's such a strong and tenacious person. Then she
    meets him. Dude, as you could expect, sparks fly. She is drawn to this
    mystery guy that seems to demand respect from those around him. It is
    kind of sexy. Once Maddie realizes the truth, she takes everything in
    stride and embraces her new path in life. She suffers still from her
    attack and puts such a positive spin on things. Then she travels to the
    unknown and everything she has ever known changes. I don't want to give
    away too much, I just want to say this book was made of awesome sauce.
    It is the first book in a series and a great start at that. It's free
    and you can't go wrong with giving it a chance. Peeps, you will totally
    love it! This is a young adult paranormal romance and I highly
    recommend this read to older teens and new adults, alike. I give this
    intriguing read four glittery stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I was furnished with a free copy of this book in exchange for an

    I was furnished with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***

    It took me a while to read this - no fault of the book - just circumstances. I read the whole book this weekend, because it had been some time and I wanted to give it a fair shot. I am so glad I did! It was so good... I found myself flying through the pages and enjoying every word of this romantic story. Not happy with the cliff-hanger ending, but happy with the rest. This is a very good book, and I can't wait to read the next one in the series! Rayn and Maddie are now on my favorite couples list. When you read Survival, I believe they will be on your list, too. The other Guardians are Rayn's siblings, and I can't wait for their books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    hilghly recommended

    fast read interesting characters will get the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Hvdjgctj

    Best line of the whole book?
    Maddie thinking to herself: "The only thing that bothers me is you... yeah... hot and bothered."
    I definitely lol'd. Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3