Customer Reviews for

Survive

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Really good book!!!!

    I really loved reading this and it effects you on such an emotional level. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    A fast read that hits you in the feels

    I read this book in less then two days. This novel is nothing like anything i have ever read before- it was depressing to read bout this chracter who faced her life with such a struggle that she planned to kill herself on a plane,

    action packed- jane finds her annoying seat partner alive and they face all odds to try to survive, to

    A tad of romance between the characters- unexpected but completly undeniably perfect.

    Tear jerking saddness when tragedy strikes and tears them apart. I didnt think this book was going to make me question my life the way it did, or make me cry out of frustration, fear, and sadness at the story continued.
    I will forever have a spot in my heart for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Survive by Alex Morel, was a great book. I think that people sho

    Survive by Alex Morel, was a great book. I think that people should read this book because it was amazing and it did not bore me at any time. I was always on the edge of my seat thinking about what’s coming next. I agree with other posts when they say it’s a “must read” because it truly is. It is really suspenseful. The subject of this Novel was an airplane crash that brings people together. A group of people are on an airplane and it crashes in the snow. They are all cold and hungry. They then try to survive with what they have and there are a few tragedies that occur. It is in first person view. I like this point of view because I can see what she is thinking and what she feels and sees but I don’t like this because I don’t know how the other characters are thinking and feeling. My favorite character is Jane because she’s a hard working woman that always looks out for everyone else. I also really like Jane because in tough situations she always figured out what to do. I think that if I was in that situation, I wouldn’t be able to do what she did when helping peter and others because she was always there for them and she is the reason she survived. “Could this be heaven? Hell?” (Morel 253) is my favorite quote because it really shows how Jane survived a huge crash and now knows that she is safe and sound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    .

    Great book, loved the survival theme plus the story its self was really good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Mak

    Waits...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    great book I loved it until the very end hated the ending made m

    great book I loved it until the very end hated the ending made me wish I had never read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

           Jane got my attention right away because I have had menta

           Jane got my attention right away because I have had mental health problems as well, and I am fascinated with reading this type book. I was intrigued at how someone could go from wanting to kill themselves to fighting tooth and nail to survive after a plane crash. I don't know how much has to do with control of when and how, or actually just having that near death experience that kicked her survival instinct in gear. 
           Her relationship and interactions with Paul are all meaningful and escalated because of the situation that they find themselves in. There is no time to be coy, hide things, or to really sort out emotions. They are faced with so many things that could end their life or the others' that they are feeling everything on multiply and then to the extreme. 
          Jane herself is witty and intense. It was definitely a unique experience being inside her head. I first didn't want to like her, but I ended up as she grew and learned to appreciate life. 




    Bottom Line: Survive is an action packed, emotional no holds barred kind of book that I did not look away from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    great book

    great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Survive

    I had high hopes for this one. It just sounded like it might have an edge and grittiness that other books don't have. It is about a suicidal teen and a plane crash after all. It wasn't all that I hoped for.

    I couldn't decide how to feel about Jane. I was expecting a deeply troubled girl with an extreme emotional state. But, I didn't get that at all. In fact, it seems like she blames her suicidal tendencies on family history. Mental illness like depression might have families links, but suicide does not I believe. Thankfully we skip right over that and find a girl who really has a desire to live. There are so many instances were she could take the easy way out, but she never does. I think it would take an extremely strong desire to live to get through the situation she's put in.

    I think the really strong point of this novel is Paul. He really seems to put Jane through the steps. He pushes her boundaries and makes her see things in a new light. She didn't need therapy, she needed someone like Paul (and maybe a life or death situation). I admired him for that considering he had troubles of his own.

    The actual survival part of this story was not as intense as I had imagined. Jane's does it with little more effort than the show Man vs. Wild. I really doubt that average person can do this. And who survives a plane crash while they are in the bathroom? There were just a few scenarios that I found not very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    A bit predictable but still a good read

    Predictable but still a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1