Customer Reviews for

Surviving Antarctica: Reality TV 2083

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Surprising

I was surprised after I read this book.I bought it because it was on my school's reading list, so of course I believed it would be boring.But infact it was the opposite, I enjoyed this book all the way through.It only took my one day to read it, because I wnated to fine...
I was surprised after I read this book.I bought it because it was on my school's reading list, so of course I believed it would be boring.But infact it was the opposite, I enjoyed this book all the way through.It only took my one day to read it, because I wnated to fine out what happened next.Over all this book is a noteworthy piece.

posted by mysocalledgothlife on December 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Book for younger kids...

I thought this book sounded really interesting at first, but as I got into it I was really disappointed. The dialogue was very simple and didn't add to the characters at all. The characters also seemed incredibly simplistic and 1-sided. Some of the action didn't seem be...
I thought this book sounded really interesting at first, but as I got into it I was really disappointed. The dialogue was very simple and didn't add to the characters at all. The characters also seemed incredibly simplistic and 1-sided. Some of the action didn't seem believable and the ending was abrupt. For younger kids (grades K-5, maybe) the book might be more interesting. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, age 10 or over, who is looking for a somewhat sophisticated science fiction novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprising

    I was surprised after I read this book.I bought it because it was on my school's reading list, so of course I believed it would be boring.But infact it was the opposite, I enjoyed this book all the way through.It only took my one day to read it, because I wnated to fine out what happened next.Over all this book is a noteworthy piece.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing book!!

    I recomend this book to anyone looking for a good book. I couldnt stop reading and i fell in love with the characters instantly. I got mad at some points feeling like i was right inside the book with the caracters on their journey.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Not that good.....

    Just kidding. This book was amazing. I literally couldn't put the book down. My teacher took it away because I wasn't paying attention. Recomended for any one who likes adventure and action.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Imagine a world where there are no public schools and only the extremely rich can afford to go to high school and beyond. Those not fortunate enough to be wealthy have to rely on "The Toss" that occurs once a year. All the fourteen-year-old teens gather for their opportunity to roll the dice. If the correct combination comes up (which changes for every person), they are awarded a scholarship for continued schooling. If you don't roll the correct combination, there is no education in your future. <BR/><BR/>For all children younger than fourteen, school consists of television. Programming is Historical Simulation Reality Shows, similar to today's Survivor. People are put in scenarios such as Civil War battles, the Alamo, and Egyptian Pyramid building. Intermingled with the show are quizzes about content and vocabulary. <BR/><BR/>This is the world five young people find themselves in during the year 2083. All five fourteen-year-old teens have lost their toss and can't afford to pay their own way through high school and college. So, when they see an advertisement offering a chance to participate in the latest survival show--this one involving kids instead of adults--they waste no time putting in their application for Historical Antarctica Survivor. Everyone that makes it to the end of the journey receives $10,000--enough for a year of high school. The person voted Most Valuable Player by the viewers will receive an additional $90,000. <BR/><BR/>After receiving a few days of snow and ice survival training, the kids take off for their adventure. As soon as they arrive at the Antarctic though, they understand just how dangerous the trip is going to be. Alone in the icy wilderness, the kids must survive natural and orchestrated calamities in order to make it to the end of the game. With the aid of an unlikely helper, the kids just might make it through. <BR/><BR/>Andrea White creates an interesting look at a possible future society. SURVIVING ANTARCTICA: REALITY TV 2083 is an exciting page-turner. Once the reader begins the story, they won't mind being snowed in until they finish.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Dreamclaw

    How about Yum result five

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome

    You guys have to read Windows on the World, too.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I liked it

    I liked this book, although it got a little annoying switching the chararcters. Maybe a little too short. Wished the ending had more details. Very good overall.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Great idea for a story

    What could be next for reality TV? Mars? The bottom of the ocean? How about the South Pole? This is a great book for teenagers and adults. It takes the characters a while to get to Antarctica, but then things really begin to happen!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Book for younger kids...

    I thought this book sounded really interesting at first, but as I got into it I was really disappointed. The dialogue was very simple and didn't add to the characters at all. The characters also seemed incredibly simplistic and 1-sided. Some of the action didn't seem believable and the ending was abrupt. For younger kids (grades K-5, maybe) the book might be more interesting. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, age 10 or over, who is looking for a somewhat sophisticated science fiction novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Amazing

    Oh my gosh, i absolutley loved this book! When i first read it, i was super confused by the multiple POVs but as i got deeper into it, the more i understood and liked ot. READ IT RIGHT NOW, SERIOUSLY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Awsome book!

    10/5 stars. That is all I need to say about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    A fast moving story of future dystopian U.S. Lots of interestin

    A fast moving story of future dystopian U.S. Lots of interesting details on how society has changed was one of the most interesting parts of the book (Secretary Of Entertainment, tv learning for kids). Good teen characters, each with skills &amp; weaknesses. Ending was a bit rushed and I wish they had stayed with the journey until the end vs. going back to the U.S. mainland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    MEEMZ

    My class is reading this book right now and it seems really good I wentahead and read the end it was really suprising but wish the authour hadwriten about robert and grace at the pole she should havewritten an epilouge about them at the end then it would be my favorite book.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    StripedfeTher

    Im there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Slow but great

    The book is agood book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    The greatest book ever

    This book i read in third grade for the bluebonnet reading club and it was the book i chose to get for reading all the books in the list! My reading books and the love of literature comes from this book! Nothing more can make me doubt or even rethink about recommending thus book to a friend. I cant wit to read this book again now that i have this book for my nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great book

    This author really shouls write some more of these. She could write about when grace and robert reach the pole. This book reminds me so much of the hunger games series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    By likeaboss272 on xboxlive

    Great book but not my faveorite

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Great!!!

    Hunger games: this book Milk: cats

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    I must say...

    I think this book is pretty good,but it seems to end way to fast,I mean, they don't even make it to the first depot!Those poor horses....and I wonder what happened afterwards how two kids stayed in Antarctica... though you don't find out about what happens...and then what did the kids do with their money?Did Polly go on to get a better education?I HAVE TO KNOW!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3