Customer Reviews for

Surviving Hitler: A Boy in the Nazi Death Camps

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Real life

I really think this is a fantastic book and its sad to Know that some kids have been through this before and thats what hurts the most I think. I`ve read a book like this once before and its called Daniel`s Story I just hope you can read it beacause its an experiance yo...
I really think this is a fantastic book and its sad to Know that some kids have been through this before and thats what hurts the most I think. I`ve read a book like this once before and its called Daniel`s Story I just hope you can read it beacause its an experiance you will never forget!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fuck...

Tender

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Real life

    I really think this is a fantastic book and its sad to Know that some kids have been through this before and thats what hurts the most I think. I`ve read a book like this once before and its called Daniel`s Story I just hope you can read it beacause its an experiance you will never forget!!!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    A Young Boy's Innocence Lost Forever

    Since the genocide of the Jews during WWII can be a lot for some children to handle, this book would be a great classroom tool because it is not too detailed or overwhelmingly graphic. While it is important that children know what horrible things happened in Europe there is a time in their life that they only need to get the main picture and they don't need to be traumatized. This book is an inspiring story of Jack, a young boy who survived one of Hitler's concentration camps without his family. It talks of the daily struggle that the poor souls in the concentration camps had to face including the poor living conditions, lack of food, and physical danger.This book is suggested for grades 5-8.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Nightmares

    I now could probably read this know but i read it when I was like 9 and I had nightmares. I couldn't sleep! But I just read night and I was fine. Night by Elie wiesel is really good.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Is this book for kids 12

    Is this book ok for 12 year olds?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Fuck...

    Tender

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    an outstanding book

    I think this book was very interesting and I would recamend this book to any one who would like to read about the Zazis concentration camp. At first when I started to read this book I thoght it was boring but then I got to the realyinteresting part and continued the book and read it alot more and enjoid it so like I said id recamend it to any one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    a breath taking story

    this book really is amazing. its about a boy who survives a nazi concentration camp after being seperated from his family. he goes through many battles and makes friends along the way. he finds ways to survive and feels for the others who cant. its a nice, short, excellect read about the survival of a boy in a nazi death camp.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Playing the game of the death camp.

    The main character is a boy named Jack Mandelbaum, and he is Jewish. Jack lived in Gdynia, Poland in 1939. At 12 years old, he liked to collect stamps and imagine the far away places they came from. He was also sneaky about swimming in the bay next to the ships with his friends. Jack was the middle child in a family of five. He had an older sister and a younger brother. Jack loved his family very much. The book is about Germans putting Jews in concentration camps. They accomplished this by over powering the Jews and making them afraid. The Germans who did this were called Nazis and were followers of Hitler. Jews on the other hand were learning to survive Hitlers army. Jack made his experiences in the death camp like a game, and was determined to win against Hitler. Losers of the game were sent to the gas chambers. Winners would not only survive but make life long friendships with others in the death camps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    What a awsome book!

    I thought this book was a good Holocaust story. It was sad that Jack had to go through the Holocaust. It is sad that people go through things like genocide. But it also gave you hope even in the worst situation. Everyone should read books about the Holocaust. Its very intresting to learn about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A book that touches your heart!

    This outstanding book is a true account because Jack takes the reader back into time to tell us the harsh truths behind the holocaust. This outstanding book falls in the category history. In the beginning Jack tells his sorrowful and woeful story about how he and his family were in the Nazi Concentration Camp. In the middle of the book some of Jack's friends and he himself explain the hardships the faced and how unfortunately their dear ones died in this horrible event. Towards the end it happens to be that Jack tells you that sometimes 'Life just isn't as easy as it seems!' The book's strengths are it acknowledges you about a time in history were Adolph Hitler changes the way Jews live, for example it talks about the time where Adolph asked his men to do horrible things that hurt a lot of Jews. Furthermore, the book's weakness is, it is a very emotional book that can weaken about anybody's heart. The weakest part of the book is when Jack gets himself and his family dragged to the Concentration Camp. I would personally recommend this book to older people like somewhere around the age of 9, because some parts in here might be a little painful for little kids. I would not recommend this book to a 7 year old, because it has some starvation pictures that might frighten the younger people. Otherwise, this is a wonderful book to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Why not call this Book the Best Book?

    This book is a awsome book, it tell you about History and about a man great and sad life. When your reading this book it feels like you are going through out his life day by day. I really, really recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Amazing

    I love this book. I read this book a million times, brcaise its so amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is sort of sad, but its my favorite part of history to read about. Its a really good story, and it is worth the money!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Really good book! Read it twice.

    Really good book! Read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Grate

    Assom book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Great

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    A boys Triumph through his religions tragedy

    He was in a terrible time but through it all he had faith and lead him to victory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    MUST READ

    THE SURVIVORS ARE NOT GONG TO BE WITH US MUCH LONGER AND WE NEED TO REMEMBER THEIR STORIES SO THIS CAN NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Love

    Emoitional but great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    An Outstanding book!

    I thought the book Survivng Hitler was an awesome book. Its about a boy named Jack Menelbaum. He was taken by the Nazis so he could do slave labor. The only people in his family who survived were his uncle and a few of his cousins. Its a good book for everyone to read, even if your not into history as much as I am. This book like all holocaust storys teaches everyone not to let history repeat itself, even though in other parts of the world it is happening.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Wonderful History

    Surviving Hitler By Andrea Warren First of all, I think that Surviving Hitler is a very good book. The book is about Jack Mandlebaum, who is a boy who is trying to survive in the Nazi death camps. This is a hard book to classify because it is based on a true story about a real person. I think that not all the parts of the story are true. Some parts seem to be too coincidental, and I thought it might be missing some parts of what really happened. Maybe this was because the things that happened were too horrible for a children¿s book. I think I would classify it as a biography. One good point about this book is that it features pictures on some of the pages. I find this very valuable in helping me to understand what the characters in the book are undergoing. For example, I understood the part when they were forced to work in a quarry while they were in the death camps much better because I saw the picture. This book helped me understand this time period in history. Another good point is that the main character of the book is real. I think it helps you realize that all of the horrible things that happened in the book are real. One of the bad parts about this book is the point of view. The book is written in first person for the first part of the book, and then it switches to something like a documentary, almost. The other bad part about the book, I found, was that there isn¿t much dialogue. I greatly recommend this book to readers that like to read about history. It is an interesting way to learn about a horrible time in the world¿s past. I think children should read about this stuff because it helps you to realize how bad the world really is. If they know, then the world will be a better place because they won¿t want that to happen again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2