Customer Reviews for

Surviving Off Off-Grid: Decolonizing the Industrial Mind

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    A Must Read for All Christians - and those that just want to live free.

    I'll admit, I have not read the book in its entirety yet as I just bought it last night. I am however a third of the way through and have yet to read anything I disagree with.

    This book will make you think and question everything you've been taught your entire life from society to religion. It's become required reading at my home and now I'm trying to catch up on the authors podcasts at the same time I'm reading the book.

    Buy the book, you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It's not "a what to do" bu

    I really enjoyed this book. It's not "a what to do" but more "a how to think" book. I find this book challenging. It defies many of the preconceived notions of post-modern thinking. It sets up a foundational claim against the established status quo. It's a book that I am beginning to read again and to consider the stipulated implications with more insight. Whether you agree or disagree with the premise of the authors philosophy the practical applications for daily living and sustenance for the survival of a culture are significant. I recommend this book to anyone minutely interested in sufficiency at any level even if it's just to build a more solid case against the assertions stated by the author. Nothing lasts forever, all civilizations eventually disappear, there needs to be more voices at the table because our current way of life of ever increasing consumption and greed is detrimental to all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I can only recommend the following chapters in this book: 5, 6,

    I can only recommend the following chapters in this book: 5, 6, 7, 10, and parts of 12 and 13.  In those chapters the author stops "philosophizing" long enough to actually tell his story of this homesteading experience.  Having been reared in West Texas myself, I can tell you that said philosophizing is what I heard most of my life:  primarily of Bible verses taken out of context, name-calling, and the denigration of people whose only experience in life has been to participate in the culture in which they were raised.  When Mr. Bunker begins to tell his own homesteading story, there is a touch of humor and humility, as well as celebration of what was learned and what went well.  If only this book could have confined itself to that, it would have been quite useful.  West Texans typically want to be led, not pushed.  If Mr. Bunker wants to be a leader in the homesteading movement, he needs to tell his story and leave the denigration and name-calling behind.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of the most thought provoking books I have read in recent years. As explained in the text, How to Think, is far more important than how to do when moving away from our current suicidal political and economic systems. I am telling everyone I know a bout this book. Well done Michael Bunker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    If you have lived in the city your whole life you need to read this book

    I have lived in the city my whole life and after reading Michael Bunkers book it has definitely changed the way that I think about electricity, and how I get my food and water. It has also has made me think about how much we rely on the worlds system for basicly everything and how it could be gone in seconds like in Japan. This is not necessarily a "How to" book but it will definitely change the way you think about the basic things in life. Anyone like me who has lived it the city their whole life should buy this book. It will open your eyes and change the way you see the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Absolutely profound...practical, thoughtful, inspiring...

    This is one of the most profound books I've read in years. It directly applies to current world events as well as the history of the last century. It provides answers and hope. Practical, thoughtful, inspiring, and challenging...it caused me to think about things in ways I've never considered before. The book goes into some "how" but more importantly the "why" and "what now" - which the author defines as "Decolonizing the mind". It is about a new way of thinking. This isn't your typical survival book. This book essentially states that survival isn't just about making it through to when things are "normal" (as in the case of short-term survival with power outages, etc.) but rather a way of life that is sustainable and better. A way of life free from slavery to "the grid" (power, debt, consumerism). This book explores the way of life of prior generations, the founders of this nation, and people for thousands of years before that. There is so much useful content to this book that it is hard to summarize. Some of the key parts I appreciated were: 1. A historical background of prior civilizations such as Greece and Rome and their relevance to industrialized nations today. 2. How to analyze whether the benefits of a given technology outweigh the dependence and slavery required to maintain it. 3. The author is intellectually honest about his faith and where he is coming from so you can make an informed decision about the information he provides. 4. Several self-help tests to show you your level of slavery and dependence on the grid system. 5. A very personal story of the author's grandmother that strikes a chord with the situation many of us have faced or will face with our loved ones in an urban/industrial/consumer way of life. 6. Particularly fascinating for me was a chapter on land that involved an example for how an "off off-grid" community could form, expand, and thrive together. 7. Some moments of humor throughout. The author is not afraid to make fun of some of his attempts to move "off off-grid" for your benefit (and so you can learn from his mistakes). 8. Surviving Off Off-Grid goes into intermediate steps for moving out of the system. 9. There are some interesting ideas about how some specialization is good in agrarian/off-grid life (i.e. - not everyone is a farmer). That people can absolutely use the skills they are gifted with in an "off off-grid" life. The problem today is that most people are hyper specialized into uselessness (...including myself). This book is about a revolution in your mind that will eventually lead to a revolution in the way you live. It is about freedom and hope...and leaving behind a system that is falling apart. I ordered several extra copies of the book for family and friends because I want them to see how things were, how they are, and what they could be if we return to the old paths. I included a chapter listing below for those who may want to see it: Ch 1 - Defining Terms Ch 2 - Revolution C 3 - Something Must Be Done Ch 4 - Debt Slavery Ch 5 - The Grid Ch 6 - Light and Heat Ch 7 - Cool Stuff Ch 8 - Land... Of The Free Ch 9 - Different Strokes Ch 10 - Water Ch 11 - Food, Part 1 Ch12 - Food, Part 2 Ch 13 - Food, Part 3 Ch 14 - Preserving the Harvest Ch 15 - Building Ch 16 - Answering Objections

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    A must buy!!!

    This is literally a life changing book and I don't mean that figuratively!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Prepare to be Shaken.

    This review is from: Surviving Off Off-Grid: Decolonizing the Industrial Mind (Paperback)
    If you think you know all about surviving off grid, you need this book. If you don't know anything about surviving off grid, you need this book! Bunker brings some fresh insight in to the "separatist movement" that is starting to gain momentum in this country. Don't look for it to tell you everything you need to do to live off the land, it is more of a why to than a how to book. Sure, there are several chapters that cover food storage, gardening, construction tips and finances, but the great thing about "Surviving Off Off-Grid" is the way it makes you think about everything you thought was right in a whole new way. The mind is the most valuable tool anyone has and Mr. Bunker will really give yours a tune-up. You will be edified and challenged as you are shown what can happen if you seek the old paths and dare to return to a lifestyle that our forefathers enjoyed and the true freedom that comes with living in obedience to God the way the Bible describes, not the way the modernist church espouses. This book will shake you up and probably make a lot of people mad, but it will also change and save some lives too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Back to God - Back to the Land

    In "Surviving Off Off-Grid," Mr. Bunker begins by taking you through a history of past cultures, their movements away from the land to specialized societies centered in metropolises, and the downfall of those cultures as a result. Once he's shown in history these failures, and compared them in their drastic similarities to current day, especially in the United States, he offers a solution, which actually isn't a new one: it's back to the old paths (Jer 6:16), how it used to be, how God instituted work: he takes you back to the land, back to an agrarian culture and society.

    In it, Mr. Bunker describes how people lived before industrialism. He describes how it is possible to live growing your own food, making your own clothes, and drinking water from your own reservoirs. He covers land and farming methods; preserving food, even without canning; storing food for long-term storage; building various types of buildings involved in sustainable living, like green-houses, living quarters (that are developed according to climate), root cellars, barns, etc.; how to have light and heat without electricity; and other information. At the end of the book, he answers common objections to this life-style and worldview.

    This book is not a book detailing specific how-tos -- it deals more with the philosophy and generalities of the how-tos, why living this way should be done, and how it has been done in the past. It is more about engaging the minds of people to hopefully see that there is another way to look at their lives and the world around them.

    Do you consider yourself a preparedness person? You need to read this book. Has your financial situation only become worse over time, and are you in debt? You need to read this book. Have you had grandparents or great-grandparents that talked of a different time around the farm? Do you try to eat organic foods and stay away from processed foods? Do you see the world around you as just how things are, and haven't considered it may not be the best for you and your family? You need to read this book.

    It is my prayer the Lord will use Mr. Bunker's "Surviving Off Off-Grid" book as a means to enlighten those whom He will; and, in the process, bring glory to His name in revealing more of Himself and His will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Challenging the status quo in a bold, old way!

    Surviving Off Off-Grid is the best new book I've read in a long time and has earned it's place right next to my Bible and my vintage dictionary as a life-reference. Michael Bunker has done an outstanding job combining excellent historical background with practical information using enough humility and humor to let the reader know he's not just making this up. It will be a life changer and a daring wake-up call for those who can see the wisdom in questioning society and the world around us and who are brave enough to trade living materially for living abundantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    An excellent book!

    An excellent book. A mind opening, inspiring and encouraging work offering real solutions that could solve a bunch of world's problems, beginning with ourselves. People all over the world are revolting against powers that be, against unemployment, against their future (dead sure) poverty, thinking that the problem is in their leaders, thinking that changing them will make a change, while never stopping for a second to think they are a part of the problem, never stopping to think that their whole way of life, consumer's life, has made them so dependable on the system (food, heat, water), like a baby is on its mother, that they have indeed in the last century become children who cannot take care of themselves. Mr. Bunker in this book brings hope to all the lost children of this industrialized and unsustainable world so they could become real men and women able to take care of themselves and their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1