Customer Reviews for

Surviving the Applewhites

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Applewhites

Such a great book!!!!!!!!I love it. Read the second!!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I Disliked This Book.

Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every...
Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every other school he had been to. After he moves in to his room he gets introduced to everything and gets started on his new life. As he sits around a young boy named Destiny Applewhite annoys him. Jake makes the comment that he has to make this life work out because they had nowhere else to send him besides a Juvenile center. E.d Applewhite dislikes Jake because she believes he¿s not going to make it work out for everyone including himself.
One of the older Applewhites is Zedediah Applewhite and he is directing ¿The Sound of Music¿ and gets very frustrated over things like being late and having to put up with everyone. As the Sound of music go¿s on the two teens E.d Applewhite and Jake Semple finally get there¿s more to life. I disliked this book because it didn¿t interest me. In this book some things were ok but I didn¿t like most of it. I like certain parts like were E.d took Jake out to capture pictures of butterfly¿s. This book may be interesting to you if you¿re a reader and you just don¿t care what you read. Surviving the Applewhites was a good thing to read as it tells us about what it¿s like for a boy going through the bad stage.

posted by 573055 on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Disliked This Book.

    Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan<BR/> In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every other school he had been to. After he moves in to his room he gets introduced to everything and gets started on his new life. As he sits around a young boy named Destiny Applewhite annoys him. Jake makes the comment that he has to make this life work out because they had nowhere else to send him besides a Juvenile center. E.d Applewhite dislikes Jake because she believes he¿s not going to make it work out for everyone including himself.<BR/>One of the older Applewhites is Zedediah Applewhite and he is directing ¿The Sound of Music¿ and gets very frustrated over things like being late and having to put up with everyone. As the Sound of music go¿s on the two teens E.d Applewhite and Jake Semple finally get there¿s more to life. I disliked this book because it didn¿t interest me. In this book some things were ok but I didn¿t like most of it. I like certain parts like were E.d took Jake out to capture pictures of butterfly¿s. This book may be interesting to you if you¿re a reader and you just don¿t care what you read. Surviving the Applewhites was a good thing to read as it tells us about what it¿s like for a boy going through the bad stage.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Applewhites

    Such a great book!!!!!!!!I love it. Read the second!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Surviving the Applewhites Book Review

    This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets in trouble and he goes to live with the family. He always wears black and he has piercings on his ears. E.D. is a girl the same age as Jake. She gets annoyed because Jake is bad and he doesn't do his work. Destiny is a little kid who hangs around Jake and follows him everywhere. My favorite part of the book is when the principal of the school that E.D.'s dad works at directing a play and her daughter come over for dinner at their house. They come over because the pricipal wants her daughter in the play so they have dinner and it ends up in a diseaster. This book was interesting the whole way through. I would recommend this book mostly to teens. Surviving the Applewhites. Stephanie S. Tolan. Scholastic Inc. 216 pages. The genre is fiction.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Applewhites

    I would just like to say this was an amazing book, every teen should read it. It was a great story about changing for the right reasons.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    awesome

    What happens when you her the book title surviving the apple whites well if you think the book¿s title sounds interesting wait till you read the book. I think this book is a very interesting one because at one point it will get boring but that doesn¿t mean you should quit it because if you keep on reading the heat is just getting started. This book is about a boy named Jake Semple who got kicked out of almost every school in Rhode Island but then his parents got arrested for selling marijuana to an off-duty cop. So he was sent down to North Carolina to live with his grandfather so he put him in a school called Traybridge middle school so he tried so hard to get kicked out of the school the next thing you know he burned down the school. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes realistic books. On a scale from 1-10 I would say 9 just because the ending sucked.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book, Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, is about making decisions in your life. The main character is Jake Semple. He is a very bad kid until he is given a chance to change his life around and become good with his new foster family- The Applewhites. Jake, with no surprise, thinks the family may be different and maybe they can teach them a thing or two. So¿will Jake Semple- rebel for life- become a good person? Seems impossible but you never know what can happen when you are given a chance to change. Read this book to find out! I would really recommend this book to young adults to full grown teenagers. It talks about decision making, drama and a tiny bit of romance! Which by the way, me as a pre-teen, enjoy these kinds of books! So I guess you or you child will enjoy it too. My favorite part was when Jake finally¿ Whoops! I almost gave away the ending! But luckily, since I liked the book so much I have a second favorite part it was when Destiny Applewhite (littlest brother) lit a bunch of papers together ¿acting¿ like Jake burning down his old middle school in Rhode Island. That was pretty funny, and don¿t just think that was the only funny part, there is at least a million! Well maybe not that much but most of it is funny! And for anyone who likes to read realistic fiction books, well you¿re in luck because this book is Realistic Fiction! That means that some things can happen in real life some things cannot. So again, I really would recommend this book to any young adult to a teenager who loves to read an outstanding book. Or even if an adult wants to read it this book will sure bring back the kid in you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Surviving The Applewhites Review from a Sixth Grader

    This book was a very good book... It took a little bit to understand it because of its lack of dialog- but after it got started it was a very good book and I would recomend it to somebody who has a long time to read a book, and who can understnad books very well...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    extremely boring

    This was one of the worst, if not THE worst book I have ever read. It was soooo extremely boring and stupid. There wasn't even ONE good part to this book. I would NOT recommend reading this book. It was so lame and I would not have even gotten through the first chapter of it if I wasn't required to read it for school. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! SAME YOURSELF THE AGONY AND BOREDOM! this book was so very mind numbing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    J

    This book is geart i couldnt put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And STOP spoling the book peoples!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Surviving the Applewhites, by Stephanie S. Tolan is about this devilish 13 year old named Jake Semple. He has scarlet red hair that he shapes into points every morning, dresses in complete black, has an eyebrow ring, and too many earrings to count. He is always cursing and smoking and being a bad role model for the whole family. Rumor has it that he got kicked out of every school in Rhode Island that was willing to take the risk of letting him got to school there. There is also a rumor that he burnt down his old school with a lighter and a gas can. This teenager named Jake Semple is a scarlet haired punk you got kicked out of every school in Rhode Island. Both of his parents are in jail so he is forced to go live with is relative in modern time North Carolina. After being kicked out of Traybridge School in just three weeks his relative sends him to the creative academy, the home school where you teach your self. (which doesn¿t motivate Jake) At this academy Jake meets the daughter named Ed, at first they don¿t get along but after being an experiment on how these two kids are different that start to understand each other more and more. The founder of the academy Zedidiah Applewhite, says ¿Under this horrible child must be someone good.¿ As Jake lives there and participates in finishing a butterfly experiment and saving a play he starts to change in to someone he used to know. I thought that this story meant that under anything bad there is always something good. I loved this book! I loved how they brought Jake into this book and changed his character in a creative way. I think that this can relate to people because this book teaches that you never judge a person before you get to know him. Jake Semple reminds me of my friend who used to get in trouble on a regular basis, until he went to camp and changed. I think that this can relate to people because this book teaches that you never judge a person before you get to know them. A related book I have read are Maggie Bean and

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    this book was fantastic with adventure

    If you like fiction books with humor and one troublemaker, then ¿Surviving The Applewhites¿ is the right book for you. Come on in and enjoy a book that takes place in North Carolina. A place where a boy is famous for his troublemaking problems, and his name is Jake Applewhite. He has no one to support him because his parents are in jail. He should be in jail too for his record as a delinquent. He had been putting schools on fire. He has a grandpa to support him a little but later his grandpa doesn¿t support him anymore. So he is going to live with another family in Delaware called the Applewhites.The Applewhites try everything to change Jake but the Applewhites say that he will never change his attitude. So jump on and read more with the author called Stephanie S. Tolan that has humor, good description, adventure, and characters that are happy , mad, and sad. So as soon you get this book she will take you on an adventure with ¿Surviving The Applewhites

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Take a Bite

    Jake Semple is a crazy 14-year-old, sporting a spikey scarlett style of hair, an eyebrow ring, and too many ear piercings to count.He's a delinquent who's been kicked out of every school in Rhode Island, and even burned down his last school! He's moved to live with his grandfather, right next door to the crazy, artsy family, the Applewhites. There, he meets E.D., who's considered the oddball, becuase she'd rather learn than practice the arts. Together, they start a friendship, and Jake starts to realize his interests, and that he's not as bad as he seems. Read Stephanie S. Tolan's newberry honor book about how Jake changes in his experience with the Applewhites. This book would be reccomended to anyone who loves books about life-changing experiences, and finding your true self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    I liked it!

    I thought it was good, but the beginning dragged. But still, it was a very good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Read it

    This book rules, it's so addicting i read it in less than 24 hours. I've day dreamed about writing a book someday with a characture just like Jake, and that was before i read this book, this book is better than any thing i could make any ways.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Excellent Book

    This is an amazing book that shows how a delinquent troublemaker to the Applewhites Academy. All of the teachers there have great jobs. I think the message of this book is don¿t be afraid of change. The main character is Jake Semple. Some of the other characters are E.D (Edith), Archie, Zeditha, Randolph, Destiny, and Cordilea. The author uses a lot of description to make Jake look bad at first. Then at the end all of that changes. When I was reading this book it gave me a lot of questions, Like Will the sound of music be canceled? Will Destiny ever stop trying to dye his hair? Will Jake ever perform in another play? This is a must read book I am asking Stephanie S. Tolan to make a sequel to this book. If she does I will read it. If I had not joined B.O.B I would not have ever read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    READ THIS BOOK!

    I thought this book was so addicting! I finished it in about 3 days! I couldn't put it down! Jake Semple seems just adds a little something to the story! He is totally oppisite from the other Applewhites. But somehow, he finds himself a little something where he can be a little creative like the other Applewhites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    An Awesome Book

    THIS BOOK WAS REALLY GOOD! it reminded me of Holes and thats a really good thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Surviving the Applewhites

    This book isthe besst book ever! I think everyone should read this book. I give this book two thumbs up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Dumb book review,

    I hated the book,had to read it for fifth grade book club group back in December 2013, I hated it so so so so much It was boring,stupid and retarded. I recommend 0 if you could do zero, yours truly, unsatisfied fifth grader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    It is funny

    Its funny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6