Customer Reviews for

Surviving the Applewhites

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Surviving the Applewhites Book Review

This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets i...
This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets in trouble and he goes to live with the family. He always wears black and he has piercings on his ears. E.D. is a girl the same age as Jake. She gets annoyed because Jake is bad and he doesn't do his work. Destiny is a little kid who hangs around Jake and follows him everywhere. My favorite part of the book is when the principal of the school that E.D.'s dad works at directing a play and her daughter come over for dinner at their house. They come over because the pricipal wants her daughter in the play so they have dinner and it ends up in a diseaster. This book was interesting the whole way through. I would recommend this book mostly to teens. Surviving the Applewhites. Stephanie S. Tolan. Scholastic Inc. 216 pages. The genre is fiction.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I Disliked This Book.

Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every...
Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every other school he had been to. After he moves in to his room he gets introduced to everything and gets started on his new life. As he sits around a young boy named Destiny Applewhite annoys him. Jake makes the comment that he has to make this life work out because they had nowhere else to send him besides a Juvenile center. E.d Applewhite dislikes Jake because she believes he¿s not going to make it work out for everyone including himself.
One of the older Applewhites is Zedediah Applewhite and he is directing ¿The Sound of Music¿ and gets very frustrated over things like being late and having to put up with everyone. As the Sound of music go¿s on the two teens E.d Applewhite and Jake Semple finally get there¿s more to life. I disliked this book because it didn¿t interest me. In this book some things were ok but I didn¿t like most of it. I like certain parts like were E.d took Jake out to capture pictures of butterfly¿s. This book may be interesting to you if you¿re a reader and you just don¿t care what you read. Surviving the Applewhites was a good thing to read as it tells us about what it¿s like for a boy going through the bad stage.

posted by 573055 on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Surviving the Applewhites Book Review

    This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets in trouble and he goes to live with the family. He always wears black and he has piercings on his ears. E.D. is a girl the same age as Jake. She gets annoyed because Jake is bad and he doesn't do his work. Destiny is a little kid who hangs around Jake and follows him everywhere. My favorite part of the book is when the principal of the school that E.D.'s dad works at directing a play and her daughter come over for dinner at their house. They come over because the pricipal wants her daughter in the play so they have dinner and it ends up in a diseaster. This book was interesting the whole way through. I would recommend this book mostly to teens. Surviving the Applewhites. Stephanie S. Tolan. Scholastic Inc. 216 pages. The genre is fiction.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    awesome

    What happens when you her the book title surviving the apple whites well if you think the book¿s title sounds interesting wait till you read the book. I think this book is a very interesting one because at one point it will get boring but that doesn¿t mean you should quit it because if you keep on reading the heat is just getting started. This book is about a boy named Jake Semple who got kicked out of almost every school in Rhode Island but then his parents got arrested for selling marijuana to an off-duty cop. So he was sent down to North Carolina to live with his grandfather so he put him in a school called Traybridge middle school so he tried so hard to get kicked out of the school the next thing you know he burned down the school. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes realistic books. On a scale from 1-10 I would say 9 just because the ending sucked.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Surviving the Applewhites, by Stephanie S. Tolan is about this devilish 13 year old named Jake Semple. He has scarlet red hair that he shapes into points every morning, dresses in complete black, has an eyebrow ring, and too many earrings to count. He is always cursing and smoking and being a bad role model for the whole family. Rumor has it that he got kicked out of every school in Rhode Island that was willing to take the risk of letting him got to school there. There is also a rumor that he burnt down his old school with a lighter and a gas can. This teenager named Jake Semple is a scarlet haired punk you got kicked out of every school in Rhode Island. Both of his parents are in jail so he is forced to go live with is relative in modern time North Carolina. After being kicked out of Traybridge School in just three weeks his relative sends him to the creative academy, the home school where you teach your self. (which doesn¿t motivate Jake) At this academy Jake meets the daughter named Ed, at first they don¿t get along but after being an experiment on how these two kids are different that start to understand each other more and more. The founder of the academy Zedidiah Applewhite, says ¿Under this horrible child must be someone good.¿ As Jake lives there and participates in finishing a butterfly experiment and saving a play he starts to change in to someone he used to know. I thought that this story meant that under anything bad there is always something good. I loved this book! I loved how they brought Jake into this book and changed his character in a creative way. I think that this can relate to people because this book teaches that you never judge a person before you get to know him. Jake Semple reminds me of my friend who used to get in trouble on a regular basis, until he went to camp and changed. I think that this can relate to people because this book teaches that you never judge a person before you get to know them. A related book I have read are Maggie Bean and

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Take a Bite

    Jake Semple is a crazy 14-year-old, sporting a spikey scarlett style of hair, an eyebrow ring, and too many ear piercings to count.He's a delinquent who's been kicked out of every school in Rhode Island, and even burned down his last school! He's moved to live with his grandfather, right next door to the crazy, artsy family, the Applewhites. There, he meets E.D., who's considered the oddball, becuase she'd rather learn than practice the arts. Together, they start a friendship, and Jake starts to realize his interests, and that he's not as bad as he seems. Read Stephanie S. Tolan's newberry honor book about how Jake changes in his experience with the Applewhites. This book would be reccomended to anyone who loves books about life-changing experiences, and finding your true self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    I liked it!

    I thought it was good, but the beginning dragged. But still, it was a very good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Mr. Funny

    Whites! Why not black!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Wow

    I hope it is good bacause im starting it now for school

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I give "Surviving the Applewhites" by Stephanie S. Tol

    I give "Surviving the Applewhites" by Stephanie S. Tolan 4 stars. The reason why I give it 4 stars is because some parts of the book are very creative and something different that i had never read before. Also, It comes from two characters perspectives every other chapter. I love when it comes from two peoples perspectives because it shows how different the day or problem was for them. It also shows their opinion on things and how they see the world. On the negative side, I thought other parts would be long and drag on which would bore a person and would not want them to keep reading the book. This book is about a boy named Jake who would always get expelled from schools because of his tough and hard metal image. His grandfather soon gives up on him and takes him to a home school called the "Creative Academy". The academy is run by the Applewhite family that is funny, crazy, and artistic. The only odd ball of the family is E.D, a smart girl that thinks differently and is talented in a different way, then the rest of her family. As soon as she meets Jake, she immediately dislikes him. But is Jake really mean or a troublemaker as he seems? I would recommend this book to my friend Cara because she is funny and crazy just like the Applewhite family. She would love all the crazy things they do in the house. For example, their goat Wolfie got out of its pen and ran in the middle of nowhere. In the end, E.D's sister Cordelia chased it around on the streets to put it back in its pen. Another piece of evidence is that E.D's little brother Destiny was sick of his blonde hair, so he tried different ways to change its color by putting purple Kool-Aid in his hair or coloring it with markers. I think Cara would love this book because of all the fun and crazy moments of the Applewhites, which is why i would recommend this book to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good book

    It was a fun book. I want to see how hard it is ti deal with a kid like Jake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Awesome Book

    In this book a girl named E.D Applewhite is at her at home Creative Academy but everything goes bad when a boy named Jake Simple moves to her Academy as well.The reason why he has to go is because he burnt down his old school.E.D is extremely mad because Jake is a juvenile Delinquent.The ending of this book is very exciting and everyone and i mean every one changes from the beggining to the end .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Good book

    This book is a good book. I like how it tells the story frow two different perspectives. My favorite part is when they are rehearsing a play and it takes an unexpected turn. The book takes place in a different kind of school. One day everything changes when a 13 year old boy joins AppleWhite academy. This is a very good book that i reccomend you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A Surprisingly Delightful Read

    I think I read this book in sixth grade, and I still fondly remember it five years later. I didn't expect it to be so engaging and fun! No huge morals or deep insights poking you in the eye here; just an amusing read with some funky characters. Jake Semple, the classic rebel, turning out to have a heart of gold? Quirky, lovable characters make him change his mind about his bad-boy ways? It's all here, and though it's a bit cliche (and the only reason I didn't give it five stars), Tolan manages to make the story fresh and fun. Jake had a lot more personality than I was expecting, which was awesome; E.D. was sassy and Destiny adorable. If you want an interesting read for your kids (or even yourself!) try the Applewhites out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Pretty good book

    This book is about Jake Semple a bad boy who discovers he enjoys being in plays. Jake Semple goes to live on a farm with the Applewhites because he was kicked out of every school in his home state. The Applewhites are artists all except one, E.D a girl that doesn't like Jake. This book is funny and took me a few days to read I didn't expect to read something good as this book. Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to live with the Applewhites in North Carolina. He lives with this chaotic family for a while to get home schooled. Then he ends up playing in the play "The Sound of Music." He finds out that he likes to sing and perform in plays. It's funny and a well written book. I enjoyed it most of the part, some of it seemed to be not as interesting as the main parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The troubled Kids

    This book is about a buy named Jack Semple. He is a scary and devilish kid. He is also a trouble maker. Jack was so bad that he got kicked out of every school in his home state. He traveled all the way to North Carolina to try some school there, but the first school he goes to called Trabride he gets kicked out in only a few weeks into September. There is only one school left for Jack to try. It is a home school run by the most outrageous, forgetful family. There is this girl called E.D that goes to the same school as Jack. E.D and Jack are partnered up into a stage crafted play. The apple whites are the people that are too bad for regular schools. I like this book because it had a lot of action in it. The action in the book is the parts when Jack gets kicked out of the schools. I didn¿t dislike any this in this book. This book is nay part of a series. The book reminded me of the show Malcolm in the Middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    A Fantastic Book Of Change!

    The book Surviving The Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan is a good book for most of the entire family I would give this book a four out of five star rating. I gave this book four stars because it does get a little boring at some parts. But the book is about a teen boy named Jake Semple who is sent to live with another family. He is a teenager who has a problem with smoking and cursing. I know that that is not tolerated in my household and it is a bad habit to get into. But the Applewhites, (a family that lives in the country area of North Carolina) were assigned to him and they were going to change him. The Applewhites teach Jake to think for himself. The book is worth four stars but is still a very good book. It can teach kids that smoking, cursing, and other violent acts are bad and that you should never do them. But do the Applewhites make Jake think that? This book is filled with action and is a good adventure for all of the family. I loved this book and I hope you will love this book too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Not boring at all...

    I thought this was a great book!! In the beginning many people thought jake was bad but i think he was just trying to be individual. I did NOT think this book was boring. Anyone who gives this book a 2 or less is CRAZY. I have read this book more than once and never got bored of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    SURVIVING THE APPLEWHITES

    Surviving The Applewhites is about a boy named Jake Semple, and a girl named E.D. E.D is about 11-12 years old and has a strong hunger for stability, and orginization. E.D is an Applewhite who is overcomed with the feeling of Horror when a boy named Jake Semple comes into her life. Jake is on the line of being sent to Juvinile Hall, and he was sent to the Applewhite's school house for home-schooling. (You are probly wondering why he cant be home-schooled by his parants, but you will have to read the book to find that out.) Surviving The Applewhites is a book based on learning, living, and most of all loving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Applewhite Review

    This book is a four star book because it is a good intresting book that has a lot of characters that are full of little intresting details like Jake I like how he is a trouble maker and is put in this home school that is different from other schools but it changes him and he doesnt know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Really great

    I really like this book a lot. It has so many characters that your afraid you'll get lost at the beginning, but the author keeps all the characters so well in-check, that you don't get lost. Also all the characters have their own personal problems, but not so personal that all the book does is talk about their problems. I think the best part of this book is how the Applewhites and Jake work to put on the play 'The Sound of Music', and how it talks about their triumphs and failures, and some near-misses. This book is so good that I highly recommend it to you and other readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Excellent Book by Stephanie S. Tolan

    I think Surviving the Applewhites is a great book for young readers. If you like to let your imagination roam, this is a book for you. This book describes the long journey of Jake Semple, a teenage delinquent, as he is forced to stay at Wit's End with the Applewhites rather than go to Juvenile Hall. Jake starts out as a bad kid who has done things like burn down schools, curse since he was very young, and be kicked out of schools. This book shows the journey of Jake as well as the journey of the Applewhite family as they help their father put on his theater production. This book kept me hooked and interested the whole way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2