BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Surviving the Applewhites

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Surviving the Applewhites Book Review

This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets i...
This book is about a teeneage kid who gets in trouble a lot. So he goes and lives with this family that home schools him and he thinks they are annoying. The whole family are artists. The main characters are Jake Semple, E.D., and Destiny. Jake is the kid who gets in trouble and he goes to live with the family. He always wears black and he has piercings on his ears. E.D. is a girl the same age as Jake. She gets annoyed because Jake is bad and he doesn't do his work. Destiny is a little kid who hangs around Jake and follows him everywhere. My favorite part of the book is when the principal of the school that E.D.'s dad works at directing a play and her daughter come over for dinner at their house. They come over because the pricipal wants her daughter in the play so they have dinner and it ends up in a diseaster. This book was interesting the whole way through. I would recommend this book mostly to teens. Surviving the Applewhites. Stephanie S. Tolan. Scholastic Inc. 216 pages. The genre is fiction.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I Disliked This Book.

Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every...
Surviving the Applewhites By: Stephanie S. Tolan
In Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a boy named Jake Semple moves from Rhode Island to Traybridge to get home schooled by the Applewhites, because he got kicked out of every other school he had been to. After he moves in to his room he gets introduced to everything and gets started on his new life. As he sits around a young boy named Destiny Applewhite annoys him. Jake makes the comment that he has to make this life work out because they had nowhere else to send him besides a Juvenile center. E.d Applewhite dislikes Jake because she believes he¿s not going to make it work out for everyone including himself.
One of the older Applewhites is Zedediah Applewhite and he is directing ¿The Sound of Music¿ and gets very frustrated over things like being late and having to put up with everyone. As the Sound of music go¿s on the two teens E.d Applewhite and Jake Semple finally get there¿s more to life. I disliked this book because it didn¿t interest me. In this book some things were ok but I didn¿t like most of it. I like certain parts like were E.d took Jake out to capture pictures of butterfly¿s. This book may be interesting to you if you¿re a reader and you just don¿t care what you read. Surviving the Applewhites was a good thing to read as it tells us about what it¿s like for a boy going through the bad stage.

posted by 573055 on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Applewhites

    Such a great book!!!!!!!!I love it. Read the second!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    J

    This book is geart i couldnt put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And STOP spoling the book peoples!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Applewhites

    I would just like to say this was an amazing book, every teen should read it. It was a great story about changing for the right reasons.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book, Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, is about making decisions in your life. The main character is Jake Semple. He is a very bad kid until he is given a chance to change his life around and become good with his new foster family- The Applewhites. Jake, with no surprise, thinks the family may be different and maybe they can teach them a thing or two. So¿will Jake Semple- rebel for life- become a good person? Seems impossible but you never know what can happen when you are given a chance to change. Read this book to find out! I would really recommend this book to young adults to full grown teenagers. It talks about decision making, drama and a tiny bit of romance! Which by the way, me as a pre-teen, enjoy these kinds of books! So I guess you or you child will enjoy it too. My favorite part was when Jake finally¿ Whoops! I almost gave away the ending! But luckily, since I liked the book so much I have a second favorite part it was when Destiny Applewhite (littlest brother) lit a bunch of papers together ¿acting¿ like Jake burning down his old middle school in Rhode Island. That was pretty funny, and don¿t just think that was the only funny part, there is at least a million! Well maybe not that much but most of it is funny! And for anyone who likes to read realistic fiction books, well you¿re in luck because this book is Realistic Fiction! That means that some things can happen in real life some things cannot. So again, I really would recommend this book to any young adult to a teenager who loves to read an outstanding book. Or even if an adult wants to read it this book will sure bring back the kid in you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    An Awesome Book

    THIS BOOK WAS REALLY GOOD! it reminded me of Holes and thats a really good thing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Surviving the Applewhites

    This book isthe besst book ever! I think everyone should read this book. I give this book two thumbs up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    this book was fantastic with adventure

    If you like fiction books with humor and one troublemaker, then ¿Surviving The Applewhites¿ is the right book for you. Come on in and enjoy a book that takes place in North Carolina. A place where a boy is famous for his troublemaking problems, and his name is Jake Applewhite. He has no one to support him because his parents are in jail. He should be in jail too for his record as a delinquent. He had been putting schools on fire. He has a grandpa to support him a little but later his grandpa doesn¿t support him anymore. So he is going to live with another family in Delaware called the Applewhites.The Applewhites try everything to change Jake but the Applewhites say that he will never change his attitude. So jump on and read more with the author called Stephanie S. Tolan that has humor, good description, adventure, and characters that are happy , mad, and sad. So as soon you get this book she will take you on an adventure with ¿Surviving The Applewhites

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Read it

    This book rules, it's so addicting i read it in less than 24 hours. I've day dreamed about writing a book someday with a characture just like Jake, and that was before i read this book, this book is better than any thing i could make any ways.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Excellent Book

    This is an amazing book that shows how a delinquent troublemaker to the Applewhites Academy. All of the teachers there have great jobs. I think the message of this book is don¿t be afraid of change. The main character is Jake Semple. Some of the other characters are E.D (Edith), Archie, Zeditha, Randolph, Destiny, and Cordilea. The author uses a lot of description to make Jake look bad at first. Then at the end all of that changes. When I was reading this book it gave me a lot of questions, Like Will the sound of music be canceled? Will Destiny ever stop trying to dye his hair? Will Jake ever perform in another play? This is a must read book I am asking Stephanie S. Tolan to make a sequel to this book. If she does I will read it. If I had not joined B.O.B I would not have ever read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    READ THIS BOOK!

    I thought this book was so addicting! I finished it in about 3 days! I couldn't put it down! Jake Semple seems just adds a little something to the story! He is totally oppisite from the other Applewhites. But somehow, he finds himself a little something where he can be a little creative like the other Applewhites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Applewhites

    I am reading this book for a summer reading program in
    school when i read the first couple of chapters i thought it was a little boring but when i got towards the end it started getting really good and now i love the book i cant wait to read the second one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Great!!

    Meet jake, a troublemaker who has been kicked out of all the schools in rhode island. With his parents in jail, jake must learn to survive with the creative applewhites, or else he will be sent to juvi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    It is funny

    Its funny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Pie!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Oh...poop!

    Come on! I was just at the library and i wanted this book soooo bad and it was in the free bin but i totally forgot about it and... now i dont have it!:(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Great book!

    I read Surviving the Applewhites for a summer reading book and I loved it! It is about a boy named Jake Semple who is a juvinile delinquint and needs to go to a new school. He is sent to a private school which consists of only one family: the Applewhites. The Applewhites are an artistic family that live in North Carolina. At first Jake does not like the school. He uses profanity and smokes. But then, he begins to have a breakthrough. He is casted in the Sound of Music and shaves off his dyed red hair and takes out his piercings so he can play the part well. He starts to care for other people and understand that life is about more than him. There is suspention and a few crazy twists that make Jake work hard to become a better person. That's why I suggest Surviving the Appplewhites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than I expected

    I had seen this book various times since I was in middle school. The other day I bought it for a quarter from a thrift store, I though, What the heck, right? Then I asked two of my friends if they'd ever read it, and they both said they had like it. I gave it a shot, not expecting much. I found his book to funny, absorbing, with a great character. I realize I should be saying it taught a great lesson, blah blah blah. Which it did, but that doesn't really matter to me. It was a good book, and I think that Jake Semple was a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    OutRagous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the best book I've read in my days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    From bad to good Jake Semple

    Jake Semple is a 13 year old boy who burned down his shool in Rhode Island. When nobody in the entire state of Rhode Island will take him in as a foster child, he is sent to live with the Applewhite family in North Dakota. The Applewhite family runs a home school progam called the Creative Academy. They don't do normal schooling. Instead they thought of there own progects to work on. There family is very large and talented. Aunt Lucille the poet, Cordelia the Ballett dancer, Sybil James the writter, Archie the painter, Hal the sculpter, Zedediah the wood crafter, and Randoph the play directer. E.D. was another member in the family who was 12 years old and started her own curriculum. Destiny was a 4 year old boy who liked to sing and finger paint. They also owned a basset hound named Winston who followed Jake everywhere he went. Zedediah Applewhite said that they would find the good kid in the horrible kid that Jake was. Later in the book Jake gets a part in The Sound of Music, a play that Randolph Applewhite was directing. The part that Jake gets changes his attitude toward himself and the Applewhites.Jake didn't wan't to be known as the 'bad kid' anymore. He wanted to be known as an actor. I enjoyed the part when Destiny tries to make his hair stick up in points like Jakes hair. I liked the part when Winston follows Jake everywhere he goes. This book was outstanding! It was funny and very interesting to read. If your looking for a realistic fiction book, this would be a great one to choose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Bryan Scherer- How Sweet the Apples Can Be

    This was such a fun book to read. I was so curious about what Jake was going to do next, it was hard to put the book down. I would recommend Surviving the Applewhites to be read in schools. The big bad Jake Semple was 'killed with kindness' when he reached the home school 'Creative Academy' run by the Applewhites. After being kicked out of so many schools, no one wanted Jake. But E.D. and Aunt Lucille thought differently, and made Jake a better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3