Customer Reviews for

Survivor

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My fav!!!!

This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnig...
I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnight sensation and his fall from grace. Sounds like a good idea, but I just couldn't really get into it. In fact, I had to push myself to read it all the up to the last 2 chapters and then I just had to put it down. I couldn't make myself finish it. The writing was excellent, as Chuck P's always is. And the plot was good in theory, but in the end...I was kinda bored. Gasp, I know. But still, give it a try. You might like it.

posted by EReynolds on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    My fav!!!!

    This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Eh...

    I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnight sensation and his fall from grace. Sounds like a good idea, but I just couldn't really get into it. In fact, I had to push myself to read it all the up to the last 2 chapters and then I just had to put it down. I couldn't make myself finish it. The writing was excellent, as Chuck P's always is. And the plot was good in theory, but in the end...I was kinda bored. Gasp, I know. But still, give it a try. You might like it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    So glad I kept reading

    In the beginning I found this book really interesting and captivating. However, after a few chapters I was really bored and had no clue where it was all going. i thoght about just putting it down, but i didnt. And im so GLAD i didnt. About close to half way the story starts to speed up and everything starts to tie together. I love the character development; it was interesting to see that only at the last few hours of his death that he became independant. Overall i love this book! Thought i wouldnt but i did. And to those who are thinking about putting it down keep reading. It gets better like by a lot

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Good

    This book was a good read. It was not gory or totally appalling. There were disturbing parts, but it was dark for different reasons. The story for "Survivor" moved at a slower pace. If you want a light speed thriller that glues you to your seat, then this novel is not for you. It is a slower recounting of an unusual man's life. And, a commentary on all of our lives.

    The beginning of the book is the end of Tender Branson's life. He has hijacked a plane, released all of the passengers and staff, and the engines are failing one at a time. He tells his life story (from the past through the present) to the airplane's "black box". His life starts out as one of many children in a cult, then as cult survivor, later a guru, and lastly it all falls apart.

    Throughout there are cleaning tips and tricks. It seems an odd subject to spend so much page space on. Rather than take these tips at face value, I think that it demonstrates the depths to which he has been programmed to serve others mindlessly. Free thinking and free will are not options for Tender. Once he is free of one master, he transfers to another, and another, etc.

    "Survivor" asks the question: how does a person who has been a slave mentally and physically deal with the opportunity for possible freedom? Do you take a chance at, maybe, being free? Or, do you continue on the path that you have always known?

    With some introspection included, I found this book to be very interesting commentary on life. Everyone has external and internal limits. How do we know that we are free? Give this book a try. It ended up being a lot better than I thought it would be. I have never read this author before. I will be checking out more titles by this author.

    -AvidReader

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    My favorite Chick Palahniuk book

    I've read it several times. Knowing how it is going to end makes no difference, especially since the first page is the last page. If you liked the movie Memento, you'll love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Great read

    This novel is close to the top with my list of favorites for Chuck Palahniuk. If you are a fan of his work, you will definitely see a great deal of the biting, clever, self-depricating brilliance in this piece of work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Amazing - Must Read!

    I stumbled upon this author by accident and found out he had written the book upon which the movie, Fight Club, was based. I was immediately intrigued and couldn't decide which of his many novels to read first. Survivor was the first book I chose, and it was a non-stop thrill throughout! Chuck Palahniuk is a depraved genius. You need a warped sense of humor to appreciate his writing; no delicate readers here, please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book, though I found the main character a little flatter than I usually like, even from Palahniuk. The ending was pleasantly infuriating, haha.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Perhaps My Favorite Piece Of Chuck So Far

    This is the fourth book by Chuck that I have read (followng Fight Club, Choke, and Rant), and I think this is my favorite one so far. I read this book faster than any other book I've had besause I found the metamorphosis of everything from beginning to end incredibly grasping. I wish that a few things were a little more fleshed out, but overall I really like the whole world that was created. I also liked how the whole story was being told as an audio recording by the maiin character. It kept my brain cuurious as to how he's going to end up where he is. It added a certain sense of ugency, like if I don't read quickly it's going to be too late.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Survivor

    Chuck Palahniuk shows us his in depth story telling in Surivor by having the main character tell his life story to the black box of a plane that is about to crash. The main character hijacks a plane and lets everyone off and then begins flying again. He lets the pilot tag along for a little bit before he wants him to leave too. He jumps out with a parachute after explaining exactly what's going to happen with the plane during the flight, and then the crash. The rest of the novel is the hijacker telling his life story to the black box so that everyone can have something to remember the catastrophy by. The novel observes our media world in a very dark satirist way. He compares the world to having no soul anymore and shows how everyone is too caught up in their materials to enjoy their lives. The novel is an incredible read and I think it'd be a great read for anybody who enjoys a dark and entertaining read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Fun, fast, & fantastic read!

    Chuck has a unique way of storytelling that is filled with odd tidbits that add flavor overall. I love all CP'S books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Caution! Stupidity Ahead!

    A few years ago I was at Printer’s Row in Chicago helping to staff the Other Voices booth. This is a busy book festival and at one point I was struck by the long line outside of one of the presentation tents. I found out it was Chuck Palahniuk. I think he was doing a signing and reading of his book, Fight Club. Since then I’d heard he wrote gritty, often violent stories, very contemporary in tone. Anyway, needing something to read, I bought Survivor for the Nook. First, the basics: Tender Branson is a survivor of the Creedish Cult, a religious group. When some sort of social hammer began to come down, the cult took it as a sign that Deliverance was at hand and so they all committed suicide. Tender (all the men were called Tender, the women Biddy) somehow survived because he was at his work assignment. In theory, when a Creedish out in the world heard that Deliverance had come, they were supposed to commit suicide. Tender didn’t and gradually gained great fame as the last of the cult. His fame is worldwide but a great threat looms in that he has a brother out there, Adam, who was responsible for killing those Creedish who did not commit suicide. This book is mostly (I guess) about fame and the handlers who manage the famous. In the end, Tender hijacks a 747, releases the passengers, has the pilot put the plane in the air then lets him parachute out. Tender will commit suicide by letting the 747 run out of fuel and crash. Alas, this is just such a stupid book. First, it begins with Chapter 47 where Tender begins dictating his story into the flight recorder of the 747 which recorder will, of course, survive the crash. Second, Tender is working as a housekeeper for some wealthy people so we get page after page of household tips. Third, his phone number was mistakenly posted as a suicide hotline with Tender generally encouraging his callers to go ahead and do it. Fourth, he is a virgin who has a relationship with Fertility Hollis, a psychic who can read the future. It’s all too clever by half, too cute by a thousand, the clipped, smart-ass style truly annoying. It is my last Palahniuk, but at least I went and can now say to the innocent, stay away, stupidity ahead.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great

    Worth a read or twenty

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was great from start to finish. Definitely one of chucks best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Guurr8

    This book is great. He really knows how to captivate a reader and leave you wanting more. I was so into this book that i read it in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    great book!

    This was a great story. Really enjoyed it! Love the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Palahniuk book

    I really love this novel. At first the main character seems pathetic, but you grow to like him and even feel sympathy for him as he's exploited. I can't think of another Palahniuk book where I sympathized more with the character. The ending pages stumble a little, but it's still a great book and one I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Of Palahnuik's Work

    This novel is very entertaining - and in typical Palahnuik style - filled with twists and turns. I'm a big fan of Chuck's work, but I am most fond of this book. I enjoyed the characters and found myself very engaged as the story progressed. Palahnuik always has a way of mixing in thought-provoking commentary with slightly dark/disturbing content with ease. Pick this book up, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Chuck's Best :)

    I have read several books by Chuck, this is one of my favorite. It is cleverly written, and it highlights the drudgery of day to day life cleaning up after the rich and moronic which showing that being social inept is not so bad. He shows how a person goes from no one to famous and makes it tangible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    Great Book

    By far my favorite book by Chuck. The first half is great, but I thought it slowed down for a little bit. The last third is gets really good again. It does a great job of making fun of how society portrays famous people and the lengths famous people go to to stay famous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16