Customer Reviews for

Survivor: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My fav!!!!

This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnig...
I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnight sensation and his fall from grace. Sounds like a good idea, but I just couldn't really get into it. In fact, I had to push myself to read it all the up to the last 2 chapters and then I just had to put it down. I couldn't make myself finish it. The writing was excellent, as Chuck P's always is. And the plot was good in theory, but in the end...I was kinda bored. Gasp, I know. But still, give it a try. You might like it.

posted by EReynolds on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I thought this book was pretty good. It's really short and leaves a big cliffhanger at the end of every chapter. So far Chuck Palahniuk isn't as amazing as everyone says but then again i've only read this book and saw fight club (which I loved), I think i'll give him another shot. I'm thinking of buying Lullaby or Rant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I like chuck!

    The first experience I had wityh a story that Chuck had written, like many people, was Fight Club. I saw the movie, then read the book. Then I read Rant. Now Survivor. I've got to say, I like Chuck! This book is an interesting look at religion, culture (key word being Cult this time), relationships and just the desperaste commecialization of the world. Or at least our country. He never gets into the rest of the world too much. The main characters are interesting and flawed and, like other books by Chuck, this one manages to make you feel horny and uneasy at the same time. It's a great Story! Chuck is one of my favorite writers now, right up there with David Gregory. (Read Christmas at Sibyl's, too!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Rina

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Emilee

    Walks in Post god da.mnit!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Host Clyde

    "Seth you're on Team Kappa and Rina so are you. So you guys stay here. Once each team has 5 members the rp will start. Make a bio at res6. Next to your name in the bios put a 'K'." Post

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    CJ

    My bio is at scarlet forest only result. It's called #IMAWESOME

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Raxon's bio

    Name: Seemingly unknown, he goes by Raxon currently. Age: 33 Appearance: Wears combat kevlar armor and a custom helmet made to suit Raxon. Description: He awakened after being knocked out cold for two days and realized the apocalypse had risen. Now he fights to save humanity. Weapons: XM8, SCAR-H, and a katana.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Ninjas bio

    Name:unknown just known as ninja:description: green eyes ages 21 tall tanned

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Fang's Bio

    Ish at Woodrose Mountain.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Bios

    Post your name, age, a short description, what you wear, your weapons, and anything else you see fit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    A

    A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    I love it.

    I love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    WOW!

    And I thought Fight Club couldn't be topped!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Great suspense

    First book I bought with my nook. A page turner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Super entertaining!

    One of the most entertaining books I've ever read. Great dark, dark, comedy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    another great book from chuck

    great story line

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    This book

    A must read for anyone that can read-literally, this book is a masterpiece

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Chuck book to date

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    not for me.

    Fight Club is one of my all time favorite movies. so I decided to get survivor. I'm sorry but i did not like it that much. the style is really cool but...i don't know nothing is really happening until the end. I'll stick with fight club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16