Customer Reviews for

Survivor: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My fav!!!!

This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnig...
I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnight sensation and his fall from grace. Sounds like a good idea, but I just couldn't really get into it. In fact, I had to push myself to read it all the up to the last 2 chapters and then I just had to put it down. I couldn't make myself finish it. The writing was excellent, as Chuck P's always is. And the plot was good in theory, but in the end...I was kinda bored. Gasp, I know. But still, give it a try. You might like it.

posted by EReynolds on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    My fav!!!!

    This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    So glad I kept reading

    In the beginning I found this book really interesting and captivating. However, after a few chapters I was really bored and had no clue where it was all going. i thoght about just putting it down, but i didnt. And im so GLAD i didnt. About close to half way the story starts to speed up and everything starts to tie together. I love the character development; it was interesting to see that only at the last few hours of his death that he became independant. Overall i love this book! Thought i wouldnt but i did. And to those who are thinking about putting it down keep reading. It gets better like by a lot

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Amazing - Must Read!

    I stumbled upon this author by accident and found out he had written the book upon which the movie, Fight Club, was based. I was immediately intrigued and couldn't decide which of his many novels to read first. Survivor was the first book I chose, and it was a non-stop thrill throughout! Chuck Palahniuk is a depraved genius. You need a warped sense of humor to appreciate his writing; no delicate readers here, please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Perhaps My Favorite Piece Of Chuck So Far

    This is the fourth book by Chuck that I have read (followng Fight Club, Choke, and Rant), and I think this is my favorite one so far. I read this book faster than any other book I've had besause I found the metamorphosis of everything from beginning to end incredibly grasping. I wish that a few things were a little more fleshed out, but overall I really like the whole world that was created. I also liked how the whole story was being told as an audio recording by the maiin character. It kept my brain cuurious as to how he's going to end up where he is. It added a certain sense of ugency, like if I don't read quickly it's going to be too late.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Fun, fast, & fantastic read!

    Chuck has a unique way of storytelling that is filled with odd tidbits that add flavor overall. I love all CP'S books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great

    Worth a read or twenty

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was great from start to finish. Definitely one of chucks best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Guurr8

    This book is great. He really knows how to captivate a reader and leave you wanting more. I was so into this book that i read it in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    great book!

    This was a great story. Really enjoyed it! Love the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Palahniuk book

    I really love this novel. At first the main character seems pathetic, but you grow to like him and even feel sympathy for him as he's exploited. I can't think of another Palahniuk book where I sympathized more with the character. The ending pages stumble a little, but it's still a great book and one I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Of Palahnuik's Work

    This novel is very entertaining - and in typical Palahnuik style - filled with twists and turns. I'm a big fan of Chuck's work, but I am most fond of this book. I enjoyed the characters and found myself very engaged as the story progressed. Palahnuik always has a way of mixing in thought-provoking commentary with slightly dark/disturbing content with ease. Pick this book up, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Chuck's Best :)

    I have read several books by Chuck, this is one of my favorite. It is cleverly written, and it highlights the drudgery of day to day life cleaning up after the rich and moronic which showing that being social inept is not so bad. He shows how a person goes from no one to famous and makes it tangible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I like chuck!

    The first experience I had wityh a story that Chuck had written, like many people, was Fight Club. I saw the movie, then read the book. Then I read Rant. Now Survivor. I've got to say, I like Chuck! This book is an interesting look at religion, culture (key word being Cult this time), relationships and just the desperaste commecialization of the world. Or at least our country. He never gets into the rest of the world too much. The main characters are interesting and flawed and, like other books by Chuck, this one manages to make you feel horny and uneasy at the same time. It's a great Story! Chuck is one of my favorite writers now, right up there with David Gregory. (Read Christmas at Sibyl's, too!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Rina

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Emilee

    Walks in Post god da.mnit!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Host Clyde

    "Seth you're on Team Kappa and Rina so are you. So you guys stay here. Once each team has 5 members the rp will start. Make a bio at res6. Next to your name in the bios put a 'K'." Post

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    CJ

    My bio is at scarlet forest only result. It's called #IMAWESOME

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Ninjas bio

    Name:unknown just known as ninja:description: green eyes ages 21 tall tanned

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Fang's Bio

    Ish at Woodrose Mountain.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8