Customer Reviews for

Survivor: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My fav!!!!

This is early Chuck at his best, and is by far the best.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnig...
I am a huge Chuck P. fan. But this book was a bit difficult for me. I just couldn't get into it. It's about the "last survivor" of a cult, and the book is this last survivor telling his life story to an airplane blackbox. Going from, cult memeber to houseman, to overnight sensation and his fall from grace. Sounds like a good idea, but I just couldn't really get into it. In fact, I had to push myself to read it all the up to the last 2 chapters and then I just had to put it down. I couldn't make myself finish it. The writing was excellent, as Chuck P's always is. And the plot was good in theory, but in the end...I was kinda bored. Gasp, I know. But still, give it a try. You might like it.

posted by EReynolds on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    WOW.

    One of the the best books i have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Wow

    this story has you writhing along with it! The story about his life as a 'Survivor' is an impressive one. Highly recommended for those who have just found the glory of Chuck Palahniuk's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding book

    This is one of the best books I have ever read period. It is just as good as Fight Club, Survivor might even be better. THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Fantsatic

    This is one of Chuck Palahniuck's best books, in my opinion. It is to be compared with Fight Club, which is the best book I have ever read, EVER. So if you don't know Chuck, read either Survivor or Fight Club, or both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Love all this guy's books

    I stumbled on SURVIVOR after a friend left the book at my house one afternoon. After reading this book, a(nother) Palahniuk addict was born. The only other author I¿ve done this with was Jackson McCrae¿think, his KATZENJAMMER which is somewhat Palahniuk-like. I was so intrigued by the twisted language and oddly found knowledge, I loved it (SURVIVOR). I couldn't take my eyes off the book, I'm sure it took me all of 2 days to read through the unfortunate but entertaining life of Creedish Death Cult 'Survivor' Tender Branson. I would suggest this book to anyone, and definitely any other of Palahniuk's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    The best Palahniuk book ive ever read.

    I have read all of Palahniuk's other books and Survivor stands out as the best for me. I sat down to read it and figured i would read a couple of chapters and go out that night. I just couldnt put it down and never did end up going out that night but i did finish the book. i was amazed at how the story gripped me and how the subtle and sometimes not so sublte commentary on everything from religion to celebrity had me laughing and thinking. i would definatly recomend this book for anyone over the age of 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    Flying not so high

    SURVIVOR by Palahniuk is my number one book choice if I had to be stranded in Chucky Cheese for a day-or anywhere. It's about a cult member who is the only remaining survivor of a mass-suicide cult and America believes him to be some kind of guru after having survived something like that. The literature is dark, sardonic, and sarcastic, just the way I like it. The main character takes pleasure in small things such as starting a fake self-help hotline and when people call up he gives them useless advice leading them usually to suicide. He says he knows to pull the phone away from his ear when he hears the trigger mechanism click just before the gun fires. Towards the middle of the book he befriends a woman named Fertility and then gets an agent because he becomes famous. Chuck Palahniuk's a genius, and so are his parents for making him. If you enjoyed McCrae¿s KATZENJAMMER or the book RUNNING WITH SCISSORS, then this will be right up your alley. I know it was right up mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    'The real truth is nobody wants reality'

    Beautiful. Nearly flawless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    The Doorway was opened...

    I stumbled on Survivor after a friend left the book at my house one afternoon. After reading this book, a(nother) Palahniuk addict was born. I was so intrigued by the twisted language and oddly found knowledge, I loved it. I couldn't take my eyes off the book, I'm sure it took me all of 2 days to read through the unfortunate but entertaining life of Creedish Death Cult 'Survivor' Tender Branson. I would suggest this book to anyone, and definately any other of Palahniuk's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Brittany from Harrah,OK

    This book rocked! And so do all the rest of Chuck's books. I love the dark humor and I love the way everything is just thrown in there. It's just as our thoughts are. Just there, just never heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    ANOTHER GREAT ONE

    Tender Branson, the lone survivor of the Creedish cult, comes to terms with his instability as he prepares to crash a jetliner into the Australian outback. In classic Palahniuk style, it's a retrospective tale, adding to the misery and discontent with so much of the character's 20-20 hindsight. It's grim and it's dreary, (right in the same vein as Palahniuks other books) but this one is a masterfully dark story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Amazing and creative. The end will blow you away.

    I loved the book. I thought it was insanely creative and the author has a style like no one I have ever come across. Once you start reading anything by him it is nearly impossible to put down. Every ending of his books will blow you away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    GREAT!

    This book is the highest form of dark comedy out there! Truly engrossing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    great book

    Every person must read one Palahniuk book in their lifetime. Survior was my third read of the author. Even if you dont like dark humor, horrific detail or a style that will engulf even the shortests of attention spans, you can simply respect the amount of research and information of this writer puts into every book... especially this one. The chapter about the lobster was my favorite. i laughed and then almost puked at the same time. gotta love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Genius

    Genius. I can't think of any other way to describe Chuck Palahniuk's work. He is a truly amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    My Choice Among Choices

    Palahniuk has my attention. I am genuinely pleased with each of Chuck's novels, but this is my choice among choices. I feel that it is his bravest attempt yet. A very smart nobody that cleans houses. Was born in a Creedish cult that killed themselves. Turned into a celebrity messiah whilst creating miracles. Gets high on this drug and that thing-unexplainable. Becomes a partial murderer...all told from a plane as he records his story into the black box that is actually yellow. This novel contains much, and was a very entertaining read front to back. There is far more here than your average Kabol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    wow

    Survivor is an amazing book, simply stated. It leaves you thinking about the story for days, and changes how you veiw any religious leader. IT makes you question how well you think you know someone. I cannot compair it with his other works, but that is because it is a totally diffrent form than his other books. And thats why Chuck is such an amazing writer. This is a great bood, highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Amazing!

    quite possibly the best book I've ever read. Palanhiuk is a genius and his outlook on life comes through in the quirky characters he brings to life so well. As he put so well in this book: 'Reality means you live until you die. The real truth is nobody wants reality.' Better read this one before it's too late!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Awsome

    I really liked this book. I haven't read any other of Chuck's work but I was going to my brother's school because he left some books there and when he opened his locker, I saw 'Survivor'. I didn't know what it was at first, but I asked him if I could have it. He let me and I've been reading it since (2 days ago). I ABSOLUTALY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. Chuck's writing is very good. I recommend this to anyone who is of a pretty high intellect and needs a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    A better world than ours.

    I read this book in three days, that's how superior it is. It is by far one of the best books out there and perfect for anyone who sees this world as trivial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9