Customer Reviews for

Survivors: True Stories Of Children In The Holocaust

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Horrific Experience

    ¿If they find us, they¿ll kill us, and we have no place to hide.¿ Survivors True Stories of Children in the Holocaust by Allan Zullo and Mara Bovsun is one of the most emotional and horrifying books ever. 9 survivors of World War II get to tell their stories of the biggest mass murder in world history the Holocaust. In ¿How Can the Stars Seem So Happy in This Horrible Place?¿ George Levy and his little sister, Ursula, tell their depressing story of survival. Their family was broken up, the kids were sent to concentration camps very far away, and the Mother got shot and died. George and Ursula soon saw the real brutality that the Nazis possessed. The Jewish people were treated as disposable. They were tossed around, made fun of, severely hurt, suffered, and they had to face death at all times. George and Ursula lived off of the very little food they were given, which was a very small portion, which would eventually cause them to die of starvation. George and Ursula were lucky, they were able to avoid the Nazis at all costs, and avoid death. This book was a thrilling experience. The stories themselves were inspiring and depressing. I read this book with little knowledge of the Holocaust, now I know a lot more. After the first story, I wanted to read more. This book is very graphic the survivors tell what really happened. I would recommend this book to anyone who is emotionally stable and mature enough to read about the Holocaust.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Review for Survivors

    The book Survivors features the captivating and fascinating true stories about eight Jewish people that were children during the Nazi invasion during World War II. The book tells the stories of these eight children and the persecution they suffered under the Nazi rule. How against all odds; starvation, sleep deprivation, and abuse they somehow managed to persevere through their struggles and make it through. The different stories tell tales of bravery, heroism, courage, and shear brutality. Yet against all odds and even in the face of death these eight children found the tremendous willpower to fight through and survive.
    I really enjoyed this book. The stories were inspiring to me as they captured and held my attention. Reading this book also helped me learn more about the Holocaust. And I loved that the real life stories, though devastatingly tragic, helped make history become more real and alive. Thought the language is fairly simple the meanings run deeper and each story has its own cruel dilemma and moral to tell. In my opinion this book would be suitable for high school students and adults. I thought this was an excellent book and recommend it to anyone looking for a gripping and riveting book about the survivors of the Holocaust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    a really good review

    This book is about nine children who tell there stories about children in the Holocaust.It also tells about how children escaped cocentration caps. Which are camps who starve or barely feed Jewish peole even children.After they have starved them for awile they kill them.In some parts of the chapters little kids maybe seven years or younger have to they are made to watch Jews get killed and cant cry or they will kill them too.It was very sad If you are one of those people who dont like to read this would be the book for you.Even if you do like to read this would be a great book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly Recommend for 5th grade and up

    I purchased this book for my 5th grader as his social studies teacher who was teaching about WW2 was afraid to go into any depth for fear of being offensive, especially to the Jewish students in the class. Sadly, what occurred to 6 million people including Jews WAS offensive and needs to be spoken about. So, I purchased this book for my 5th grader to read. This book is filled with stories of survivors. Not too graphic but graphic enough to teach and remind all of us of the atrocities that have occurred. But the stories still contain the message of hope and love and spirit of those who lost their lives and those who survived the horrors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Perspective

    I have been showing my kids bits and pieces about WWII. Muesum exhibits, movies and books. This is definitly a great resource. This book gives the perspective of the children through their Holocost experience. My 5th and 6th grade children read this (after I did).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is about jewish children in the Holocaust in world war 2. It tells how they had to see things too scary to imagine. Things like concentration camps, family deaths, and starvation were all part of this horrible event in history. One girl, Luncia Gazmers,looked out her window and saw soilders marching down her street. She knew that something bad was going to happen. One day, a soldier came to their home looking for little girls. Luncia's parents hid her in the bathroom so she wouldn't be harmed. I really connected to this book. When I read it I felt the pain for the people in this book. I remember when my grandmother died and it was horrible. I can't imagine what it was like for them. I thought this was an amazing book. It is really important that history isn't forgotten and thats why everyone should read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Can't put the book down!

    This book is about young children in the Holocaust during World War II. The book tells how kids lived in concentration camps and how they starved and watched people die right in front of them. This book has several different stories of kids who survived the Holocaust but the kid who touched my heart the most is Marcus. He took care of his little sister and gave up his food to her so she could survive and almost died but at the end they both end up living. I think the theme of this book is survival because all the Jews wanted was to survive. I think the author wrote this book because he wanted to inform the reader of what happened at this time of cruelty. The book Survivors written be Allan Zullo and Mara Bovson helped me to understand what Hitler and the Nazis did to the children during the Holocaust. It is really heartbreaking all the things you will read. But you will not be able to put down the book. I strongly encourage you to read this book because it will take you will take you on an emotional rollercoaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Terrific

    While reading this i was shocked at the horror of the camps and cruelity of the Gastopo and the SS officers. I was noticing that the father you get in the book the more tragic the strories seem to get. I think it was very well written, I liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    ME , a reviewer

    I think this book is a very educational book. It taught me the horrors of the nazi party and how much they affected the countries around Germany. I strongly suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Outstanding

    I loved this book! This book was probably one of the first books,about the holocaust.That I was able to finish,instead of putting it down,because it was too horrible,the things that were happening to these children. I would recommend that after you read this book about the holocaust. That is you liked reading that book.That you explore,and look for more books about the holocaust,or a topic about the holocaust,that you like or want to learn more about. And then after you read a book about the holocaust,go online and see if you can find out more info or even pictures of the survivor/s. Also I would encourage children,the next time that they go see their grandparents.That the child should ask their grandparents,or parents about their herritage.Mabey you could come up with some new christmas,or other holiday traditions that have to do with your herritage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    From future actress Presley Puckett

    This book of holocaust survivors was most enjoyable for me. I know that I will never understand what it was like for these people to go through everything that they went through. It must've been tremendously hard! I didn't ever really care about learning about the holocaust and the World Wars, but after reading this book, I can't hardly understand why I never showed any interest in any of this. This book is very heart-breaking, but amazing. To hear these people's stories is like being in a terrifying dream that you can't understand or get out of. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is willing to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    A Fascinating Book about Holocaust Survivors

    This book shows hardships of the 1930's and 40's. Everyone really should read this book because it changes your perspective about things. Allan Zullo and Mara Bovsun did an awesome job describing this incredible, but heart-breaking book about holocaust survivors. This story should help everyone learn about their past and try to prevent anything of this sort happening again. These holocaust survivors were very courageous and are lucky to have survived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1