Customer Reviews for

Survivors: A Novel of the Coming Collapse

Average Rating 3.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nailed it...

Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event....
Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event.

The lines that delineate good versus evil are laid bare in this gripping tale that is equal parts "how-to" manual and expository of the truly thin veneer that currently holds our society together. The most intriguing aspect of this book is the realization that the vast majority has already self-selected which side of that line they will stand on when the time comes. This should be required reading for everyone; enlightenment is not just for the currently prepared but for those with a seeking soul as well.

posted by srsent on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Can't Recommend it, sorry, sorry

Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is po...
Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is poorly written, contains

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author seems to think that "Kill them all and let God sort 'em" should be in the bible, and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist"
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of a Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) the author's alter ego has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble, something that is wrongly denied him in the normal world. The book is poorly written, disjointed,and contains many imponderables. Can you really ride a horse from Beleize to the American southwest and only enter the desert after crossing the Rio Grande into Texas? Following an economic collapse, will food be in short supply but gas be readily available? Will Belgium really lead a military invasion of America? If your only child, an 11 year old girl, is burned to death, wouldn;t it have some emotional impact? Hmmm.

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author appears to adhere to the philosophy of "Kill them all and let God sort 'em", and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist".

The story's premise had potential, but the execution is lacking. Read "Lucifer's Hammer" or "Alas Babylon" instead.

posted by WalkingDude on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Eye opener

    I've never heard of the author before reading this book but this really exposed a lot to me. I started checking out the blog site and thinking about how to be prepared for this kind of scenario, or even less extreme like extended power outage. Good story overall and I liked the characters. I wish it felt more finished at the end and some of the buildup seemed fruitless to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Okay

    Not as good as patriots. I personally like The Collapse by Jeff Stanfield much bwtter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Good read

    This is the 2nd book by Rawles and is not as good as the 1st book, Patriot. This story is basically the beginning of the story told from a different perspective and has some different people in it but also has all the people from the Patriot to. I suggest you read this first then the Patriot 2nd but you don't have to read both to understand it. The Patriot is the better of the 2, if you read this first don't be discouraged and feel like the Patriot is not worth reading because it is a awesome book and the better of the 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    a good read

    more of the same as patriots,entertaining, but not the best apocalptic book i have read. i think lights out is far better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Not as good as Patriots

    To date I believe that Patriots is a better book. Survivors is good but I can relate more to the characters in Patriots much better.
    That said I am giving both of these books to friends as Christmas gifts..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly recommended

    It ties nicely into his first book, and it clears up some questions. I was a enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Big disappointment

    I enjoyed the first book but not this one. The book felt like it was half a book with lots of loose ends. I am not sure why we had the part courtship of two pilot characters. Was this to teach us how to date? Not a good book and I am getting tired of the author preaching to me. I for one am done with this series there are much better stories out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Annoying

    Story ok and timely but author obsessed with abbreviatIons for everything Who can remember them anyway?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Entertaining and informative

    Simple story with issues and ideas that causes one to think of what he/she would be able to do if life as we know it suddenly changed. Time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    I really wanted to like this book

    I really wanted to like this book.........I read Rawles other books, and while this book was interesting because it tried to tie in the characters from "Patriots"....the book left me unsatisfied. The characters were undeveloped, and at the end I was asking myself "What happened to so and so ?" They just disappeared. I do not speak Spanish or German and the long quotes left me looking for a translation that never came....the quotes at the beginning of the chapters were too long and just rambling rants. I am a Christian but Praying for the bad Guys you just shot in an ambush.....alittle over the top. Rawles knows survival and Prepping and his first book was a half and half of "Novel" and "Survival how to", Survivors was a bunch of disconnected stories that threw in alittle how to, but was so techical that it would be on no use to the average "Prepper". I do not think I will be operating a refinery after the apocalyps. It appears that The End of the World has become big business for the author. I guess I cannot fault him for making money off of this topic. However, if you are not going to make it an informative "Survival How To " book at least make it entertaining. Plus I am surprised that the TV show "Walking Dead" has not claimed copy write infringement on the books cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Open your eyes and read this book

    Information is a key factor in surviving any sort of situation. Mr. Rawles provides plenty in this book concerning our inevitable economic collapse. Each chapter of the book details the difficulties encountered when people try to survive after fiat currency has returned to its normal value...worthless! The trials and tribulations of each character give you a glimpse into what is on our horizon and the situations we could encounter. As the chapters go by you end up asking yourself how you would deal with everyday problems such as groceries and clean water. When the conflicts get hostile it gives you even more to think about. I would recommend taking notes while reading and then to hit the Internet when you finish the book. By performing your due diligence and making a few preparations now you will be way ahead of the pack when things start to dissolve. Overall, the book was entertaining and informative at the same time and I would rank it one notch below his Patriots book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Claptrap

    Annoying moralization

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Interesting tale

    "Survivors" follows Rawles' first novel, "Patriots." But "Survivors" doesn't satisfy the way that "Patriots" did. It doesn't build the characters as thoroughly - the reader can't get inside their heads the way that they can in the earlier work. And it isn't as instructive as "Patriots." Though there is useful information in it, the situations it addresses are too specific to the characters to be generally educating to the reader. Still, it is an enjoyable book, telling an interesting tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Guns and Prayin

    I love survival stories and looked forward to reading this one. It was so bad I did not finish it--wish I could have returned it. Although it was described as a post-apocalyptic novel, it turned out to be more a story of acquiring bigger and more guns with a lot of praying in-between. The characters were flat, even the praying was non-emotional. It could be described as a Christian novel but the characters were so one-dimensional it was not even that. Don't waste your money on this book. Instead, I suggest Lucifer's Hammer. While it's not a Christian book, it's an eye popping survival story with themes of how far should you go to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Did not like it.

    This book is completely different from the well-written & informative Patriots book.
    Survivors jumps back & forth across time references & groups of people, is very confusing & complicated, & offered very little usable information.
    We were highly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Where is the rest of the story?

    Way too much prayer & bible study - too little character development and the book/story just ended leaving this reader unsatisfied and the nucleus of a good story incomplete.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Good reading for a boring night

    i have read all of Rawles's books. As a work of fiction it was very entertaining. I will say this, this prequel comes nowhere near the caliber of "Patriots" I was grossly dissapointed in Survivors. the story seemed seemed like it was written in a jr high writing class. Too much time was spent on redundant detail like radio codes and weapons instruction. To me that is wasteful writing unless there is nothing else to write about. Total trivial filler IMHO. Good ? Yes. Great ? No. Maybe Mr. Rawles should concentrate on character and plot development instead of pushing his religous agenda. I expected more from him. Thinking this would take me 2-3 days to read I finished it in one night . Not what I would call a real gripper. James, you can do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Great book

    Great book. Would recommend to the newcomer in survival to read this one before Patriots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Almost got me.

    Half way through the book I was seriously considering buying a gun. The read is fast paced and disturbing but does make one think. Fortunately I have read enough history that I can realize that this dismal future is very unlikely even in the worst of worst case scenarios. But it is an emotionally engaging story that moves fast and sheds some light on the way the survivalist reasons, or tries to reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Written by a man who understands what could happen in the very near future

    As always, a well written look at what could easily happen in the very near future. It is good to have a plan, should this actually take place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5