Customer Reviews for

Survivors: A Novel of the Coming Collapse

Average Rating 3.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nailed it...

Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event....
Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event.

The lines that delineate good versus evil are laid bare in this gripping tale that is equal parts "how-to" manual and expository of the truly thin veneer that currently holds our society together. The most intriguing aspect of this book is the realization that the vast majority has already self-selected which side of that line they will stand on when the time comes. This should be required reading for everyone; enlightenment is not just for the currently prepared but for those with a seeking soul as well.

posted by srsent on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Can't Recommend it, sorry, sorry

Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is po...
Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is poorly written, contains

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author seems to think that "Kill them all and let God sort 'em" should be in the bible, and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist"
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of a Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) the author's alter ego has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble, something that is wrongly denied him in the normal world. The book is poorly written, disjointed,and contains many imponderables. Can you really ride a horse from Beleize to the American southwest and only enter the desert after crossing the Rio Grande into Texas? Following an economic collapse, will food be in short supply but gas be readily available? Will Belgium really lead a military invasion of America? If your only child, an 11 year old girl, is burned to death, wouldn;t it have some emotional impact? Hmmm.

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author appears to adhere to the philosophy of "Kill them all and let God sort 'em", and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist".

The story's premise had potential, but the execution is lacking. Read "Lucifer's Hammer" or "Alas Babylon" instead.

posted by WalkingDude on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Can't Recommend it, sorry, sorry

    Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
    The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is poorly written, contains

    The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author seems to think that "Kill them all and let God sort 'em" should be in the bible, and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist"
    The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of a Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) the author's alter ego has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble, something that is wrongly denied him in the normal world. The book is poorly written, disjointed,and contains many imponderables. Can you really ride a horse from Beleize to the American southwest and only enter the desert after crossing the Rio Grande into Texas? Following an economic collapse, will food be in short supply but gas be readily available? Will Belgium really lead a military invasion of America? If your only child, an 11 year old girl, is burned to death, wouldn;t it have some emotional impact? Hmmm.

    The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author appears to adhere to the philosophy of "Kill them all and let God sort 'em", and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist".

    The story's premise had potential, but the execution is lacking. Read "Lucifer's Hammer" or "Alas Babylon" instead.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    A Disappointment

    This book feels like it was created out of leftover chapters discarded from the first book. I thoroughly enjoyed "Patriots", but this book isn't even close. I wish I could get a refund.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read much better novels. Patriots was okay, but not great

    I have read much better novels. Patriots was okay, but not great. Give
    up on Rawles and read some GREAT novels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Patriots was pretty good but this book reads like a child wrote

    Patriots was pretty good but this book reads like a child wrote it. Not very good at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Way too preachy

    According to this book there are only two ways to survive. Be a mexican gang banger or overly religous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I found this book disappointing

    After reading PATRIOTS (written by the same author) which I found difficult to put down, I found that plot in this book progressed too slow for my liking.

    I prefer a story to be completed in its entity in one book. This one appears to be paving the way for another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    was dissapointed

    Not in the same league with "patriots", very disappointing. Seemeed like a half-hearted attempt at a writing. I like Rawles and follow his blog but will not buy another book if this is what he going to be putting out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I kept waiting for it to get better

    I enjoyed Patriots, and looked forward to this book (even pre-ordered it). It started off slow. I expected this, and kept waiting for it to pick up. I got about half way through it, and was still waiting for it to pick up the action. 3/4 of the way through, and I was still waiting. Then I was done, and I was still waiting. It's not a "bad" read, just not the exciting times that I was expecting. It reads more like a technical manual than a survival type novel. I was glad to see some amateur (Ham) radio info in it, as I am a Ham and like to see the hobby expanded.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Save your money

    After Patriots, it is no surprise that Rawles has written a loser with Survivors. Nothing to see here as the auther muddles around with a bad story line while he is teaching the prepper/survivalist lifestyle and mindset. Read if you must, you will glean some good preparedness info but it will leave a bad taste in you mouth for having spent too much money for so little product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Sample sucks

    I got the sample of this book, whixh should have been 58 pages. Literally every 3rd page skipped a nimber or 2. Went directly to the next page but the page numbers jumped up, so it was really like a 25 page sample.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Although the story concept was OK I could only read it by skippi

    Although the story concept was OK I could only read it by skipping the chapter beginning quotes, the biblical references and discussions of the bible. Beyond that it was far from complete and with very little action. It's appears to be written as a political book and is derogatory of Ian's (a main character) commander in chief, the popularly elected President of the United States.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    My least favorite of the three Patriots books. This book mainly

    My least favorite of the three Patriots books. This book mainly focuses on one military member making his way from Europe back home to the US after the economy collapses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Nailed it...

    Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event.

    The lines that delineate good versus evil are laid bare in this gripping tale that is equal parts "how-to" manual and expository of the truly thin veneer that currently holds our society together. The most intriguing aspect of this book is the realization that the vast majority has already self-selected which side of that line they will stand on when the time comes. This should be required reading for everyone; enlightenment is not just for the currently prepared but for those with a seeking soul as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    I can recommend this book to anyone with an open mind

    While James Wesley, Rawles is not a great writer he is a good one and this book is better than his first endeavor "Patriots". There are some interesting characters and a good narrative. There are some pretty exciting sections and while a little slow in some chapters, the story does move along at a fast enough pace to not be boring. I had a few problems with some of the facts surrounding the timeline and causes of the crunch. One point - if the grid goes down and the military ceases to function as designed - who is going to maintain the GPS system? in the book there are several times that GPS is used for navigation - both for aircraft and sailing vessels. I believe that within a few months of a grid down collapse, there would be no or only limited availability of GPS. Also, if the US dollar collapses - the Euro and most other fiat currencies would implode as well. The European union would probably be in worse condition than the US. I also think that there is a much greater chance the US will be a tyranny based police state control grid that will use deadly force to prevent things from getting too bad. The bottom line is - no matter what you believe, everyone should be prepping for such a collapse - it may be 2 years or 10, but it will happen. Get out of debt, store food and consumables, Get a firearm and learn how to use, stock up on ammo and secure your retirement with at least some gold and silver. Be ready and you may survive. Buy and read this book and imagine that it is either the worst scenario that could happen or the very minimum it is the least that could happen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Decent read with many loose strings

    I enjoyed this book but found it had a lot that wasn't resolved. I realize that part of this is intentional, no doubt leaving the author room to add onto the storylines of each of the characters; however, it made the book's ending feel hurried and unfinished. All in all, very good in spite of the aforementioned fault.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I Prayed for the Book To Finish

    I didn't have any special expectations; just wanted a beach read kind of book with the potential for getting in to another series with interesting characters. I found myself praying with the characters,not for deliverance from their troubles but but for the story to finish. And ( spoiler alert) did the author need to kill off one of the more interesting ones?? I won't be going on with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book of the trilogy by far. The story of one man's return f

    Best book of the trilogy by far. The story of one man's return from Afghanistan after the government essentially abandons the military there is something already coming to pass as our current leader won't even deploy the fleet to the Persian Gulf due to budget cuts. Yikes! Anway, it is one of the most thrilling aspects of this book and the tightest storyline in the trilogy given Rawles' penchant for prepper sermonizing. The other storylines in this book seem like re-hashes of Patriots... which means they will be doubly re-hashed in Founders. But still, I love this book. If you read any of the books in the trilogy read this one. Then move on to One Second After or the Road for a real scare. Personally and theologically I am more of a Left Behind prepper -- prepared for the Rapture not for a post-collapse civil war! This book is pretty cool, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    recommend easy reading

    if you like prepers you like this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Good read with plenty action. Entertaining. Ending kinda leaves

    Good read with plenty action. Entertaining. Ending kinda leaves you hanging unless you read the other two books of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Just finished reading Survivors - I'm sure it will linger in my

    Just finished reading Survivors -
    I'm sure it will linger in my thoughts for weeks to come.
    I liked the words of wisdom intros to the chapters and the scripure references when things got tense
    I've book marked survival tips through out the book and hope I never have to use them.
    Looking fwrd to the sequel,
    Jeff
    Eugene OR

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5