Customer Reviews for

Survivors: A Novel of the Coming Collapse

Average Rating 3.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nailed it...

Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event....
Having just finished reading "Survivors," I find myself once again shoved out of my comfort zone and forced to not only acknowledge the very plausible series of events that could lead to a financial "Crunch," but to also reassess my personal readiness for such an event.

The lines that delineate good versus evil are laid bare in this gripping tale that is equal parts "how-to" manual and expository of the truly thin veneer that currently holds our society together. The most intriguing aspect of this book is the realization that the vast majority has already self-selected which side of that line they will stand on when the time comes. This should be required reading for everyone; enlightenment is not just for the currently prepared but for those with a seeking soul as well.

posted by srsent on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Can't Recommend it, sorry, sorry

Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is po...
Can't recommend it, sorry, sorry.
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of his Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) he has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble. It is poorly written, contains

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author seems to think that "Kill them all and let God sort 'em" should be in the bible, and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist"
The book comes across as an boy's pubertal fantasy, where with the help of a Red Rider BB Gun (or at least a more lethal equivalent) the author's alter ego has the opportunity to achieve status, glory, and the power to make his enemies tremble, something that is wrongly denied him in the normal world. The book is poorly written, disjointed,and contains many imponderables. Can you really ride a horse from Beleize to the American southwest and only enter the desert after crossing the Rio Grande into Texas? Following an economic collapse, will food be in short supply but gas be readily available? Will Belgium really lead a military invasion of America? If your only child, an 11 year old girl, is burned to death, wouldn;t it have some emotional impact? Hmmm.

The book also has a heavy dose of fundamentalist preaching. The author appears to adhere to the philosophy of "Kill them all and let God sort 'em", and doesn't see any contradiction in the term "Christain Survivalist".

The story's premise had potential, but the execution is lacking. Read "Lucifer's Hammer" or "Alas Babylon" instead.

posted by WalkingDude on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read much better novels. Patriots was okay, but not great

    I have read much better novels. Patriots was okay, but not great. Give
    up on Rawles and read some GREAT novels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I found this book disappointing

    After reading PATRIOTS (written by the same author) which I found difficult to put down, I found that plot in this book progressed too slow for my liking.

    I prefer a story to be completed in its entity in one book. This one appears to be paving the way for another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    was dissapointed

    Not in the same league with "patriots", very disappointing. Seemeed like a half-hearted attempt at a writing. I like Rawles and follow his blog but will not buy another book if this is what he going to be putting out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I kept waiting for it to get better

    I enjoyed Patriots, and looked forward to this book (even pre-ordered it). It started off slow. I expected this, and kept waiting for it to pick up. I got about half way through it, and was still waiting for it to pick up the action. 3/4 of the way through, and I was still waiting. Then I was done, and I was still waiting. It's not a "bad" read, just not the exciting times that I was expecting. It reads more like a technical manual than a survival type novel. I was glad to see some amateur (Ham) radio info in it, as I am a Ham and like to see the hobby expanded.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Although the story concept was OK I could only read it by skippi

    Although the story concept was OK I could only read it by skipping the chapter beginning quotes, the biblical references and discussions of the bible. Beyond that it was far from complete and with very little action. It's appears to be written as a political book and is derogatory of Ian's (a main character) commander in chief, the popularly elected President of the United States.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    My least favorite of the three Patriots books. This book mainly

    My least favorite of the three Patriots books. This book mainly focuses on one military member making his way from Europe back home to the US after the economy collapses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I Prayed for the Book To Finish

    I didn't have any special expectations; just wanted a beach read kind of book with the potential for getting in to another series with interesting characters. I found myself praying with the characters,not for deliverance from their troubles but but for the story to finish. And ( spoiler alert) did the author need to kill off one of the more interesting ones?? I won't be going on with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Where is the rest of the story?

    Way too much prayer & bible study - too little character development and the book/story just ended leaving this reader unsatisfied and the nucleus of a good story incomplete.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Good reading for a boring night

    i have read all of Rawles's books. As a work of fiction it was very entertaining. I will say this, this prequel comes nowhere near the caliber of "Patriots" I was grossly dissapointed in Survivors. the story seemed seemed like it was written in a jr high writing class. Too much time was spent on redundant detail like radio codes and weapons instruction. To me that is wasteful writing unless there is nothing else to write about. Total trivial filler IMHO. Good ? Yes. Great ? No. Maybe Mr. Rawles should concentrate on character and plot development instead of pushing his religous agenda. I expected more from him. Thinking this would take me 2-3 days to read I finished it in one night . Not what I would call a real gripper. James, you can do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Almost got me.

    Half way through the book I was seriously considering buying a gun. The read is fast paced and disturbing but does make one think. Fortunately I have read enough history that I can realize that this dismal future is very unlikely even in the worst of worst case scenarios. But it is an emotionally engaging story that moves fast and sheds some light on the way the survivalist reasons, or tries to reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Had Great Potential - Way Too Much Going on to Follow

    This story takes place just as the United States' economy crashes. The first thing that happens is the dollar becomes increasingly useless. Silver, gold, or barter is the way many people end up getting goods. But others try to rob, loot, or kill to make their own way. This story follows several people as they struggle to survive in the crunch.

    Andy Laine is in Afghanistan and sees how everything is working toward a crash. He gets himself some off base supplies and makes a plan to get back home to his family.

    Lars Laine is Andy's brother. He is living on the family farm trying to keep everyone safe and the farm running. He is a veteran that was injured during his service.

    Ian and Blanco Doyle are ex-military that first try to get their daughter then provide security for a group of homeowners for a place to stay.

    Ignacio Garcia is the leader of a gang that start looting to feed all in the group.

    Matthew, Reuben, and Shadrack Phelps are orphans that are sent out on their own. They find Lars Laine and help out on the farm.

    Sheila Randall has her son and mother and starts a general store to help out others in the little town she moves to.

    The story is full of truth. The way events happen in the book, I can easily see the same thing happening in the country today. The value of the dollar crashing, only silver, gold, or barter used for transactions, and how people rob, steal, or kill for things they need. I really liked the different quotes at the beginning of each new section. They really make you thing about human nature.

    Sadly there is just way too much happening in this story. You follow way too many people and not always in the same time frame. There will be a not at the top of each section that tells who is being followed in that section and when. The problem comes when you read about Andy in November then Lars in January or Ian twenty years prior.

    Also, there was way too much information. There is exact figures for how the dollar rate goes down every day, all the acronyms for the military things, exact short hand for the radio, and even a three page list of who all the characters are. I couldn't keep up with most of it and ended up skimming through a lot of the book.

    I couldn't finish this book. It just bounced everywhere, had way too much information, and too many characters to follow. It has good potential for a end of the country book, but I couldn't stick with it.

    I received this book for free from Simon & Schuster Galley Grab in exchange for an honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1