Customer Reviews for

The Survivors: Book One

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A lot better than than it looks!

While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very rea...
While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very realistic. From there, it goes into the story, catching up with those who survived and their personal stories sucked me right in. I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was full of the stuff I'd been looking for in other books and while bits of it are hard to read due to grammar issues, I highly recommend it for anyone who worries over 2012 or the end of the world. Mrs. White's vision is chilling. Can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

posted by LMcKinsey on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Racially offensive

Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to ...
Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to destroy what's left of America, raping, burning, and killing as he goes. The good guys are all white. Even I, a white much older woman, am offended. I liked this free novel enough to buy the next book before reading much of the first, but i regret that, now. Another primary antagonist is white, and bad, but he is shown to have saving graces. Non-whites are doomed to insane, irrational, depraved behaviors without reprieve. I'm surprised other reviewers, save one, haven't mentioned this obvious pattern. The book is also in desperate need of decent editing. I often had to pause to make sense of nonsense. That said, the plot and development of a few characters was enough to hold my interest. For the reviewer who wondered at the sequence of book titles, this is the list. The Survivors, On the Road, and Safe Haven, Adrian's Eagles. The first two are included in the free edition, under the title The Survivors.

posted by 3997628 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Could havr been great

    Terrible missuse of commas. So much racism i couldnt finish it

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    *eye roll*

    This book was slow and boring probably got five chapters in while skipping pages. Hate to be a hater but.. this book sucks
    :/

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    This book is blatantly racist, in one passage Adrian "the g

    This book is blatantly racist, in one passage Adrian "the great white hope" of America and possiby the world, is speaking to the lone black guy in his camp, and lets him know that he took him in "despite all the problems your people inevitably bring with them." I am shocked that the author would put such nonsense in print, further, she goes on to paint a picture of insane, depraved Mexicans, seeking to claim America as their own, killing all the males (white of course) and keeping the women (whie of course) as their sex slaves. Come again, what of all the Mexican Americans who make up a huge part of our current population, who are loyal, upstanding citizens? The tone of this book is that if you are not white, you are prone to immoral and violent behavior and will only survive through the kind rationale of the genetically white elite. Oh, and if your not a Marine, your a total zero. I was completely taken aback by this book and ashamed by such negative connotations. Overall it has a decent story line, and probably could be a good read, but the overt racism was daunting. I am glad it was free; it was a waste of my time, but not my money. Additionally, the editing left a great deal to be desired and the beginning and background info were hard to follow. Again, could possibly have been stellar, but lost major points for the ugliness.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Racist or author

    I haven't finished the book, and I'm not even sure that I will. The idea is intriguing, but poorly executed. I can even live with bad grammar and some plot holes, but I have very huge issues with the blatant racism presented in this book. So far Mexicans and Blacks are evil and the only heroes are white (very white). Also, I find that it is very ridiculous that the author bills this book as being professionally edited and scenes rewritten. She needs to get her money back if she paid somebody to edit it. Overall, the whole premise is unbelievable and set to a poorly constructed timeline. Her footnotes suggest that she did extensive research, as she often refrences "in my research". In actuality nothing seems based on factual research, but merely what she has contrived in her imagination. This results in many inconsistencies that are unforgivable. For example, in one instance a character smugly refrenced that fact that the EMP would have rendered all vehicles useless, and now there seem to be an endless supply of working vehicles. As an avid reader of fantasy, post apocolyptic, etc., we are willing to accept a lot of weirdness and strange circumstances, but making them work and be believable is what makes us keep coming back formore. This book falls very short of that mark.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    No wonder this book was free its worse than awful.

    No wonder this book was free its worse than awful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Bee eh dee bad

    Much like a college paper tossed together at the last minute, it is choppy, confusing and without segways to the next scene/subject. I might try the next part if it, too, is free. If money is required, the author should not quit her day job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    NO!

    I can,t keep reading this when all of the good guys are white and the only one good enough to be second in command "must have blue eyes". I READ FOR THE fun of it
    . I CAN watch the news to be slapped by racism!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Racist and poorly written

    Racist and poorly written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    UGH!! CAN'T STAND IT!!

    "The Survivors" had the potential to be a pretty good book. However, with the way the author repeats herself, the MANY grammatical errors, and the sometimes just downright confusing flow of the book - IT'S NOT WORTH THE MONEY. A third-grader could do better in the grammar department than Ms. White. I read about one-third of it and then quit. Perhaps the blame should be placed on the publisher's shoulders. Aren't they supposed to EDIT?? If you want a really good thriller, read "Torment" by Jeremy Bishop, "Patient Zero" by Jonathan Maberry, or ANY of Scott Sigler's novels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Witches?

    Just weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Couldn't even finish the book. Too much left unexplained and jus

    Couldn't even finish the book. Too much left unexplained and just too jumbled up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Amazingly horrible and unprofessional.

    As with so many other reviewers, i cannot finish this garbage. Waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Morgan star

    To keep a blind eye to the things that really matter racist thats a big word for some heres a eye opener make some good with gay rights it would help some do it if your human we all have the right to love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    RACIST!

    Disgraceful! Get a clue author- could have been a decent read if you had not been so over the top racist. Waste of spsce & time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I would not read this based on the 1 star comments alone. The au

    I would not read this based on the 1 star comments alone. The author sounds highly racist and more than likely obsessed with being white in a white world ....and no...I'm not black. White people don't like that crap either!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Freezes on Color Nook

    I was just getting into this book and it just froze. I finally had to go onling and delete it from my library. Sorry, because I really like this type of book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2