Customer Reviews for

The Survivors: Book One

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A lot better than than it looks!

While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very rea...
While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very realistic. From there, it goes into the story, catching up with those who survived and their personal stories sucked me right in. I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was full of the stuff I'd been looking for in other books and while bits of it are hard to read due to grammar issues, I highly recommend it for anyone who worries over 2012 or the end of the world. Mrs. White's vision is chilling. Can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

posted by LMcKinsey on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Racially offensive

Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to ...
Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to destroy what's left of America, raping, burning, and killing as he goes. The good guys are all white. Even I, a white much older woman, am offended. I liked this free novel enough to buy the next book before reading much of the first, but i regret that, now. Another primary antagonist is white, and bad, but he is shown to have saving graces. Non-whites are doomed to insane, irrational, depraved behaviors without reprieve. I'm surprised other reviewers, save one, haven't mentioned this obvious pattern. The book is also in desperate need of decent editing. I often had to pause to make sense of nonsense. That said, the plot and development of a few characters was enough to hold my interest. For the reviewer who wondered at the sequence of book titles, this is the list. The Survivors, On the Road, and Safe Haven, Adrian's Eagles. The first two are included in the free edition, under the title The Survivors.

posted by 3997628 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Racially offensive

    Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to destroy what's left of America, raping, burning, and killing as he goes. The good guys are all white. Even I, a white much older woman, am offended. I liked this free novel enough to buy the next book before reading much of the first, but i regret that, now. Another primary antagonist is white, and bad, but he is shown to have saving graces. Non-whites are doomed to insane, irrational, depraved behaviors without reprieve. I'm surprised other reviewers, save one, haven't mentioned this obvious pattern. The book is also in desperate need of decent editing. I often had to pause to make sense of nonsense. That said, the plot and development of a few characters was enough to hold my interest. For the reviewer who wondered at the sequence of book titles, this is the list. The Survivors, On the Road, and Safe Haven, Adrian's Eagles. The first two are included in the free edition, under the title The Survivors.

    23 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Bad to the point of funny

    The book has good bits in it, and then some really bad parts. I about roll on the floor laughing everytime the author refers to the characters as the females or males. The description makes a point of saying this is the edited version. I can't imagine what the previous version looked like. The subplots are better than the main plot.

    The views in the story are.... Americans are week sheep unless you are a marine. Women are chattel and exist to be raped. Mexicans are an horde waiting to descend on America, kill the men, and rape the women.

    I can only recomed this for its comedic value, in that it is so bad, it is funny. The author is paraphrasing "The Stand", with a racist world view.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    I'm trying my best to like this series but the author is making

    I'm trying my best to like this series but the author is making it exceptionally difficult to do. Even with
    "professional
    editing" it
    is sorely lacking in polish or precision. The author's glaring lack of knowledge of Spanish, geography, meteorlogy, etc. etc. ad naseum is ludicrously distracting. The author would do well to write about subjects she is more familiar with or at least do more research on her chosen topic. Her work comes across as juvinile and amateurish at best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Have decided

    My opinion remains the same. Wont be buying or reading any other books in this series. Glad this obe was free. :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Disappointed

    This is among the longest and worst edited post nuclear distruction of the world books, I have ever read. It is also very confusing. It seems there have been several rewrites divisions, and combinations, of this book and all are here to confuse the reader on which is a sequal, a rewrite or a combo pack. I do not know if this 1000+ page book is the entire series of three, the first two books or number one by its self. This book is about owning women, putting down other races, witches, seers and the paranormal, mutations, rape, beatings and other terrible acts of violence. It jumps around like popcorn in a hot pan. For adult readers.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    My opinion

    This book was just ok for me. The author liked to identify people by their hair color for some reason. That was friggin annoying. I hated the angela character. She was supposedly this ultr powerful witch who made it through medical school to become a doctor yet she let a man "own" her? That made no sense to me, who thinks like that this day and age? For real? And the whole thing between her and the marc character was too drawn out and annoying. There was also very racist overtones throughout. Very uncool. There were a lot of references to stephen king, this author needs a lot of work to reach that level of writing. However, I admit it was better than most of the free nook books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Couldnt

    Couldnt manage to force myself through this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    The word "sexy" does not belong in a book about the wo

    The word "sexy" does not belong in a book about the world after a nuclear holocaust. At least, not so many times. "sexy blue eyes," "sexy cologne," "sexy muscles," "sexy black hair," "sexy goatee," "sexy mouth," "sexy strip of hair," "sexy white teeth," "sexy grin," "sexy accent," "sexy outline," "sexy contrast," "sexy scent," "sexy legs," "sexy voice," "her light southern accent was fake but sexy," "her voice was rough, sexy...," "Kendall's face was red, but with his sweaty, sexy skin covered...," "sexy musky man," and so forth. Ha ha!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pissed me off that I read thru 1200 pages of book one and 2 and

    Pissed me off that I read thru 1200 pages of book one and 2 and got no resolution to the journey. It was not worth that amount of time. If they had gotten closure on Angela's battle with Kenn, I might have been happy. I don't want read thru another 1000 to find out nothing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1