Customer Reviews for

The Survivors: Book One

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A lot better than than it looks!

While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very rea...
While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very realistic. From there, it goes into the story, catching up with those who survived and their personal stories sucked me right in. I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was full of the stuff I'd been looking for in other books and while bits of it are hard to read due to grammar issues, I highly recommend it for anyone who worries over 2012 or the end of the world. Mrs. White's vision is chilling. Can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

posted by LMcKinsey on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Racially offensive

Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to ...
Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to destroy what's left of America, raping, burning, and killing as he goes. The good guys are all white. Even I, a white much older woman, am offended. I liked this free novel enough to buy the next book before reading much of the first, but i regret that, now. Another primary antagonist is white, and bad, but he is shown to have saving graces. Non-whites are doomed to insane, irrational, depraved behaviors without reprieve. I'm surprised other reviewers, save one, haven't mentioned this obvious pattern. The book is also in desperate need of decent editing. I often had to pause to make sense of nonsense. That said, the plot and development of a few characters was enough to hold my interest. For the reviewer who wondered at the sequence of book titles, this is the list. The Survivors, On the Road, and Safe Haven, Adrian's Eagles. The first two are included in the free edition, under the title The Survivors.

posted by 3997628 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Engaging story but the overt racism is an annoying distraction

    Not a bad spin on end of the world, but too many distracting overtones. The "true Americans are good, Mexicans are vicious nihilistic mass murderers and rapists" bit was bad enough. But then the scene where the all generous white savior figure tells the sole black man that they rescued him despite all the problems "his people" (blacks) always cause because at least he's an American? Oh please!! Even a white middle class American mom like myself finds that darn offensive. Seriously undermines the overall story.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Overall, this was a fairly good book. It jumped between charact

    Overall, this was a fairly good book. It jumped between characters a
    lot with long gaps while the story caught you up on the other
    characters. There was a LOT of gaps in character development and I got
    to the end of this long book wondering if I'd wasted my time. Not sure
    that it was good enough to make me pick up a sequel and get more of the
    same. But... I am interested in knowing what happens to some of the
    characters I really liked and I would hope that some of the many rapists
    in the story get what they are due. It left me thinking I'd just read a
    500 page prologue and not sure the story is worth picking up the real
    book, though.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    The Survivors

    Very interesting premise but the book lacks character development (why do the characters do what they do), instead droning on about superficial attractions like schoolgirls. Again, given the premise the book falls short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Not bad

    Its not as good as you think. Its actally pretty boring. Don't waste your time reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good read

    Hard to start, but worth the struggle. Jumps from one life to another, can get confusing. Lots of military lingo. Drawn out in many places. Book over 1200 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    From The Aussie Zombie

    When I purchased The Survivors, I obviously didn’t read the full summary. I love post-apocalyptic novels, but I didn’t realize that there was also a fantasy element in this book.


    Having said that, the book started well, straight into the action with the nuclear war of 2012 devastating America and the inevitable nuclear winter, and continues with the survival stories of the characters which are introduced gradually throughout the first part of the book.

    There are also some minor characters introduced through the book that are only heard of once, presumably to be reintroduced in the next book/s in the series, although for me that was slightly disappointing as I wanted to have their stories fleshed out a little more to make them more memorable.

    As the action slowed down in middle parts of the book, I did find my attention wavering, and started to enjoy the book less and less, however it picked up again towards the end when characters started to develop more.

    The fantasy theme I found to be unnecessary at times and added to the story at others, but I think without this element I would have enjoyed this book more.

    The Kindle formatting is distracting and I found myself slightly irritated by the breaks between paragraphs where there is no break in the story.

    One thing that I also found strange was the description of some characters not by name but as ‘the blond’, ‘the dirty blond’, ‘the Marine’ etc. I knew who was being described most of the time, but sometimes (as there is more than one blond character!) it really confused me.

    I do have the second and third books in this series, which I will read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    The subject is very well covered.

    The story is very believable and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Give this series a chance

    This series has some annoying issues with spelling and a penchant for sound effects expression overkill BUT I still enjoyed the plot and its many characters.
    Once you get into the swing of the story and its extensive cast it is really quite entertaining and you won't want to put it down. I love apocalyptic tales and this series does not disappoint.
    Ms. White has a great imagination and I believe with the right editor and support she can be a 5 star author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    This series held my interest enough to purchase the next books i

    This series held my interest enough to purchase the next books in the series. I paid for them, in a world with plenty of free books I paid for these. it's that interesting!. 

    That said i am almost resentful at having to pay for a series with the absolute WORST editing i have ever seen!  Wrong words are used, words are missing, misspelled, and sometimes the sentence is just plain missing a whole thought. Like you are supposed to know what is in the author's head... but it isn't written anywhere. the whole series is edited like this. Fire the editor ! I felt like marking it up and sending it into the author. it distracted from the reading and ruined what is otherwise a very interesting read. Even the last book into the series, which i expected to be better edited since we were on book 5 or 6 by then.. same. Horrid editing and unfinished thoughts. Very sad . 5 stars for store, 1 star for editing. what is sadder is i will probably suffer through the next book in the series to see what's happening and be upset about all the errors. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Couldnt get intovit

    '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    good book

    Enjoyed this book but cannot find the next book to continue the story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    ok but not great

    didn't finish reading it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2