BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Survivors: Book One

Average Rating 4
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A lot better than than it looks!

While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very rea...
While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very realistic. From there, it goes into the story, catching up with those who survived and their personal stories sucked me right in. I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was full of the stuff I'd been looking for in other books and while bits of it are hard to read due to grammar issues, I highly recommend it for anyone who worries over 2012 or the end of the world. Mrs. White's vision is chilling. Can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

posted by LMcKinsey on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Racially offensive

Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to ...
Referring to 2 violent(demented) rapists as the "black" men, not once, but repeatedly, is just one example of this author's racial bias. Another is the choice of one of her primary antagonists, an insane Mexican slaver, who collects like- minded followers in a quest to destroy what's left of America, raping, burning, and killing as he goes. The good guys are all white. Even I, a white much older woman, am offended. I liked this free novel enough to buy the next book before reading much of the first, but i regret that, now. Another primary antagonist is white, and bad, but he is shown to have saving graces. Non-whites are doomed to insane, irrational, depraved behaviors without reprieve. I'm surprised other reviewers, save one, haven't mentioned this obvious pattern. The book is also in desperate need of decent editing. I often had to pause to make sense of nonsense. That said, the plot and development of a few characters was enough to hold my interest. For the reviewer who wondered at the sequence of book titles, this is the list. The Survivors, On the Road, and Safe Haven, Adrian's Eagles. The first two are included in the free edition, under the title The Survivors.

posted by 3997628 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A lot better than than it looks!

    While it could use a professional edit on the first few chapters, it's clear from the start that this book isn't like the other apocalypse novels. You're given a real reason why the war happened and then thrown into the middle of the chaos as it self destructs. Very realistic. From there, it goes into the story, catching up with those who survived and their personal stories sucked me right in. I couldn't wait to turn the page. It was full of the stuff I'd been looking for in other books and while bits of it are hard to read due to grammar issues, I highly recommend it for anyone who worries over 2012 or the end of the world. Mrs. White's vision is chilling. Can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    What a pleasant surprise

    If this book hadnt been free I probable would have passed it by. What a mistake that would have been on my part because this is must read for all post apocaliptic readers. Just goes to prove the old saying is true...never judge a book by its cover.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    brilliant job, Highly recommended!

    This was a book that hooked me from the very beginning. I've always loved reading post-apocalyptic themed books, but when you add an author who does a brilliant job of capturing the readers attention and leading their imagination from one entertaining chapter to the next, you have a definite winner. I've read many great books over the years, but this one has earned a spot in my all-time favorite list. Highly recommended!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Highly recommended to read it this year.

    I couldn't take my hands of this book. well written and well put.
    Think about it for a sec, all you need is one mistake to get us there.
    I hope we wont get there, but it's always nice to read what if... :)
    I enjoyed this book for start to end.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book grabbed me right away and I had a hard time putting it down when I had things to do! Four people unlikely to come together in other circumstances are pushed together because of a world tragedy. The apocalypse struck bringing the world down and created the ultimate devastation with the ultimate horrors to follow. They have to fight to stay alive and deal with predators on the hunt to prey and search for their next prey. Food is scarce and not very plentiful so it is the ultimate fight for daily survival. I look forward to reading more of the author's books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!

    What a great story. I really enjoy Post-Apocalyptic/disaster stories, THE SURVIVORS did not disappoint me! At first, because there is so much going on with all the different characters, I had a hard time keeping everybody/everything straight. I would find myself going back and re-reading portions just to make sure I didn't miss anything. However, as the story progressed and I became familiar with everybody, that wasn't an issue anymore. I was surprised at how the story was able to really draw me in. However, I was surprised at the abrupt (to me) ending, but then the author explained on the very next page that the Ebook version had to be split into 3 serial editions due to size. Fortunately, the next in the series can be downloaded in just seconds! If you enjoy Post-Apocalyptic stories with a lot of action and page turning suspense, then you don't want to pass this series of books up!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I couldnt put it down and after reading books 1,2,3 and 4 I  sti

    I couldnt put it down and after reading books 1,2,3 and 4 I  still want more!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    This is a realy good read, especially for the post apocalypse ge

    This is a realy good read, especially for the post apocalypse genre. There is excellent character and plot development. Can't wait to get the next book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    My first thought when I saw this is well, OK...says has a new p

    My first thought when I saw this is well, OK...says has a new perspective, I'm ready for a change, I'll give it a try. Well, I have been thru book one, book two and I am nearly finished with the final installment. I am SO glad I gave it a chance, even after seeing how many pages were in the first installment. The story moves along at a good pace, there's lots of action, lots of thought provoking ideas and situation, a love story that doesn't overshadow the tale and a great what if premise. The other reviews have hit on what it's about so I'll let it go with a "great read" recommendation. Open your imagination to what your life would be like in a post apocalyptic worlds. PS...Pay attention early on...you'll be glad you did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Enjoyed reading this story. This free book had book one (Life Af

    Enjoyed reading this story. This free book had book one (Life After War) and book two (On the Road) in it. The endings of both kinda left you hanging so I see why she put both of these together. I will be reading the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great series!

    Great series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Full of it!

    Kickass pa fiction`)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Doom and Gloom reads at a fast pace

    If you are not into end of world type stories...this is NOT for you BUT there is another free selection that follows this. Both together are great reads. Characters well developed and plot does not drag. Enjoyed much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is great!! There are some who think it is racially biased. I am not one of them. I feel most of the races in this book have questionable characters. There is some evil in all of them. Just like in real life. I find it very hard to put this book down. One of my new favorites!!! Keeps you on the edge of your seat, waiting to find out whats going to happen next. I highly recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommeded! I couldn't stop reading!

    I fell in love with the characters and very invested in their outcomes. One must suspend disbelief at some of the premises in the plot lines but if you are interested in post apocalypse fiction and good characters this series is one to read. This is the first in a series and I recommend all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Love the books got into the story because it was free but ended

    Love the books got into the story because it was free but ended up buying the rest and staying for the story!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!! Tells it like it probably will be when time time co

    GREAT BOOK!! Tells it like it probably will be when time time comes.  Looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great read

    I love all the adventure and drama. The mix of sci-fi annd fantasy is truly wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Soooo GOOD!

    I would totally reCommend this whole series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    An incredible read from start to finish. Can't wait to read more

    An incredible read from start to finish. Can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5