Customer Reviews for

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Live Longer!

In America, life expectancy is 78.14 years. If you would like to live longer, read this compelling self-help book. It's loaded with detailed research material and anecdotal tips on surviving--what to do when: being impaled with a foreign object, finding yourself lost in...
In America, life expectancy is 78.14 years. If you would like to live longer, read this compelling self-help book. It's loaded with detailed research material and anecdotal tips on surviving--what to do when: being impaled with a foreign object, finding yourself lost in the woods, experiencing an airplane crash, having a heart attack, or making a trip to the ER.

Many topics are covered with proof that they help people live: the power of prayer, managing fear, the will to live, and having good genes. Adversity can work to make people appreciate life and have a better perspective. Daily joy can be experienced after a traumatic episode.

Offered are such informative chapters as: The Survivor Profile, Your Survivor IQ, and Your Survivor Tool Kit. I suggest using this volume as a resource tool. Though it is interesting enough to be read straight through, I want to keep it around to refer to often.

posted by Smilingsally on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Speculation and opinions, not facts.

My disappointment with this book is based on my assumption that the author would provide a factual account, rather than a book full of speculation and religious instruction. For example, he asks people who survived accidents why they survived, and some say they prayed o...
My disappointment with this book is based on my assumption that the author would provide a factual account, rather than a book full of speculation and religious instruction. For example, he asks people who survived accidents why they survived, and some say they prayed or just trusted god. The author takes this sort of thing at face value and recommends that we should all become more religious and pray more. It makes you wonder why non-religious people survive accidents and illnesses. The author never questions his assumption that belief in the supernatural is helpful. But maybe we can't expect a rational analysis from journalists; they tend to pander to the public and they have no background in or understanding of research design or statistics or why anecdotes like "I prayed and god saved me" are meaningless.

posted by 932247 on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Live Longer!

    In America, life expectancy is 78.14 years. If you would like to live longer, read this compelling self-help book. It's loaded with detailed research material and anecdotal tips on surviving--what to do when: being impaled with a foreign object, finding yourself lost in the woods, experiencing an airplane crash, having a heart attack, or making a trip to the ER.<BR/><BR/>Many topics are covered with proof that they help people live: the power of prayer, managing fear, the will to live, and having good genes. Adversity can work to make people appreciate life and have a better perspective. Daily joy can be experienced after a traumatic episode.<BR/><BR/>Offered are such informative chapters as: The Survivor Profile, Your Survivor IQ, and Your Survivor Tool Kit. I suggest using this volume as a resource tool. Though it is interesting enough to be read straight through, I want to keep it around to refer to often.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Finished in Two Sittings.

    The author has compiled amazing survival stories from which he extracts what might be called "the elements of survival". He analyzes the attributes of individual survivors that may have enabled them to cheat death, as well as the dynamics of groups caught up in disasters and the factors that may have facilitated their survival or resulted in their demise. Particularly unforgettable was the story of a would-be suicide who changed his mind as he plunged off the Golden Gate Bridge -- and managed to live through it --with the miraculous assistance of a sea lion that arrived at precisely the right time. The author examines the assemblage of deeds, happenstance, coincidence and, yea, divine intervention that seem to conspire to bring about the unbelievable survival of certain individuals who triumph in the face of terrifying events, overwhelming injuries, unbearable pain and seemingly unbeatable odds. If you ever wonder how people overcome the tragedies that happen every day somewhere, this book might provide a bit of insight and inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprised at How Good This Was

    This book had more than I had expected. The author went into a good deal of depth about the different kinds of folks who do well under many different kinds of stress. While not necessarily prescriptive, the book left me with a number of useful ideas that are applicable to daily life. I'd recommend this to anyone interested in psychology and self-improvement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes a Great Business Book

    The Survivor's Club can be read as a relevant management survival tome. Particularly in today's downsized economy. As a worker in the world of human resources, I am constantly looking for non-business related books that will give me valuable insight. I have learned through the years that our best 'business lessons' come from outside the managerial world. This book is a stark example of this.

    The book really begin to hit home for me when I read chapter two: The Statues in the Storm. This is a no-brainer relationship to the business arena. The lessons learned in this one chapter is worth the price of the book.

    In addition, I will now be encouraging others to take the online survivor test. I believe it can provide a actionable and true look into the areas of careers that we need to work on in order to survive.

    Yes, luck plays a large part. But then again, keeping abreast of current methodologies, an updated resume and maintaining a wide network of associates can be the difference between an expanding career (life) or shoveling fries at a fast-food joint (death).

    I hope you find this review helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Thoughtprovoking

    This book is one of the best I've read in 2009. It provides hope and help, before during and after a challenging event. I was especially encouraged to learn the importance of prayer and networks of people. The more people I have in the ER waiting room increases my chances of survival!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Outstanding

    With numerous easy to relate to examples of each concept and theory, the book was compelling and facilitates introspection.
    I will use the lessons learned in business, relationships, finance, and everyday life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Realist

    I loved this book so much im going to read it again! I took the test online and discoverd im a realist. Im much aware of surroundings now. When im driving, walking to my car in a shopping mall, anywhere im i am aware and alert to everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Must+read

    Some+great+common+sense+stuff+%26+lots+more+info+everyone+should+know%21

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I love this book. I read it several months ago and think about i

    I love this book. I read it several months ago and think about it still. Sherwood offers stories of people that survived various forms for
     trauma from airplane crashes to a woman who fell and was impaled by a knitting needle! Through these stories he gives us ideas for
     preparing mentally to be survivors should the need arise. But more than that, he gives those who have already experienced trauma hope
     for healing.

    Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    very interesting book

    the concepts were very intriguing and i thought could be useful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    im first to do

    i wrote the first review!!! woo-hoo:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    very inspiring n informative

    i loved it! And would recommend it to a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Survivors Club is TERRIFIC

    I loved this book I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days! I thought that is was so sensational I brought it to work and talked about it and it became so popular that 9 other people bought it and remarked on how the information in the book was just so interesting that they couldn't put it down! I wish there was another one like this that I could read! Buy this book, it will surprise you, it makes you sad, happy and excited all at the same time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    The Survivors Club Is a very informative, awesome book that could be a real life saver!

    I was a little disappointed at first, as I was not sure the audio book was what I thought it would be. The more I got into it, the harder it was to stop listening. Not only thought inspiring, but exposing a whole new realm to awareness!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Interesting and Informative

    When faced with an accident or impending disaster, how would you react? Why do some survive and some do not? The Survivors Club by Ben Sherwood takes a look at the reactions people have to fear and crisis and the actions that may make a difference in survival. In this information packed book, the author explains the different personality traits and how they create the ability to survive in a crisis - or not. I found the chapter on Ninety Seconds to Save Your Life especially interesting as Mr. Sherwood explains the right and wrong things to do in a plane crash. Another interesting chapter is A knitting through the Heart and how this event saved a woman's life! An additional subject that the author explores is what result faith in God, religion, and prayer has on crisis outcomes and if faith helps you live longer.

    While there is much information in the book on the profile of a survivor, the Ben Sherwood also provides access to an internet site in which you can test your own Survival Profile. I enjoyed the many stories of survival in this book and the lesson on how to react correctly in an emergency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read!

    I picked up this book out of curiosity... and I wasn't disappointed. I really enjoyed reading it. The way the statistics are told, it's very compelling and enthusiastic... The author really comes across as wanting to help you survive an otherwise fatal situation. Granted, many of the events described will never happen to the average person (thank God), but -personally- I felt like I was learning something while being entertained. Had trouble putting it down!
    If you're looking for a nice gift book for the survivalist in your family, this one is a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Survive anything...

    A neat approach to survival!

    The best part of "The Survivors Club" for me, where the stories of people's amazing survival tales! After reading the majority of the stories, you can't help but to be in awe of the survivors.

    The author Ben Sherwood seems to have taken alot of time and effort in putting this book together and it shows. It's very organized and easy to read.

    There are alot of facts and statistics throughout, but the amazing survival stories make it flow nicely!

    Following the advice in this book is a good idea and I hope that I can remember it, if and when I need it.

    I think the most important key to remember in any survival situation is to stay calm and think about your next move, of course that's much easier said then done!

    The Survivor Profiler test was a nice touch after reading the book, according to the website, "I'm a REALIST!" My three survivor traits are - instinct, tenacity & flow!

    Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3