Customer Reviews for

Susan Mallery's Fool's Gold Cookbook: A Love Story Told Through 150 Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Susan Mallery's Fool's Gold Cookbook: A Love Story Told Through

    Susan Mallery's Fool's Gold Cookbook: A Love Story Told Through 150 Recipes by Susan Mallery
    When I first got this book it was for many reasons: the love story and the recipes. I had seen the trailer for a shrimp/mango dish and know I will love that one for sure. Cookbooks don't normally excite me, this one did after watching the trailer.
    I glanced through quickly and found so many I will be making.

    Then back to read the full love story of Ana Raquel Hopkins who had once lived in Fool's Gold but was split from her sisters and sent to a foster home not in the area.
    They all back together now and she has a career she went to college for: chef. She runs her business out of her food trailer and has an idea of making a FG cookbook. She takes her idea to Mayor Marsha and she also loves the idea but..
    Greg is the owner of his own restaurant at the vineyard in town and he has an idea to make a FG cookbook and the Mayor throws them back together again for this endeavor. They don't quite hit it off as they have a lot of background that didn't go just right. Love
    descriptions of not only the food but the kitchens. Love how they do finally work together for one good cause...there are troubles along the way...

    The cookbook part of this book: WOW! Not only are different seasons color partitioned but there are also other categories: drinks, breakfast, desserts, etc.
    Love how the recipes I was interested in are made from scratch as that is how I cook also. Fresh ingredients to make the food taste the best it can. Also love the tips along the way and was happy to learn new things in preparing some of the foods.
    For my party I will be making the sweet potato biscuits or the carrot muffins. Love how the index not only has the names of the recipes in alpha order but major ingredients are also indexed.
    I found all of these 150 recipes to look too good to be eaten but the desserts won out for me. I love chocolate but the pumpkin and the carrot muffins would also be a favorite of mine.
    Not sure which I like the best the cookbook or the love story, Glad they are both in here.
    Love the synopsis of each of the books in the series and I know I still have a few left to read.
    I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Susan Mallery has created a cookbook with over 150 recipes from

    Susan Mallery has created a cookbook with over 150 recipes from the establishments and women of Fool's Gold. The book is designed in Spring, summer, fall & winger so you can enjoy items in all year long. In between the pages of food designed to make you drool is a love story between Ana Raquel Hopkins and Greg Clary who have been estranged since they met in Fool's Gold many many years ago. Each has an ambition to be the best chef in the world and have competed for that goal for years. Now they are thrown together by Mayor Marsha to come up with a cookbook for Fool's Gold and must work together. Is this challenge going to be met head on or will sparks fly between the two? You get a romantic read along with some yummy dishes like Liz's Spaghetti for the girls, Denise's Hendricks Summer Berry Pie and can't do a book with out Heidi's Arugula, corn and cherry tomato salad. So come back to Fool's Gold and sit a while and stop by Ana Raquel's mobile cart for some yummy dishes or for a romantic evening Greg is offering a sit down meal for you and your loved ones.  Will Ana and Greg find love in Fool's Gold and will you make delicious meals out of the new cookbook?  Happy Cooking to one and all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    As a Fool¿s Gold cheerleader I was excited to help promote Susan

    As a Fool’s Gold cheerleader I was excited to help promote Susan’s first cookbook.  I didn’t realize I would be given a copy to read and review though.  This is my first cookbook to review so….here goes!  Readers don’t have to have read a sentence of any of Susan’s books to enjoy this lovely cookbook filled with easy and quick recipes.  The recipes are divided into seasons, so if readers want something delicious to try in the fall they can turn to that section.  The recipes all include a brief description, how many it serves, little helpful tips for better results, and of course the list of ingredients and directions.   Susan has included recipes that take advantage of fresh produce and alternative suggestions.  In between the pages of recipes is a, what I like to call, ten minute love story.  Fans of Susan’s Fool’s Gold romances get treated to Ana Raquel and Greg’s love story.  If you don’t enjoy romance you can simply skip past and continue cooking.  However, if your cooking skills are slightly mediocre like mine, you can enjoy the knowledge that one thing from the cookbook will end happily.  I tried my hand at two of the recipes.  I made the Creamy Turkey Salad with Dried Cranberries and Toasted Pecans (Pg 8) and simply modified it with dried blueberries and chopped walnuts.  It was somewhat of a success.  Some family members loved it… others not so much.  I was hoping to eat more but I came home only to discover the little pigs I live with ate it all.  I then tried the Steak Stir-Fry with Snow Peas (Pg 17).  It was another success. All was gone by the end of the meal.  I give the “Fool’s Gold Cookbook” 5/5 stars.  It was so much fun to review my first cookbook.  If  you’ve followed  the Fool’s Gold series  you can  try several of the mentioned  recipes  the characters enjoy  which  is a nice plus.  The added ‘ten minute romance’ was a nice light touch and the recipes are quick and easy.  Well done Susan and happy cooking to all. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    bronzekid

    Come all fighters, and join my bronze army. You will fight many other clans!!! And no profanity or sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    great book

    I enjoyed reading the book. My granddaughter and I will be making some of the recipes in the book. She has them all marked off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    These recipes are designed for cooks who don't like to spend hou

    These recipes are designed for cooks who don't like to spend hours slaving over a dish or who don't like buying weird ingredients you'll never use again.  If you want to cook at home more often or if you want to take advantage of seasonal food from a local farmer's market, this cookbook will help you.  If you like a little romance mixed in with the recipes, then you really need to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Love this book, the story and the recipes...yummy!!!

    Susan Mallery is an awesome writer and I've read all of her books. With all of the wonderful author's out there, she's always one I seek out and the Fools Gold series is just golden...join her as you learn about all of the people in this town of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The way to a mans heart is through his stomach, but we learn here that he may be able to cook it up himself. We are along for the ride

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Very Good Recipes -

    Loved the story that was interspered through the recipes. It was refreshing as far as a bit different not same old recipes found in every cookbook. I have been trying several to give me something different to serve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    This is a great cookbook filled with yummy seasonal recipes perf

    This is a great cookbook filled with yummy seasonal recipes perfect for any home cook. As a bonus, a Fool's Gold romance is told in chapters throughout the book about two foodies and how they came together to create the Fools Gold Cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    It's was ok

    The receipts look good. Haven't tried them yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved Fools Gold Cookbook. I have made numerous recipes already. The story I side the Cookbook is so nice. Susan Mallary does it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Outstanding!

    The way to a Man or Woman's heart is through the stomach! I loved Greg and Ana's story and you will too. I hope Susan never ends this series!I feel as if I live in Fool's Gold everytime I read a book and I would truly miss being in their lives for just a little while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    FOOLS GOLD COOKBOOK

    Excellent! Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Great Combination

    I thought that the story was wonderful but like all of her books I always think they are way to short. The combination of Cookbook and novella was real different and I can't wait to try all of the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Great story and cookbook!

    I really enjoyed the story that went through this cookbook. I can't wait to try the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    I  love this cookbook! There are so many wonderful things that I

    I  love this cookbook! There are so many wonderful things that I want make and it also has another Fools Gold Story inside as well. It is like two books in one. go out to buy it at your local book seller! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Fool's Gold Cook book is great. there are so many yummy reci

    The Fool's Gold Cook book is great. there are so many yummy recipes that appeal to everyone. There is also the bonus Fools Gold story featuring Ana Raquel and Greg which is as delightful and fun as the recipes. It's definitely a must read for any Susan Mallery and Fools Gold fans. Happy eating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    If the way to a man's heart is through his stomach then this coo

    If the way to a man's heart is through his stomach then this cookbook should get you a proposal!!! And if you are already married it will make him fall in love with you all over again. My husband and boys really enjoyed the Oven Baked Chimichangas!!! One of the other family favorites was the Chocolate Mocha Cupcakes!!! Written by Suzie Que

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Love love this cookbook!!  Plus there is a story mixed into this

    Love love this cookbook!!  Plus there is a story mixed into this cookbook!  Best of both worlds!  I made about 6 recipes.  Love the lasagna, smoothies, Liz's Girl Spaghetti, and the Triple-Chocolate Caramel Cake.  There was 2 smoothies I made.  Everything was so good.  My guests loved everything.  I can not wait to make more!!  I highly recommend this cookbook for the recipes and the story! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4