Customer Reviews for

Susanna and the Spy

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A hysterical romance

I was hoping this book was about a woman posing as a spy. The "loan me banner" was across "and the" part of the title. Historical romances are my least favorite genre of books. I usually call them hysterical romances. This book did not have rape nor sex in it. My thanks...
I was hoping this book was about a woman posing as a spy. The "loan me banner" was across "and the" part of the title. Historical romances are my least favorite genre of books. I usually call them hysterical romances. This book did not have rape nor sex in it. My thanks to the author! There was not any cursing. It was a nice fast read, even at 484 pages. It was well written, had a good flow to it, and was very well edited. There was a dab of mystery, but it was a predictable whodunit. This book would be a suitable read for ages thirteen and up. It was pretty good for its genre.

AD

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

pretty good book

has some twists and turns, its a mystery so u have to figure out who did it ,im not totally finished with it yet but so far pretty good

posted by 11267897 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    A hysterical romance

    I was hoping this book was about a woman posing as a spy. The "loan me banner" was across "and the" part of the title. Historical romances are my least favorite genre of books. I usually call them hysterical romances. This book did not have rape nor sex in it. My thanks to the author! There was not any cursing. It was a nice fast read, even at 484 pages. It was well written, had a good flow to it, and was very well edited. There was a dab of mystery, but it was a predictable whodunit. This book would be a suitable read for ages thirteen and up. It was pretty good for its genre.

    AD

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Just finished tonight. EXCELLENT reading for the genre!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    A bit of danger and romance

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it interesting from cover to cover. The characters are likeable. I didnt see the ending coming....very good. I would very much like to read another book by this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Loved this book!

    I could hardly put it down, but then it is my style of read...intrigue, humour, and a rogue gentleman to fall in love with, not into bed with on every other page. Will have to read more of Ms. Elliott's books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    pretty good book

    has some twists and turns, its a mystery so u have to figure out who did it ,im not totally finished with it yet but so far pretty good

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well-written and I liked the

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well-written and I liked the main characters. Susanna reminded me of a Georgette Heyer heroine. I am definitely going to buy the sequel and I hope Anna Elliott continues the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Good clean fun

    Its a page turner that takes the reader on an enjoyable, although at times unbelieveable journey. I'm glad its a totally clean book and look forward to reading the second novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Very good and enjoyable read.

    Very good and enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love it!!!

    I couldnt put it down. Read it all in one night. Even though it didnt have as many pages as i like, it definately had quality and didnt feel short or lacking anything. Bought the next book already and it is just as good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Fair book.

    The premise was good but the story needed development. It lacked coherency and believability.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Pretty good

    Interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Starts well

    Susanna and the Spy took an unexpected twist early on, and then seemed to get stuck in a fairly predictable (yet unlikely) rut.

    As an expert of this time in history (I've read all the Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen I could find, after all), I found the events, attitudes, and dialogue rather fantastical. That being said, I'd probably read another free book by the same author. I appreciate clean novels!
















    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Good clean story

    A fun story with likeable characters i would have liked a little more character development but the romance without graphic sex was very nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Don't Let the Cover Fool You

    Don't let the cover fool you into thinking this is a simple Regency romance story. The plot involves mystery, intrigue and lots of action. It leaves you guessing until close to the end who is the hero and who is the villain . Set in the early 1800s, the story is built around smuggling, the war with the French and the cultural mores of the day as well as a delightful romance. I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Crisp, bright, creative read

    Well written, good detail. No hoping into bed, but the classic story of love and whooing. Thank you. Look forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Amazing book

    Very well written! Mystery, murder, an overly curious heroine, and family drama. Excellent flow. Looking forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Susanna and the Spy

    I thought this book was extremely enjoyable. I really like the main character Susanna. Highly recommened!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Great story

    Nice change of plot for a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    ENJOYABLE READ

    Fun read. Nice and clean. Good for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Predicable, but a cute little story. I'll read the second one.

    Predicable, but a cute little story. I'll read the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3