Customer Reviews for

Susannah's Garden (Blossom Street Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stay and Linger in Susannah's Garden

Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high schoo...
Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high school antagonist a small home town. Give each character a thread and weave a summer tapestry that evokes the aroma of a summer garden and a sweet and sour after taste of the drama of life. Debbie Macomber is an expert story weaver, taking the threads of characters┬┐ lives and intertwining them into a satisfying story with the promise of future happiness. Add a dash of mystery and a pinch of bittersweet regret. Mix into a believable and satisfying story that will linger in your memory long after you've closed the novel.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

Nothing really intriguing happens. It's quite boring, to be frank, especially in the beginning of the story. It's a waste of time to read. If you like books that have things happening this is not for you. To be honest, I didn't connect with any of the characters, and n...
Nothing really intriguing happens. It's quite boring, to be frank, especially in the beginning of the story. It's a waste of time to read. If you like books that have things happening this is not for you. To be honest, I didn't connect with any of the characters, and none of them had my interest. Specially Susannah's daughter. She's an annoying brat, and I hate books with annoying, insignificant characters. Why this book got such good reviews? I have no clue. Overall, I thought this book was OK. It wasn't special nor original, but somewhat good. Not really.
I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends. I only bought it because the front cover was beautiful. I was really disappointed with what was inside.

posted by 1336528 on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Stay and Linger in Susannah's Garden

    Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high school antagonist a small home town. Give each character a thread and weave a summer tapestry that evokes the aroma of a summer garden and a sweet and sour after taste of the drama of life. Debbie Macomber is an expert story weaver, taking the threads of characters¿ lives and intertwining them into a satisfying story with the promise of future happiness. Add a dash of mystery and a pinch of bittersweet regret. Mix into a believable and satisfying story that will linger in your memory long after you've closed the novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating character study

    Now fifty Susannah Nelson, wife to her husband Joe who adores her and mother to two wonderful teens (Chrissie and Brian), enjoys teaching fifth graders in Seattle. Not everything is perfect in her life as her dad George recently died and her mom Vivian seems increasingly incapable of taking care of herself. However, what eats at her soul most is recent dreams of her first love from high school Jake Presley. --- When Susannah turned eighteen, her parents sent her overseas to school. She said her goodbyes to Jake, her brother Doug and her parents not realizing that she would never see her boyfriend or sibling again. Not long after she left, Doug died in a car crash and Jake vanished. Feeling an obsession to know what happened to Jake, Susannah returns to Colville, Washington allegedly to settle her mother in a nursing home. As friction at home suddenly rises from her college aged daughter turned rebel, Susannah with help from a private investigator begins to learn the truth of what happened over three decades ago that tie Jake's disappearance with Doug's death. --- SUSANNAH¿S GARDEN is a fascinating character study that makes the case that hiding facts in order to protect a loved one is not necessarily doing that person any favors. Susannah is an intriguing protagonist as her family cherishes her though a revolt by her daughter has begun and she loves teaching yet finds increasingly pondering choices made for her when she was eighteen until she fixates on learning what happened. Though the support cast seems one-dimensional in comparisons to the fully developed deep star, fans of poignant contemporary tales will appreciate this deep look at a middle age adult struggling to come to terms with the pivotal year in her life though over three decades have passed. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I love Debbie's books and have truly enjoyed this series, but th

    I love Debbie's books and have truly enjoyed this series, but this book was surprisingly dull. It was so slow to get my interest, and I kept trying to figure out how it even tied into the rest of the series.
     Was glad I got it from the library and did not purchase this book of the series. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Recommend !!!

    I have enjoyed reading this book.... plus i have enjoyed reading all of Debbie Macomber books so far. thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really good book!

    I liked this book, it was an easy read, but I wanted to find out what happened, so it was hard to put down. She's a good writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    Boring.

    Nothing really intriguing happens. It's quite boring, to be frank, especially in the beginning of the story. It's a waste of time to read. If you like books that have things happening this is not for you. To be honest, I didn't connect with any of the characters, and none of them had my interest. Specially Susannah's daughter. She's an annoying brat, and I hate books with annoying, insignificant characters. Why this book got such good reviews? I have no clue. Overall, I thought this book was OK. It wasn't special nor original, but somewhat good. Not really.
    I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends. I only bought it because the front cover was beautiful. I was really disappointed with what was inside.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Good reading!

    I thought this book did a great job of expressing mid life. Filled with memories, what could have beens, mysteries, and finally understanding things when looked at from the adult point of view versus that of youth. In a way, it's a coming home again, crossroads kind of story. I was so happy when the threads began to be answered, that the main character could truly see the people in her life with clear eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Hit

    As always I love Debbie Macombers work and have read almost everything she has written or at least trying to catch up to all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Bored

    This story dragged and I was bored but then the ending was really good and made reading the book worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Enjoyed this book

    Being a fan of Debbie Macomber, I was eagerly awaiting 'Susannah's Garden'. It was a quick read with an edge of mystery that kept me wanting more until the very end. Debbie really pulls you in to what her characters are experiencing emotionally I love that about her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Susannah's Garden - Another hit by Debbie Macomber

    Debbie Macomber keeps getting better and better. This book has so much depth. Debbie writes such wonderful books that really touch your heart. Susannah's Garden: Susannah is 50 years old, married with 2 children but is wondering about the paths not taken. She has been having dreams about her first love, Jake, even though she has a loving husband and it has been 30 years since she has seen or heard from Jake. She plans a trip to her hometown in Washington to visit her mother, see friends and try to find what happened to Jake. At 18, Susannah's parents had sent her abroad and she lost touch with Jake, and never saw her beloved brother again as he died in an accident while she was away. While on her journey, Susannah finds things are not always as they seemed, including the poor relationship she had with her father. Debbie ties everything very nicely together in this must read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Susannah's Garden

    Susannah Nelson is a member of the sandwich generation. On one side, her mother is deteriorating into a world of fantasies and unable to cope with the necessity of being placed in assisted living. On the other, her daughter in college is dissatisfied with the choices she's been forced to accept to please Susannah, and is rebelling by getting involved with a shady young man. Caught between the two crises, Susannah begins to examine her own life and discovers a mystery in her past that is relevant to the present. She also discovers herself. ........................... Though somewhat meandering and melancholy, this is a sensitive book that will speak to anyone who has lost a loved one by inches or come into conflict in the parent/child relationship. The mystery angle seems a bit forced, but it does add something to the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Enjoyed all the Blossom St books, this was my last one to read

    Enjoyed all the Blossom St books, this was my last one to read in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Am reading this series of Blossom Street Series Books by Debbie. Once I start reading a book, I can't put it down. She is so creative in keeping one's interest peaked until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    was i the only one looking for blossom street in this book??oh w

    was i the only one looking for blossom street in this book??oh wait there was mention...AT THE END OF THE BOOK!!. VERY DISAPPOINTED..On B&n website they say 379 pages but i only had 287??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Another engaging book by Debbie Macomber. This story takes a lo

    Another engaging book by Debbie Macomber.

    This story takes a long look at how an individual’s past emotional attachments can forever affect their personal memories of others. Their perspective can be right or wrong and until they sort out the truth the emotional aspect cannot be sorted out.

    It is a long and twisted road that Susannah has to travel in this book. After traveling this road she has a much clearer view of her currant relationships as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended - it was great !

    This books was another great addition to the Blossom Street Series. Enjoyed it lots !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Very entertaining! Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Higly recommended

    kept my interest waiting to see how this would all end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Recommended - difficult to put down

    The grass always looks greener on the other side until you have to mow the lawn. The main character believes that she made a mistake by obeying her father at the age of 18. Returns to the past in search of her high school sweetheart. Debbie Macomber made me want to solve the problems and make the right decisions for each character.
    It's a story that I wanted to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5