Customer Reviews for

Susannah's Garden (Blossom Street Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stay and Linger in Susannah's Garden

Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high schoo...
Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high school antagonist a small home town. Give each character a thread and weave a summer tapestry that evokes the aroma of a summer garden and a sweet and sour after taste of the drama of life. Debbie Macomber is an expert story weaver, taking the threads of characters¿ lives and intertwining them into a satisfying story with the promise of future happiness. Add a dash of mystery and a pinch of bittersweet regret. Mix into a believable and satisfying story that will linger in your memory long after you've closed the novel.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love Debbie's books and have truly enjoyed this series, but th

I love Debbie's books and have truly enjoyed this series, but this book was surprisingly dull. It was so slow to get my interest, and I kept trying to figure out how it even tied into the rest of the series.
 Was glad I got it from the library and did not purchase this ...
I love Debbie's books and have truly enjoyed this series, but this book was surprisingly dull. It was so slow to get my interest, and I kept trying to figure out how it even tied into the rest of the series.
 Was glad I got it from the library and did not purchase this book of the series. 

posted by 10670159 on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Stay and Linger in Susannah's Garden

    Take one Seattle family: 1 mother, teacher 1 father, dentist 1 son, successful college student 1 daughter, average college student, drama queen, immature 1 aging widowed grandmother beginning to need assisted living 1 family secret childhood friends a high school antagonist a small home town. Give each character a thread and weave a summer tapestry that evokes the aroma of a summer garden and a sweet and sour after taste of the drama of life. Debbie Macomber is an expert story weaver, taking the threads of characters¿ lives and intertwining them into a satisfying story with the promise of future happiness. Add a dash of mystery and a pinch of bittersweet regret. Mix into a believable and satisfying story that will linger in your memory long after you've closed the novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really good book!

    I liked this book, it was an easy read, but I wanted to find out what happened, so it was hard to put down. She's a good writer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating character study

    Now fifty Susannah Nelson, wife to her husband Joe who adores her and mother to two wonderful teens (Chrissie and Brian), enjoys teaching fifth graders in Seattle. Not everything is perfect in her life as her dad George recently died and her mom Vivian seems increasingly incapable of taking care of herself. However, what eats at her soul most is recent dreams of her first love from high school Jake Presley. --- When Susannah turned eighteen, her parents sent her overseas to school. She said her goodbyes to Jake, her brother Doug and her parents not realizing that she would never see her boyfriend or sibling again. Not long after she left, Doug died in a car crash and Jake vanished. Feeling an obsession to know what happened to Jake, Susannah returns to Colville, Washington allegedly to settle her mother in a nursing home. As friction at home suddenly rises from her college aged daughter turned rebel, Susannah with help from a private investigator begins to learn the truth of what happened over three decades ago that tie Jake's disappearance with Doug's death. --- SUSANNAH¿S GARDEN is a fascinating character study that makes the case that hiding facts in order to protect a loved one is not necessarily doing that person any favors. Susannah is an intriguing protagonist as her family cherishes her though a revolt by her daughter has begun and she loves teaching yet finds increasingly pondering choices made for her when she was eighteen until she fixates on learning what happened. Though the support cast seems one-dimensional in comparisons to the fully developed deep star, fans of poignant contemporary tales will appreciate this deep look at a middle age adult struggling to come to terms with the pivotal year in her life though over three decades have passed. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Recommend !!!

    I have enjoyed reading this book.... plus i have enjoyed reading all of Debbie Macomber books so far. thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Good reading!

    I thought this book did a great job of expressing mid life. Filled with memories, what could have beens, mysteries, and finally understanding things when looked at from the adult point of view versus that of youth. In a way, it's a coming home again, crossroads kind of story. I was so happy when the threads began to be answered, that the main character could truly see the people in her life with clear eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Hit

    As always I love Debbie Macombers work and have read almost everything she has written or at least trying to catch up to all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Susannah's Garden - Another hit by Debbie Macomber

    Debbie Macomber keeps getting better and better. This book has so much depth. Debbie writes such wonderful books that really touch your heart. Susannah's Garden: Susannah is 50 years old, married with 2 children but is wondering about the paths not taken. She has been having dreams about her first love, Jake, even though she has a loving husband and it has been 30 years since she has seen or heard from Jake. She plans a trip to her hometown in Washington to visit her mother, see friends and try to find what happened to Jake. At 18, Susannah's parents had sent her abroad and she lost touch with Jake, and never saw her beloved brother again as he died in an accident while she was away. While on her journey, Susannah finds things are not always as they seemed, including the poor relationship she had with her father. Debbie ties everything very nicely together in this must read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Jason

    can you help me explain to her that my parentas are hades and athena?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Lunima

    "They did something that you dont wanna do"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Great story

    Like all of Debbie Macomber'S books, it is a delightful story about family and friends. Susannah goes hone to care fir her Mom and faces her past as well. She has much to deal with as well as the joy if reconnecting with old friends. I'm sure you will enjoy this story.Find a comfy corner, get your favorite drink, and spend an zfternoon immersed in Susannah's Garden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Am reading this series of Blossom Street Series Books by Debbie. Once I start reading a book, I can't put it down. She is so creative in keeping one's interest peaked until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Another engaging book by Debbie Macomber. This story takes a lo

    Another engaging book by Debbie Macomber.

    This story takes a long look at how an individual’s past emotional attachments can forever affect their personal memories of others. Their perspective can be right or wrong and until they sort out the truth the emotional aspect cannot be sorted out.

    It is a long and twisted road that Susannah has to travel in this book. After traveling this road she has a much clearer view of her currant relationships as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended - it was great !

    This books was another great addition to the Blossom Street Series. Enjoyed it lots !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Very entertaining! Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Higly recommended

    kept my interest waiting to see how this would all end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    Just could not put it down! Had me hanging on right to the end. A great addition to a wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    What an Author!!!!!Debbie Macomber

    This book was awesome. I could not put it down. Debbie is such a fantastic writer. I've also read many of her other books. I've told my friends what an author Debbie is. At work, a book club has been started and I've passed some of the books along. They all rave about the books. Thanks for being such a wonderful writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Wonderful tale of family and love!

    Just finished this great tale about family and love by Debbie Macomber. She is a gifted story teller and captures you into the book from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Lovely and Heartwarming - Family and Relationships

    When she was eighteen, Susannah Nelson was sent abroad to school. In what she saw as her fathers attempt in dictating her life it effectively separated her from her boyfriend Jake, and she never got to see her brother Doug again who was killed that summer in an automobile accident. After a few short letters, Susanna never heard from or saw Jake and though it hurt at the time, she later met, married a fine man, and raised a family. ----- Now her children are just about grown, she¿s hitting midlife, and Susannah¿s marriage seemed stale as her thoughts continually seemed to focus on what `could have been¿ if her father hadn¿t interfered in her life and romance with Jake. With her father recently passed on, she had been summoned home sooner than she¿d planned when alerted by neighbors and friends that her widowed mother was having difficulties dealing with her loss and living alone. Back in the house and town she¿d grown up in Susanna would have to deal with her mother¿s increasing aging problems, and make some tough decisions regarding her care. Additionally, she would she face the past, discovering new insights into her troubled relationship with her dad, and dealing with a similar issue concerning her rebellious nineteen year old daughter. ----- With girlhood memories resurfacing along with long lost friends, Susannah discovered secrets that revealed not only an unselfish act of love, caring, and protection, but a surprising revelation of a mysterious presence once thought to be a figment of her mothers failing mind. ------ *** What a wonderful read! Macomber writes with heartbreaking realism when dealing with the decisions and choices made in friends and family relationships. She offers beautifully written prose that packs a mountain of emotion into every chapter. Through laughter and through tears, she nails relationships with astounding realism and understanding in this well-paced and heartwarming story, once again solidifying Macomber as a leader in fine woman¿s literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3