Customer Reviews for

Suspect

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I'm a Robert Crais fan. Although I miss Joe and Elvis, I really

I'm a Robert Crais fan. Although I miss Joe and Elvis, I really liked this book. Hope to see Scott and Maggie again.

posted by 1850365 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Explosive masterpiece of suspense??????? NO, NO.NO. The prologu

Explosive masterpiece of suspense??????? NO, NO.NO. The prologue which sets up the story was the best part of the book. I have read almost all Robert Crais novels. This one lacked a compelling story and suspense, and the hero was dull and uninteresting. Come on, Cra...
Explosive masterpiece of suspense??????? NO, NO.NO. The prologue which sets up the story was the best part of the book. I have read almost all Robert Crais novels. This one lacked a compelling story and suspense, and the hero was dull and uninteresting. Come on, Crais, you can do much better.
And I love dogs too!

posted by colo48 on February 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I'm a Robert Crais fan. Although I miss Joe and Elvis, I really

    I'm a Robert Crais fan. Although I miss Joe and Elvis, I really liked this book. Hope to see Scott and Maggie again.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Could not put the book down!!!! Best one yet!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Wow! This is a spectacular book. The character development betwe

    Wow! This is a spectacular book. The character development between Scott James and his police dog Maggie is unique, and I found the fast paced, tension-filled plot to be phenomenal. As other reviewers have said, I couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    For some reason, I wasn't expecting it to be up to the caliber o

    For some reason, I wasn't expecting it to be up to the caliber of the Patterson and Connelly...   and it was. ..... will now go back to read another 
    of his.  Great read..

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I'm still gasping. Intensely involving passage. I wonder if it's

    I'm still gasping. Intensely involving passage. I wonder if it's opening lines of the book.
    Efficiently sets up characters then throws them into life-and-death action. I'm hooked already and want
    to read the whole book.   Sean Moore, author - "The Raphael Conspiracy"

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Explosive masterpiece of suspense??????? NO, NO.NO. The prologu

    Explosive masterpiece of suspense??????? NO, NO.NO. The prologue which sets up the story was the best part of the book. I have read almost all Robert Crais novels. This one lacked a compelling story and suspense, and the hero was dull and uninteresting. Come on, Crais, you can do much better.
    And I love dogs too!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Best fiction book I've read in a couple of years. I did blubber

    Best fiction book I've read in a couple of years. I did blubber through the first 50 pages or so as the two Scott and Maggie's stories were revealed. Then followed thrilling police procedural.Excellent characterization as two severely damaged individuals find hope in each other. I especially loved the occational narration from Maggie's point of view. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Crais's novels---he has taken top billing as my favorite police/detective author. I do hope he brings these characters back. A couple of notes: the novel started so intensely, that I had to check the last part to see if both Scott and Maggie survived. Second, my dog is named Maggie, but she is a 14 -lb terrier mongrel; I had to laugh when Scott at one point calls his dog Mags because that's my nickname for my Maggie.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    great read

    No way to put thus book down, particularly if you like dogs

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I am mystified by the people who loved this book.  It is not hor

    I am mystified by the people who loved this book.  It is not horrible, but let's just say it ain't Harlan Coben.  
    It is a completely linear story with nothing unexpected, no surprises.  It really reads more like a plot outline 
    before the writer got a chance to add interesting detail.  It kept me interested enough to read it, but I thought it was
    completely forgettable.  

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I cried the first 50 pages of this book. I love the Joe Pike boo

    I cried the first 50 pages of this book. I love the Joe Pike books but this is his best. Maggie's narration touched my heart and soul. As an owner of German Shepherds, he really nailed their character and pysche. Great writing and make this a trilogy! A true German Shepherd cannot bear to have you out of sight.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Heartstring tug!

    From the very first paragraph, this book drew me in. And the way the author speaks from the dog's perspective was amazing. Couldn't put it down. Enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I loved this book, could not put it down, it his best so far, ca

    I loved this book, could not put it down, it his best so far, can't wait for more. I was a Joe Pike fan, but this is great, hope for more

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Yet another GREAT Crais novel!

    Typical Robert Crais novel- EXCELLENT! As much as I love his Elvis Cole, and Joe Pike novels, his stand alone books are equally good. The premise for this is very unique, and it's a fascinating character study, too. The main characters both lost partners, in a shootout, and were shot themselves. Both suffer from PTSD, and are having a tough time adjusting to it. The interesting part, is that one is a male cop, the other a Marine Corp canine-a German Shepherd to be precise. Crais even goes so far as to give us the dog's perspective. This is a great police procedural, with lots of suspense, and plenty of action, again typical of Crais. And, like most of his books, the pace is unrelenting, which makes the book VERY difficult to put down. This is another great book, that I highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    one of the best books i have read so far. this is a mixture of c

    one of the best books i have read so far. this is a mixture of charaters. read it in 8 hours. i sure hope they do a follow up book. got to read it. especially if you like a mixture of man and dog!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I loved Scott anf Maggie please let's see more of them. I'm a bi

    I loved Scott anf Maggie please let's see more of them. I'm a big fan of Elvis and Joe,but Scott and Maggie took my heart. More please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I thought I had plenty of authors to read on my list and now gee

    I thought I had plenty of authors to read on my list and now geeze.....Crais hits a home run, just not a grand slam. I'm going to have to read more of his work. I'd read Hostage years ago and loved it, then read Demolition Angel and was really so disappointed. This led to me just not rushing to read any more Crais novels.

    I love dogs and thrillers, so this one piqued my interest. I flew through it - just a solid thriller, but more a very strong human (and dog!) story. One really feels for Officer James as well as Maggie. The plot is very good, but not excellent. What makes it such a strong book is the bond that develops between man and dog, while wrapping itself (and them) around the investigation itself. I liked the book well enough that now I'll need to start reading the Pike and Cole novels. Hopefully they are on the level of Suspect and Hostage. If so, I'll keep coming back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are two protagonists in this newest novel by Robert Crais:

    There are two protagonists in this newest novel by Robert Crais: Maggie, a 3-year-old, 85-pound black-and-tan German shepherd dog [more formally named Military Working Dog Maggie], and LAPD cop Scott James, 32 years old with seven years on the job. But lest you think this is one of the tales told from an animal’s pov, complete with animal dialogue, think again: It is far from it. [Though it must be said that there are brief passages with a Maggie pov, but these are a whole ‘nother thing.] Maggie was a patrol/explosives-detection dog and, as with all MWD’s, was bred to guard and protect what was hers. (An eloquent description of one of the scents she is able to detect: “the residual gunpowder that clung to [her handler’s] weapon like a fine dust of death.”)

    Scott, having been partners with uniformed LAPD officer Stephanie Anders (herself on the job for eleven years) has been recently accepted into LAPD’s Metro Division, the “elite uniformed division” in the city. As the story opens, the two cops come upon what seems to be a routine auto accident that turns into anything but, with masked men from one vehicle brutally murdering two men in the other, before shooting and killing Stephanie and leaving Scott close to death and guilt-ridden over his partner’s death.

    More than nine months later, Scott still has recurrent and horrible nightmares, but has refused to take medical disability or sit behind a desk, and when a slot opens up in the Metro K-9 Unit he applies for that. And is partnered with Maggie, making a duo each half of which is suffering from severe PTSD. Maggie also lost a partner, in Afghanistan, and she is as badly scarred from that incident, mentally and physically, as is Scott is from his.

    Sgt. Dominick Leland, for 32 years on the job as a K-9 handler and a living legend in the LAPD K-9 Corps, expresses the following opinion about the pairing of the two: “That poor animal is unfit for this job, and I suspect the same about [Scott] . . . They are suspect.” Scott, still feeling enormous guilt over Stephanie’s death, is determined to see that investigation through to its end, and he, and Maggie, continue to do so.

    This is an extraordinary tale, expertly written. Mr. Crais takes the police procedural to a whole new level. It is that, of course, but much, much more. The author makes palpable the bond between man and dog, as well as the concept of “pack:” “Pack was everything.” I devoured this book, and it is highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    My wife and I both read this book and fell in love with Maggie.

    My wife and I both read this book and fell in love with Maggie. After completing, we decided to get another dog and we named her Maggie. Thank you Robert Crais for the hours of reading enjoyment and giving us the nudge to bring another loving dog into our family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Not sure why the editor was negatively biased. As a lover of bot

    Not sure why the editor was negatively biased. As a lover of both Crais's work and dogs in general, I found this book to be thoroughly entertaining and engaging from start to finish. Job well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Good book to read

    I couldn't put the book down. I read this book in 10days. I wanted to see what was going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12