Customer Reviews for

Suzanne Somers' Eat Great, Lose Weight: Eat All the Foods You Love in "Somersize" Combinations to Reprogram Your Metabolism, Shed Pounds for Good, and Have More Energy Than Ever Before

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    Lost 120 pounds!!

    I lost 120 pounds Somersizing! I have kept it off for more than a year. I went from a size pant size 24/26 to a 4 and my skirt size is a 0/2!! THIS WORKS!! My children and husband love the food and this easy to adapt to any lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Proof it Works!

    I have started this diet 4 months ago and I have already lost 45 pounds! for those ppl who dont believe this works and that its too good to be true, I strongly urge you to try this because I was once one of those ppl that thought I was going to be stuck in my skin forever, and guess what? It definetely works and the best part is that its so easy!!!! Just read the book if you're still doubtful, once you read all the success stories you'll want to start this and be a success yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    not a diet but a plan

    I am 36 and have tried many diets, I love to eat. whenever im dieting I feel deprived and it doesnt take me long to cheat. On this plan I dont count calories ,I dont feel deprived. I eat when im hungry. I really stick to the combinations because its quite simple after the first week.I feel good and im satisfied. I walk for exercise and the best part is that people were noticing a weight loss and telling me I looked good after the first two weeks. My husband is following the plan with me and we both feel so much healthier. We can live this lifestyle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    Meal Plans Are Not Realistic

    I do not feel the dinner plans are realistic. I cannot afford to purchase foods from gourmet stores, It would cost a tremendous amount of money to eat the suggested menu she has put forth in this book, I enjoy her breakfast menu because it is realistic. I feel like i have to study for an exam in order to know what to eat for dinner, someone please e-mail me and let me know what types of dinners you are eating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    It works!*!*!

    I was always thin until I got married and started having babies. Gained 40 lbs with the first one and just continued to go up instead of down. I love to eat!! I have tried every diet known to man and I starved. Suzanne's way is just perfect for me. I love meat and I can eat all I want. I have lost 40 lbs and have come to the knowledge that this is a way of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    I Have finally found a way to lose pounds

    I have been trying to lose weight for over 2 years now and finally after using Suzanne Somer's Book I have lost 6 pounds in one week and hopefully I will continue to do this. I was so impressed by the weight loss that I encouraged my friend to get it but she has not lost one pound in 8 days. She is still going to continue but we do not know why this is happening and she is very depressed about it as she too has been trying to lose weight. Any suggestions? Question:-In the evening if after you eat a fruit 3 hours after dinner and the hunger is still there can I eat a few carb's ie:Wholewheat crackers. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Do not buy unless

    Unless you want cute family photo and expensive recipes. There is nothing new here - just the old idea of eating proteins separately from carbs. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Yjjhgffffgh

    Tvbgerbb <p>
    Chgddfgbnnnjj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    FINALLY

    this book is great i finally found something that I can do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    It really works!!!

    I have been on the program (with weekly exercise) for seven months, and have lost over sixty pounds. I find it to be easy to stick to...I was never that crazy about starchy or sweet foods anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    No more excuses!!

    This is not a diet, this is a way of life. If the surgeons who I work with now (who are doing gastric bypass procedures and making alot of money) knew that I rave to everyone about this diet, they would be really upset. They would be no more obese people in the world. I am a doctor and a mother of 2. I never needed to diet until I had my first baby. Then I couldn't lose the last 20 lbs. After the 2nd baby, no way I was going to gain another 20! I tried Suzanne's plan, and I dropped the weight that I had on me for the previous three years, in a matter of months (3). That was 1 year ago. I do not have time in my very busy life to count calories, weigh my food, bring food to work. All I do is follow the rules. I am NEVER hungry. And I cheat 1 every 3 days. That way I am not deprived and I have maintained my weight with ease. My husband also lost 30 pounds without any effort at all. I would love to be Suzanne's new spokesperson! P.s. I eat like a horse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    The Title says it all!!!!

    Great book, I lost 20 pnds within 2 months without any major exercise. Still eating great and hoping to loose more weight. Thank you Suzanne!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    THIS IS SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    As the headline reads this is SPECTACULAR. I just started Somersizing on 1/14/02. I have lost 4lbs. as of today 1/21/02. Only one week. I haven't been hungry. The recipes are great. If you are thinking about trying this new way of life, I guarantee you won't be dissappointed. With Somersizing and 3-20 minute Aerobic exercises in one week, I've accomplished losing 4lbs. This is great. I learned about this new way of life through a co-workers wife. She has lost 45lbs. in 5 months. I think this is great. Go buy the book, its easy to read and follow. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    It's about time

    I have been on the diet rollercoaster for years. I thought this was another of those diets where you starve and end up cheating because your so deprived of food. Boy, was I wrong. I have been on the Summersize plan since January 10th,and have lost thirteen pounds. I have never been hungry and am enjoying making all the fantasic recipes in the book. Thank you for finally making a diet that is easy to make into a way of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2001

    Brussel Sprouts! No way!

    I bought the book for myself just before Christmas and started the diet by reading the whole book; shopping and setting my mind first. I started the diet the day after Christmas and already feel better. What really surprised me was the recipes are really good. I have never met a brussel sprout that I could eat; but, Suzanne's recipe was super good! I plan on having some more after the farmers market trip on Saturday. Thanks, Cheryl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2001

    Great plan but I have a few questions

    I was on this diet plan last year and immediately lost 10 pounds since then though i have quit the diet because of my laziness and lack of self control. However I am now ready to get back on the plan and I have one problem...which is I lent my book to my sister and I am not quiet sure of the rules. I remember to eat fruit alone...proteins only with veggies or carbs only w/ veggies but proteins and carbs cant be eaten together. If any one has anything else theyd like to share w/ me that im not aware of and if anyone would like to be an e-mail buddy with me for support please write me at belladonna8402@hotmail.com . Id love to have somenone to share experiences with as well as answer each others questions.Thanks a bunch - Gianna

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    Everyone I know is sharing this book with friends

    Everyone I know seems to be on this diet. My relatives are all dropping pounds and swear by 'Somersizing.' Suzanne Somers discovered this diet while seated in a garden in a medieval French village. That tells me it must be a great diet! I love France. After finishing a delicious dinner, she stood up and picked some cherries from a tree overhead. Her host told her that would cause indigestion and keep her up all night. It turned out to be true and she discovered the centuries-old theory of food combining. This dictates that certain foods must never be eaten together. This diet allows proteins and fats to be eaten together, but never with carbohydrates. Her plan is low in sugar and carbohydrates, but permits all sorts of fruits. Fruit must however be eaten on an empty stomach. Vegetables, bread, cereal and pasta may never be eaten with fats or proteins. She has tried all the other diets and finally found one that worked for her. When she hit 40, her metabolism slowed down and she was getting fewer and fewer results. She finally tried food combining and it worked. She lost 20 lbs. She believes sugar was the enemy. She recommends going cold turkey the first week you are on her diet. Diet alone cannot help you loose weight, so she also recommends exercise. One thing she says is that you should give yourself at least a few weeks to start seeing the results. Her plan includes: Eliminating sugar, starch, white flour, caffeine and alcohol. You must eat fruit alone on an empty stomach. Proteins can be eaten with cheese, butter and vegetables. Pasta may be eaten with veggies. You must wait three hours between meals if switching from a protein/fat meal to a carbohydrate meal or vice versa. Eat at least three meals a day and don't skip meals. It sounds simple until you have to give up your buttered toast with jam and tea! I am going to try the fruit idea for sure and try to incorporate more of her ideas. I already hardly eat sugar because I found Stevia, which tastes so much better than all those artificial sweeteners. So, give this diet a try. My uncle has lost quite a few pounds and swears by food combining. He also loves to eat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    Hope For the Hopeless

    I have tried many other so called 'diets' in the past 8 years, but each brought me only hopelessness. I am so thankful that I have found Suzanne Somers' book! In the past few months I have lost almost 20 pounds effortlessly. What I liked most about reading her book is that it made sense and was written without becoming a science class. I had tried reading the Atkins book, but it quickly became too difficult for me to follow. Combining foods becomes second nature very quickly, and after the first week of being off sugar and white flour you don't miss it at all. I stopped combining during the Christmas holiday and really noticed a huge difference in how I felt and how my body worked. Check this out. You too will thank Suzanne!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    Better Than I Thought - Good Start To Losing Weight

    I have to admit; I was skeptical. It also took me longer to lose the weight than I had thought. After a couple of days I developed a headache that I attributed to lack of sugar and caffeine. But after that it was great. I have to say the recipe section was more restrictive; if you live in a warm climate and have access to all those fruits, etc. and a well stocked cabinet, it is great. However, I found I could easily adapt my own recipes by following the rules. I began the diet in September and after 2 months I lost 12#. I feel great. I can even eat 'funky foods' when I want as long as I go back to the rules. It is an eating style change, not a diet. If you're in doubt, try it. You have nothing to lose, but weight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2000

    Thank You, Suzanne!!!

    If I met Suzanne Somers on the street today, I'd bow down and kiss her feet! This book has changed my life! I was diagnosed with Type II diabetes in Nov '97 and was never able to keep it under good control - my prescription for glucophage increased from one pill a day to three, with my blood sugars climbing into the 250 - 350 range. I ate a low-fat diet and managed to lose 22 pounds - but the blood sugars did not budge. I was petrified that insulin shots were in my future. Then my dear doctor recommended Suzanne's book and WAY OF LIFE (this is NOT a diet!) Although a little skeptical (and wary of how I could live without sandwiches!) I jumped in with both feet and haven't looked back. Within a few days (honestly) my blood sugars were in the 100 - 120 range and today my readings are 80 to 100! My AIc dropped from 9.1 to 5.3 in three months! I have lost 20 more pounds so far and I am NEVER hungry! You owe it to yourself to give this way of eating a try. There is plenty of good, healthy food on this diet. Unlike more restrictive low-carb plans, veggies and fruits are allowed and encouraged, as long as eaten in the correct combinations. This plan is all about combining your foods - and it works! Her second book is very similar, with more delicious recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2