Customer Reviews for

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas

Average Rating 4.5
( 737 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Suzanne's' Dairy to Nicholas is the first novel I have read from James Patterson's collection and I have to say it won't be the last I read. Not only is this a compelling story of love and romance, but it's pages are full of suspense that keeps you reading on until the...
Suzanne's' Dairy to Nicholas is the first novel I have read from James Patterson's collection and I have to say it won't be the last I read. Not only is this a compelling story of love and romance, but it's pages are full of suspense that keeps you reading on until the very end. Patterson tells the story of a young woman named Katie who finds herself deeply in love with a man named Matt. Everything is going great for the two of them when out of the blue Matt ends their two-year relationship without even explaining himself. Katie is given an old diary from Matt, which he uses to explain his poor actions. As Katie reads through the pages she discovers many of Matt's hidden secrets, which includes a wife, and son Katie never knew about. After finishing the dairy Katie realizes she had been wrong for assuming the worst out of Matt and she finds their relationship has grown even stronger after reading this diary. This story had very few weak points except for the occasional sad moments. I highly recommend this book to any audience, male or female, who is in the mood for a great read and has time to sit and read. Once you start this book you won't be able to put it down.

posted by 144893 on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What's the worst you can say?

I am a big fan of James Patterson. I've probably read at least a dozen of his books including '1st to Die' and '2nd Chance,' where he essentially writes from a female perspecitive. Except for an occasional gross-out scene, I have enjoyed his books. So, wh...
I am a big fan of James Patterson. I've probably read at least a dozen of his books including '1st to Die' and '2nd Chance,' where he essentially writes from a female perspecitive. Except for an occasional gross-out scene, I have enjoyed his books. So, why didn't I like this one? It's not that I have anything against romance. It's not even that I object to the three kleenex box routine. What bothered me about this book was that its characters were just too darn perfect. I mean, what's the worst you can say about Katie? She thinks she's gawky. What's the worst you can say about Suzanne? She's a recovering workaholic. What's the worst you can say about Matt? His dad died when he was young so he fears abandonment. And Nicholas...I'm a grandfather and I love my little grandchildren, but shoot me if I go on about them the way Suzanne goes on about Nicholas. I mean, seriously. As an earlier reader said about this book, it's redundant. It's a short book that's too long. I don't know anyone that is as perfect as these three. I'm certainly not. This book was just too pat. How about some people I can identify with and really care about?

posted by Anonymous on July 8, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas

    I enjoyed this book. It wasn't what I expected when I began reading it. It was a pleasant surprise and I enjoyed it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful yet teary look at loss

    New York book editor Katie Wilkinson believed that she found her soul mate in poet-house painter Matt Harrison. However, instead of a lifetime together, they share a year before Matt vanishes. After disappearing from her life, Matt mails Katie a diary written by his wife Suzanne. Katie cannot help but read the journal that Suzanne has written to her and Matt¿s son. She explains how she was a yuppie doctor in Boston until she suffered a heart attack in her mid thirties. Knowing she needed a lifestyle change, Suzanne fled to Martha¿s Vinyard where she falls in love with Matt. They marry and have a child. As she reads, Katie begins to feel she knows Suzanne and Nicholas as old friends. Still even she wonders if she should try to see Matt one last time once she finishes the cherished diary lovingly written by a mother to a son? <P> Fans of James Patterson¿s powerful Cross mysteries will find SUZANNE¿S DIARY FOR NICHOLAS quite a departure for the popular author. There is a mystery of sorts and plenty of suspense but in a different manner than usual for a James Patterson novel, but no murders or crimes are committed. Still, the writer flexes his muscles as he provides a strong, insightful, yet teary character study that looks closely at loss through the souls of Suzanne and Matt and the reactions of Katie. Using his usual switching from first to third and back to first case, Mr. Patterson provides a warm, somewhat overly maudlin tale that will stir the audience to want more dramas of this sort from a talented scribe. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    A Tearjerker

    I read this book in one night. It was very good and extremely moving. I certainly belive that James Patterson can write books for all types of genre after this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2015

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this short read by James Patterson; keep my interest until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Read this book!

    This book is slow to began. Then it going fast and quick. The way this author write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Good book, cute and sad but happy ending. Couldn't put it down. 

    Good book, cute and sad but happy ending. Couldn't put it down. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Inspiring

    Loved this book immensly! Was not what I expected and hit very close to home. Will have you reevaluating life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    really good book! I found this book hard to follow at first, lit

    really good book! I found this book hard to follow at first, little jumpy, but amazing. I finished it tonight and WOW what a book! I have only read one other book by James Patterson, but I think I have found another great author to add to my list. To have a love like Suzanne and Matt do is so hard to come by. I really enjoyed the book, and the story between Matt and Suzanne and Matt and Katie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Ok

    ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good

    Loved this book so much! Kinda hated the ending though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Recommend

    Very good story! I hear it is a movie--and I would love to see it!! I actually re-read some of it, once I finished it, to fill in some gaps. Mostly because I had pre-judged and missed the twist--after I "knew" then, I went back through.

    Excellent story of the power of love to overcome tragedy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson

    I must admit that I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this book. I've not previously read James Patterson...I'd certainly heard of James Patterson (many of my friends read him) but what I knew of him was thrillers and mysteries, grit and crime...not the emotional and sensitive look at life and love that this proved to be.

    The book flowed masterfully as I expected and from that standpoint was a joy to read. The character of Suzanne quickly captured my heart and I couldn't help rooting for her despite the obvious supposition that things could not be expected to end well for her. The sweet and honest romance between Suzanne and Matt at times seemed almost too perfect and idyllic and thus was for me a bit unbelievable. Despite that, I was sucked in and as the suspense built could not help but rush through to the end which I'll admit had me shedding a few tears.

    I'd definitely recommend this one as a quick and easy sweet read for a rainy afternoon. You won't be left pondering the universe, but a pleasant sense of melancholy and perhaps a need to re-examine your priorities in life will linger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Great book!

    I just finished the book. Great read, a little slow in the middle, but very powerful. Made a 17 year police vet cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Love it

    I liked this book very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A great romance!

    Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas was a great book, and if you're looking for a heartwarming romance, then this is your kind of book. James Patterson seems to share his own experiences in the book because it's so well written. A young girl, Katie Wilkinson, is heart broken by her first romance and moves out of state to find herself head over heels for Matt Harrison. She seems to think everything is perfect until he unexpectedly leaves her, with no reasoning, leaving her only a diary to read. He tells her that some parts of the diary will be hard to read. She is left with no choice but to read this diary, written by Suzanne Harrison who is writing to her newborn baby boy. Katie finds out many surprises but ends up really liking this mysterious girl, who she hasn't met a day in her life. After finishing the diary, she is left feeling lonelier and as if she needs to tell him the secret that she hasn't yet revealed to him. If this sounds interesting to you, then finish it for a tear jerking but happy ending. I loved this book since there were many disappointments in it, but at the same time there were many great parts that just sent shivers through my body. I would recommend this book to any women looking for a heartfelt romance. I would have to say it was one of the best books I have read. The movie did not compare to the detail of the book because i felt more connected to the characters while reading. Good job James Patterson! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    A good story-

    This book is about Katie falling in love with Matt. Everything seems to be going well when Matt suddenly breaks up with Katie. She is confused and sad. Matt gives her a diary to read. The diary is his wife's, named Suzanne written to his son, Nicholas. Katie reads the story trying to figure out her life and meaning. This is a good story. It is a good book with a lot of surprises, twists and emotions. I read this book quickly, in three days because I wanted to see what was going to happen. You will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed this book

    This is a quick read. Somewhat predictable, but I still enjoyed it very much. I really felt like I knew the characters personnally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    i dont usually read books but this one was great.i got really into it.This book is about a diary of a love letter written by a new mother named Suzanne for her son,Nicholas.This is a powerfully moving and suspenseful novel about families,loss,new love,and hope. There were some parts that were sad but all n all this was a great book.If you need something to read, I recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Ever want to peek at someone else's diary??

    Being this was the first novel that I've read by James Patterson, I had no expectations biased by his previous works. However, I was greatly impressed by this easy and quite emotional read. So much so that I'm interested in reading other books by this author. The story was a great concept and kept the reader guessing from one scene to the next where the diary was leading. While the main character, Suzanne, seemed a bit too sappy at times and her view of her love interest, Matt, a bit too perfect at times, it was an enjoyable story nonetheless. I received this book as a Christmas gift, and would highly recommend it for anyone else to give as a gift to a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8