Customer Reviews for

Swallowing Darkness (Meredith Gentry Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(398)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fanasty for real life

Merdeith will pull you for the ride of your life. The only thing was the ending left the reading hanging to see what will happen next.

posted by gayla72 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

LOST THAT LKH FEELING

I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes...
I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes even likable. In other words, the series has been interesting. This book, which seems to be the last book, was basically the opposite.
I'll try to sum it up and not give everything away.
Merry is raped by her uncle in the last book. Don't worry though. She doesn't seem that bothered by it. I know she has a lot going on, but it just seems strange how little this situation played into the plot.
Most of the men in the book have little to no development. They are mostly just lovesick puppies. Others seemed like totally different people, like Mistral. I don't know what happened to the old Mistral, but this new one was pitiful.
Actually the thing that bothered me the most. She has sex with Ash and Holly. I figured once she was pregnant and had her SIX fathers-to-be, she'd stick to them, but I guess the goblins getting magic at the end of the book is more important. Call me a prude, but I thought the rules of the sidhe were you had sex with whomever, whenever until you were pregnant. Then you stuck with just the father. *shrug*
Last, but not least: The ending seems to negate the whole point of this whole series.
I would only recommend this book for die-hard fans. It really seems like a different person wrote this. It's all over the place and just doesn't have the same feel as the other books. I'm just glad I purchased mine on the Kindle so I didn't have to pay the hardcover price.

posted by 148617 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 602 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    LOST THAT LKH FEELING

    I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes even likable. In other words, the series has been interesting. This book, which seems to be the last book, was basically the opposite.<BR/>I'll try to sum it up and not give everything away.<BR/>Merry is raped by her uncle in the last book. Don't worry though. She doesn't seem that bothered by it. I know she has a lot going on, but it just seems strange how little this situation played into the plot.<BR/>Most of the men in the book have little to no development. They are mostly just lovesick puppies. Others seemed like totally different people, like Mistral. I don't know what happened to the old Mistral, but this new one was pitiful.<BR/>Actually the thing that bothered me the most. She has sex with Ash and Holly. I figured once she was pregnant and had her SIX fathers-to-be, she'd stick to them, but I guess the goblins getting magic at the end of the book is more important. Call me a prude, but I thought the rules of the sidhe were you had sex with whomever, whenever until you were pregnant. Then you stuck with just the father. *shrug*<BR/>Last, but not least: The ending seems to negate the whole point of this whole series.<BR/>I would only recommend this book for die-hard fans. It really seems like a different person wrote this. It's all over the place and just doesn't have the same feel as the other books. I'm just glad I purchased mine on the Kindle so I didn't have to pay the hardcover price.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fanasty for real life

    Merdeith will pull you for the ride of your life. The only thing was the ending left the reading hanging to see what will happen next.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    The last book? We can only hope.

    The Merry Gentry series was never going to overtake my love of the Anita Blake series, but she could have at least tried with what seems like her last chance to impress/ win over her fans from one series to both. <BR/><BR/>In her last outing, Merry Gentry seemingly "lost" Killing Frost, whom Hamilton (happily) brought back this time around -- but it was cliched. Merry finds that love and her friends/ harem are more important than the crown -- and didn't we see that coming?<BR/><BR/>The most disappointing thing in this book is probably the lack of finality. Yes, there is a climax, denouement, and conclusion, but no resolution.<BR/><BR/>Merry marries Sholto and becomes Queen of the Sluagh. But she doesn't have any hard choices to make. She doesn't have to sacrifice her polygamy for one mate. <BR/><BR/>This is not an issue of a disregard for an alternative lifestyles. My issue with the book is the one thing Merry seems to be sacrificing is something she wasn't thrilled about in the first place -- the Crown of her Aunt, Andais.<BR/><BR/>I've spoiled enough of the book for fellow fans of Hamilton's, so I'm not going to spill everything. It is worth a read simply because we're addicted. But this is not going to win anyone over from one franchise to the other, and it certainly isn't going to win her any "brownie" points with her current base, if you'll pardon the pun.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    Simply Horrible

    I will never judge a book by it's cover...simply horrible, boring beyond words; I kept waiting for it to get better but it NEVER did.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    hypnotic romantic fantasy

    Princess Meredith NicEssus of the Unseelie Court knows the danger of being a princess she also knows how hazardous being pregnant can be as Her Aunt Andais the Queen promises that if she gets pregnant before her son impregnates someone else, she will be the heir to the throne. Since few children are born in Fairie, Merry carrying twins from six fathers has become the hope of revitalization and the target of those who want to use her like her insane Uncle Taranis who kidnapped and raped her. He plans to claim that he sired his niece¿s children. Even her beloved Gran, under a spell apparently performed by cousin Cair, tries to kill her. --- Outraged Merry demands the Wild Hunt to obtain revenge but that comes at a price as Mistral, another of her children¿s¿ fathers, is dying. She asks the Goddess to save him and another injured father Doyle. Meanwhile another sire Sholto and Merry are crowned as King and Queen of the Slaugh in Faerie while her uncle stalks her and Queen Andais¿ son tries to eliminate her. Merry¿s wrath against family is growing. --- SWALLOWING DARKNESS has a different overall tone thn the rest of the books in this series as there are infrequent sexual time outs with the battles and plans highlighted instead as Merry needs revenge on those trying to harm her, her unborn and her loved ones. Merry is a wonderful person, who tries to be fair to everyone, but does not fear using her powers against nasty folks. The two Courts remain overall malevolent with one more overt about their evil agenda. Fans will appreciate the latest Princess Merry hypnotic romantic fantasy. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Swallowing Darkness by Laurell K. Hamilton

    Looking for a kick@ss heroine? "Swallowing Darkness" by Laurell K. Hamilton gives us a pregnant heroine with awesome powers and raging hormones! How can I not love it?<BR/><BR/>Seriously, in this 7th book of the 'Meredith Gentry' series Meredith is finally pregnant...with twins no less. But instead of becoming softer Merry has had it with her enemies. No more bargaining or backing down. She will do whatever she needs to protect her mates and her unborn children. All I can say is...about time. <BR/><BR/>In previous books in this series Merry has been reactive, now she's going proactive and I loved the whole book. If you haven't read any of this series, don't start with this book as you'll just end up confused. <BR/><BR/>Merry is half fae and if she can survive to give birth, she's the new ruler of the seelie court. Her aunt, the current insane ruler, set a challenge between her own son and Merry. The first to get pregnant and begat an heir will win the crown. Of course, her aunt is a totally insane, bloodthirsty, sexually sadistic monarch whose whim is law. And her son is an apple who didn't fall far from the tree. So Merry is caught between these two with pretty much no choice but win or die.<BR/><BR/>That's the basic premise of these books, but there is so much more. I should certainly warn you that I consider these books erotica as there's a LOT of sex and most of it isn't exactly tame or vanilla! But this series is also a really engrossing fantasy tale...for adults. My only gripe is now I have to wait another year for the next chapter in Merry's life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loving this series

    I enjoy reading Laurel K. Hamilton, her stories are highly addictive and truly entertaining. You just have to get use to her overtly sexual writing style. Not that I am complaining, I enjoy a good sex scene, but LKH has a wonderful ability to make even the most experienced reader blush. In regards to the Meredith Gentry series, I have found myself completely enthralled by the books and speed reading through the series. I was a little disappointed by the ending of Swallowing Darkness (which due to spoilers I wont get into, but I found it ended on a frustrating note), and am looking forward to the release of the next book to see what happens to my favorite characters. The best part of this series is watching Meredith grow in her powers, and I hope there is more surprises in regards to her abilities coming up. I would highly recommend this series, just be prepared for some sexual context along the lines of BDSM and multiple partners

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved this book! It could be a pretty good ending to a series or a " to be continued". It was just what I wanted after the last book form this series. I've already re-read it twice!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was the most frustrating of the series!

    Although I have read most of Hamilton's Anita Blake books and all of the Meredith Gentry series so far, this is by far the most frustrating book ever. It started with great plot and movement through the epic that has been created in the first novels and then ends terribly. Out of every goal set up for Merry during her journey, she only achieves one and it seems like Hamilton writes off the rest as if they don't matter, everyone is happy, the end.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazying

    OMG i just finished the last book and it was an emotional rollercoaster. Best one!! I was happy, sad, laughing, crying......everything. I loved the story line. My favorite has always been Doyle, so when so much was happening around him I got so caught up in the story I couldn't stop reading. I can't wait for the next one to come out!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WoW!

    I was worried when reading other reviews of this book that the ending of this one would disappoint because I really loved how the story was building up.<BR/>I have to say though that it was brilliant! The story was action packed non stop. I really loved how Meredith finally came into her own and did what she needed to do in order to protect the ones she loved.<BR/><BR/>The ending made me think this was the last book in the series, but I am praying that it is not! <BR/><BR/>Laura K Hamilton's books are jam packed with action, romance and tons of imagination!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Better Not Be the End

    I've followed L. K. Hamilton ever since a friend handed me a copy of The Circus of the Damned. Since the Anita Blake series never disappointed, I tried her Meredith Gentry series. I kept up since the 3rd book in the series, and Swallowing Darkness keeps the series good and continuous.
    While not as action-packed as the Anita Blake series, the entire Merredith Gentry series is much more dramatic. Swallowing Darkness does a great job of picking up on the ending of A Lick of Frost. Followers of the series will be surprised at a small twist that picks up right in chapters 2 and 3. And the ending was more of a left turn than I was expecting, but much more original than the usual "happily ever after," and rather fun at that. And a mystery is solved that has been running since the first book.
    Sorry! I'm giving away no details. You have to read the book to enjoy it!
    My only fear is that the series is over, given the way it ended. I sure hope not. I wanna see a clash of the Courts! All FIVE of them. The Goblins, the Seelie, the Unseelie, the Slaugh, and....ah! But that would be telling!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Good, but not as good

    I have every book written by Laurel K Hamilton, so I obviously think she is a great writer, she has a way of pulling you in and making you feel like you are a part of the story to the point you miss the characters in-between books!!! Swallowing Darkness was a good book, but I did not feel that she put as much into it as the others; all of the intense action came more at the end, and then it was like it was all pushed and rushed through just to get it done. Frost came back and it was over. There should have been more with him, she did not even include a part about him finding out she was pregnant with his child too. I am very glad it is not the last (according to what I have seen and read). The Anita Blake series was my favorite until I read the Merideth Gentry series and that is my favorite, I have read both twice!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Swallowing Is Not the End

    I have totally quit reading reading reviews of Hamilton's work because I don't think some people are actually reading the same books I am. I have enjoyed Hamilton's work since Kiss of Shadows - the first Merry Gentry book. Up until this time, I hadn't read anything by her, but his quickly changed. Although Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter is my favorite series, Merry runs a close second!<BR/><BR/>Swallowing Darkness picks up right where A Lick of Frost ended. Merry has been raped by her uncle, King Taranis, and her beloved Frost has been turned into a stag. I was shocked with the opening scene because my joy at having "Gran" reenter the picture was quickly changed to horror because of a vengeance spell.<BR/><BR/>I was not expecting the Wild Hunt so soon after the last, but with Merry's kin plotting her murder and her uncles sadistic actions, I guess it was an obvious conclusion.<BR/><BR/>I'm still having trouble wrapping my head around Merry's pregnancy with twins and the huge number of men who share paternity. This is my problem, not Hamilton's problem - her writing is up to snuff, I'm just having trouble with several issues. I am happy to see the "mother bear" instincts rise up in Merry - after spending 6 books trying to get pregnant, I was wondering how she would react to the pregnancy.<BR/><BR/>For me, Swallowing Darkness answered some major plot points, but there are so many more questions to be answered. This is NOT the last Merry Gentry book, as so many other reviewers have claimed. According to Hamilton's website and blog (which I read faithfully every day), Merry's story is not finished, so the series goes on. Yeah for us die-hard Hamilton fans!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Beautiful

    I am so proud of Laurell. All of those who read her books know that her books have been lacking the action that they once had, but this book made up for it. I am proud to say that this book only had 1 almost and 1 actual sex scene. That's probably a record for the Merry Gentry series. Their wasn't even a lot of sexual innuendo. The drama in this book was good without being over the top. Merry becomes tougher and realizes that being kind will not help her survive in the either sidhe court. She shows an awesome display of power and gives the others back their power and some, power they never heard had. She returns old weapons and you get to read about how they are used and the damage they can imflict. Merry is kicking butt and taking names. Defeating her enemies and showing that she is not one to be messed with. So many OMG moments happened in this 365 page head turner that it will restore faith in any reader who has given up on Laurell's book becoming nothing more than pwp's. I cannot freaking WAIT until the next book comes out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Plot's back! Way to go, LKH!

    As I've suspected the last few years, if LKH can just cut back on the sex scenes the plot will have a chance to take hold. There was one book in the series where Merry was naked the whole book, remember?! I know that some fans only read her books for the steamy scenes and don't give a flip about the structure of the story, but I'm so heartened that this book cut way back on the orgies and had Merry kicking some serious fey tail! In fact, so many threads were sewn up in this book, could this be the end of the series?<BR/><BR/>Now if Anita could just get on the abstinence train for a few books maybe we can resurrect that series, too.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Development in the Merry World

    This continuation of the Meredith Gentry story contains action-packed scenes and manages to move the plotline forward quite a bit as opposed to some of the earlier books. The sex scenes do not dominate the book as much though the inherent sensuality found in most Laurell K. Hamilton books are still present.

    Meredith's adventures take her from human hospitals into the Slaugh sithen as well as the Seelie sithen in this hook and ends in the human world. An epic battle amongst the Sidhe is the main focus of this book as well as Goddess' annoyance with the reception of her gifts.

    There have been some criticisms of this book with Meredith acting somewhat out of character since she resorts to outright violence in many of the scenes. Hamilton, however, constructs a convincing tale that Meredith has simply reached the end of her rope and realized that sometimes violence is the only method to the madness she faces.

    The book delves further into the politics and madness one could expect from people who live thousands of years, and amongst all the darkness, Hamilton manages to instill moments of lightness, humor, and endearing moments.

    I found the book to be fun, entertaining, and full of excellent story-telling even if the writing leaves something to be desired. This is a must-read for all Meredith Gentry fans and has strong potential for being a re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Darkness is Lacking

    I'll be interested to see if Laurell K. Hamilton continues this series. The book was entertaining and, in her unusual and imaginative way, intriguing and highly sensual. That is until the halfway point. It was as though her primary interest was to jam everything into this book without regard for full story line and character involvement, just to "get it done". The last half of the book could have been written into another full novel, with all the interest, all the intrigue and character development of her other books. Unfortunately, because the other books in this series were so well written, the fact that this felt rushed is more apparent that it would be otherwise. It is my sincere hope that she finds the insight to continue this series, but if not up to par with the earlier books, perhaps its best she not bother. It is still very much worth the read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I think this next book in the series is great. The story moved forward with great speed, it was fun to read, and I love the characters. I happen to think that these Merry books are too short. LKH has such great ideas, and I love how she balances the romance, sex, horror and mystery. The story moved forward in this book, and left you with an ending of wanting more. I wish LKH would do the same for our Anita books. That's a lost cause I am afraid, but I think she does a super job with the Merry books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Read

    I'm a big fan of Laurell Hamilton's. I have all of her books - both Anita Blake and Meredith Gentry. Even though there is a bit too much sex, her imagination and story lines are very interesting. She brings the world of faerie to life and makes it very easy to visualize the lush suroundings and beautiful characters of both courts. I was glad to see on her website that although Swallowing Darkness would give her a perfect chance to end Meredith's saga, she will be continuing further.<BR/><BR/>I continue to wait for further developments on any of her characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 602 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31