Customer Reviews for

Swallowing Darkness (Meredith Gentry Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fanasty for real life

Merdeith will pull you for the ride of your life. The only thing was the ending left the reading hanging to see what will happen next.

posted by gayla72 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

LOST THAT LKH FEELING

I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes...
I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes even likable. In other words, the series has been interesting. This book, which seems to be the last book, was basically the opposite.
I'll try to sum it up and not give everything away.
Merry is raped by her uncle in the last book. Don't worry though. She doesn't seem that bothered by it. I know she has a lot going on, but it just seems strange how little this situation played into the plot.
Most of the men in the book have little to no development. They are mostly just lovesick puppies. Others seemed like totally different people, like Mistral. I don't know what happened to the old Mistral, but this new one was pitiful.
Actually the thing that bothered me the most. She has sex with Ash and Holly. I figured once she was pregnant and had her SIX fathers-to-be, she'd stick to them, but I guess the goblins getting magic at the end of the book is more important. Call me a prude, but I thought the rules of the sidhe were you had sex with whomever, whenever until you were pregnant. Then you stuck with just the father. *shrug*
Last, but not least: The ending seems to negate the whole point of this whole series.
I would only recommend this book for die-hard fans. It really seems like a different person wrote this. It's all over the place and just doesn't have the same feel as the other books. I'm just glad I purchased mine on the Kindle so I didn't have to pay the hardcover price.

posted by 148617 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    LOST THAT LKH FEELING

    I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes even likable. In other words, the series has been interesting. This book, which seems to be the last book, was basically the opposite.<BR/>I'll try to sum it up and not give everything away.<BR/>Merry is raped by her uncle in the last book. Don't worry though. She doesn't seem that bothered by it. I know she has a lot going on, but it just seems strange how little this situation played into the plot.<BR/>Most of the men in the book have little to no development. They are mostly just lovesick puppies. Others seemed like totally different people, like Mistral. I don't know what happened to the old Mistral, but this new one was pitiful.<BR/>Actually the thing that bothered me the most. She has sex with Ash and Holly. I figured once she was pregnant and had her SIX fathers-to-be, she'd stick to them, but I guess the goblins getting magic at the end of the book is more important. Call me a prude, but I thought the rules of the sidhe were you had sex with whomever, whenever until you were pregnant. Then you stuck with just the father. *shrug*<BR/>Last, but not least: The ending seems to negate the whole point of this whole series.<BR/>I would only recommend this book for die-hard fans. It really seems like a different person wrote this. It's all over the place and just doesn't have the same feel as the other books. I'm just glad I purchased mine on the Kindle so I didn't have to pay the hardcover price.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    The last book? We can only hope.

    The Merry Gentry series was never going to overtake my love of the Anita Blake series, but she could have at least tried with what seems like her last chance to impress/ win over her fans from one series to both. <BR/><BR/>In her last outing, Merry Gentry seemingly "lost" Killing Frost, whom Hamilton (happily) brought back this time around -- but it was cliched. Merry finds that love and her friends/ harem are more important than the crown -- and didn't we see that coming?<BR/><BR/>The most disappointing thing in this book is probably the lack of finality. Yes, there is a climax, denouement, and conclusion, but no resolution.<BR/><BR/>Merry marries Sholto and becomes Queen of the Sluagh. But she doesn't have any hard choices to make. She doesn't have to sacrifice her polygamy for one mate. <BR/><BR/>This is not an issue of a disregard for an alternative lifestyles. My issue with the book is the one thing Merry seems to be sacrificing is something she wasn't thrilled about in the first place -- the Crown of her Aunt, Andais.<BR/><BR/>I've spoiled enough of the book for fellow fans of Hamilton's, so I'm not going to spill everything. It is worth a read simply because we're addicted. But this is not going to win anyone over from one franchise to the other, and it certainly isn't going to win her any "brownie" points with her current base, if you'll pardon the pun.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was the most frustrating of the series!

    Although I have read most of Hamilton's Anita Blake books and all of the Meredith Gentry series so far, this is by far the most frustrating book ever. It started with great plot and movement through the epic that has been created in the first novels and then ends terribly. Out of every goal set up for Merry during her journey, she only achieves one and it seems like Hamilton writes off the rest as if they don't matter, everyone is happy, the end.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Good, but not as good

    I have every book written by Laurel K Hamilton, so I obviously think she is a great writer, she has a way of pulling you in and making you feel like you are a part of the story to the point you miss the characters in-between books!!! Swallowing Darkness was a good book, but I did not feel that she put as much into it as the others; all of the intense action came more at the end, and then it was like it was all pushed and rushed through just to get it done. Frost came back and it was over. There should have been more with him, she did not even include a part about him finding out she was pregnant with his child too. I am very glad it is not the last (according to what I have seen and read). The Anita Blake series was my favorite until I read the Merideth Gentry series and that is my favorite, I have read both twice!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Darkness is Lacking

    I'll be interested to see if Laurell K. Hamilton continues this series. The book was entertaining and, in her unusual and imaginative way, intriguing and highly sensual. That is until the halfway point. It was as though her primary interest was to jam everything into this book without regard for full story line and character involvement, just to "get it done". The last half of the book could have been written into another full novel, with all the interest, all the intrigue and character development of her other books. Unfortunately, because the other books in this series were so well written, the fact that this felt rushed is more apparent that it would be otherwise. It is my sincere hope that she finds the insight to continue this series, but if not up to par with the earlier books, perhaps its best she not bother. It is still very much worth the read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of her best

    I usually enjoy Hamilton's Merry Gentry series, but she has written a couple of duds in the series. This one is one of the duds; however it is not the worst book in the series. The story takes place over the course of only a couple of days & is very dialogue driven, which I believe is not Hamilton's strong suit. The dialogue is very corny at times & often left me rolling my eyes. Had there been more action (and I'm not referring to sex) I feel the book would have been much more interesting. Unless you are collecting the books, skip purchasing the hardcover version & either wait for it to come out in paperback or check it out from your local library. I'm glad that I did.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    L.K.H. finally hits her stride with Merry Gentry

    I like Laurell K. Hamilton and this series but I have been seriously irritated with it for a while. Every time I finish one of the books in this series I felt like I only got a very long chapter not an actual book. With the conclusion of this book I finally felt like I got a full story. It took me seven very long chapters to get here but I was please with the results. I know there are more coming so I am happy because with "Swallowing Darkness" it seems to me like Hamilton has finally hit her stride with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3