BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Swallowing Darkness (Meredith Gentry Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fanasty for real life

Merdeith will pull you for the ride of your life. The only thing was the ending left the reading hanging to see what will happen next.

posted by gayla72 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

LOST THAT LKH FEELING

I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes...
I have truly enjoyed this series even though I never cared for the A. Baker series. I found Merry likable and all the different characters compelling. The men were strong, hot and in emotional turmoil over their pasts. The "bad guys" were multi-dimensional and sometimes even likable. In other words, the series has been interesting. This book, which seems to be the last book, was basically the opposite.
I'll try to sum it up and not give everything away.
Merry is raped by her uncle in the last book. Don't worry though. She doesn't seem that bothered by it. I know she has a lot going on, but it just seems strange how little this situation played into the plot.
Most of the men in the book have little to no development. They are mostly just lovesick puppies. Others seemed like totally different people, like Mistral. I don't know what happened to the old Mistral, but this new one was pitiful.
Actually the thing that bothered me the most. She has sex with Ash and Holly. I figured once she was pregnant and had her SIX fathers-to-be, she'd stick to them, but I guess the goblins getting magic at the end of the book is more important. Call me a prude, but I thought the rules of the sidhe were you had sex with whomever, whenever until you were pregnant. Then you stuck with just the father. *shrug*
Last, but not least: The ending seems to negate the whole point of this whole series.
I would only recommend this book for die-hard fans. It really seems like a different person wrote this. It's all over the place and just doesn't have the same feel as the other books. I'm just glad I purchased mine on the Kindle so I didn't have to pay the hardcover price.

posted by 148617 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Plot's back! Way to go, LKH!

    As I've suspected the last few years, if LKH can just cut back on the sex scenes the plot will have a chance to take hold. There was one book in the series where Merry was naked the whole book, remember?! I know that some fans only read her books for the steamy scenes and don't give a flip about the structure of the story, but I'm so heartened that this book cut way back on the orgies and had Merry kicking some serious fey tail! In fact, so many threads were sewn up in this book, could this be the end of the series?<BR/><BR/>Now if Anita could just get on the abstinence train for a few books maybe we can resurrect that series, too.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I think this next book in the series is great. The story moved forward with great speed, it was fun to read, and I love the characters. I happen to think that these Merry books are too short. LKH has such great ideas, and I love how she balances the romance, sex, horror and mystery. The story moved forward in this book, and left you with an ending of wanting more. I wish LKH would do the same for our Anita books. That's a lost cause I am afraid, but I think she does a super job with the Merry books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Read

    I'm a big fan of Laurell Hamilton's. I have all of her books - both Anita Blake and Meredith Gentry. Even though there is a bit too much sex, her imagination and story lines are very interesting. She brings the world of faerie to life and makes it very easy to visualize the lush suroundings and beautiful characters of both courts. I was glad to see on her website that although Swallowing Darkness would give her a perfect chance to end Meredith's saga, she will be continuing further.<BR/><BR/>I continue to wait for further developments on any of her characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Saved the best for what I hope is not the last

    This book was a fantastic combonation of everyone we been involved with during this series. The ending was fantastic but I am really hoping it wasn't the end of the series. I would reccomend reading the the series in order though or you won't get the full impact. ( The first 2 in series start slow and I wasn't sure i would continue but by the middle of the third book I was totally invoved in their lives!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    Finally, less sex, more action

    I and others have been asking for a book like this. A story that advances with action and cuts the amount of sex to a third. There are lots of loose ends but the ending suggests this could be an end to the series. I hope this is not true. The author is finally hitting her stride much better with well crafted stories and characters. The intrigue will continue and I hope Laurel K Hamilton will continue to bring it to us.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I think she's back!!

    For the long-time fans of Laurell K, I have to honestly say that I think she is finally getting back to what we all love her for. The latest installment of the Meredith Gentry series was a refreshing return to the type of story that got us all hooked to begin with. I loved the concept, the story progression and the lack of overwhleming eroticism that has come to characterise both of her series lately. <BR/><BR/>True fans will tear through this one and be glad they hung in there this long!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Great Series

    Wonderfully written. Characters come alive. Interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OOOOhhh Merry!

    I just cannot help myself when it comes to these books. I love the fantasy escape that it gives, when I nee to just pop out of reality I know that Laurell K. Hamilton will do it for me. This is a great book cannot wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    thows you trust and thow you do not

    a lot of clowser for the muder of her father and to lern the aunt is only petending on the crown

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Typical Laurel Hamilton

    I love the characters and the plots in the Meredith Gentry series. Hamilton's descriptions are fun to read. Very sexy. Great beach or rainy day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellant, keeps story going well

    I am a big fan of Laurell and I will pick up her books no matter what. There has been a lot of skepticism about her last few books with too much erotica and too many stories. I have liked these more than the earlier ones. She has some of the best characters, and with her writing style you really feel for them. Like a lot of people after I read this book I thought the series was over but to my excitement she has stated there will be more. So if you have liked her before you will like this one for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Swallowing Darkness

    I loved this book. In the beginning, I wanted Meredith to be with her darkness a little bit more.That is the only disappointment. I don't think she had any down time with him. Maybe in the next book. I missed Frost. Wow what can I say.There was a lot of action towards the end.I think a lot of new characters are going to be added.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    Definitely a read, not a listen.

    Did Random House not read the book before they decided to change narrators for the audio book? Hello! American faerie princess, not British! Therefore the narrator should at least have an American accent, if they couldn't get the person who narrated the first 6 books of the series. I can't even objectively assess how good/bad the narration is because the accent is so jarring. From the audio book perspective, the improvements in plot and less sex are destroyed by a terrible pick for narrator. If you're a fan the series and liked the earlier audio books, read this one and leave the audio book on the shelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    TERRIFIC!!!

    I must say, that I always look forward to a new book by L.K.H. This is one of the only authors that I will purchase a book in hardcover, rather than wait a year for the less expensive paperback.<BR/><BR/>The characters, plot, dialoge, and the "supernatural" elements of all her novels are amazingly good and "real"; however, like some other reviewers, I think they tend to be a bit heavy on the SEX. I'm no prude, but after ten pages detailing a lovemaking scene, I tend to zone out and skim ahead to the action.<BR/><BR/>All of L.K.H.'s novels are terrific and have a permanent place on my bookshelves....these are keepers that I DON'T loan out to anyone else!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This story captured my attention

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7