Customer Reviews for

The Swan House: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This is one of the best books I have read in years, and I read alot. I love a good southern book and this was great. I can not believe this was a free book. The story grabs you from the first page and never lets go. I wish I could give it more stars! It should be made i...
This is one of the best books I have read in years, and I read alot. I love a good southern book and this was great. I can not believe this was a free book. The story grabs you from the first page and never lets go. I wish I could give it more stars! It should be made into a Hallmark movie,

posted by ginsnook on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unoriginal

The plot is very unoriginal and predictable. Musser throws in pages of religious material at strange times that don't actually add to the story or the main character's growth. She also ends the book abruptly without really tying up loose ends or letting you know what ha...
The plot is very unoriginal and predictable. Musser throws in pages of religious material at strange times that don't actually add to the story or the main character's growth. She also ends the book abruptly without really tying up loose ends or letting you know what happens. Not sure if that's because she's writing a sequel or just sloppy writing.

posted by 3269750 on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Wow!

    This is one of the best books I have read in years, and I read alot. I love a good southern book and this was great. I can not believe this was a free book. The story grabs you from the first page and never lets go. I wish I could give it more stars! It should be made into a Hallmark movie,

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    highly recommended

    One of those stories that you wish were really true. The author remained true to Atlanta events and locations in 1962 Atlanta. Warm, and individual treatment of characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Outstanding read!

    The headline speaks for itself. I'm not into lengthy reviews.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Spirit

    Thank you Elizabeth Musser for the journey of a lifetime, it really was an amazing trip, I really hated to see it end, growing up in the 60's having lived for awhile in Atlanta I was completely enveloped in this stiory, Mary Swan is one of the most amazing characters I have ever read about, Actually all the characters were unforgettable, the memories of this time in our histiory, the beauty of the art and words , the saddness and the hope and the changes that have come and the pure love from our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ that shows us the limitless possibilities in our life,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Beautiful story

    I can't think of one coherent thought that would adequately portray the beauty, the soul, the depth of this book...I loved every word of it. I fell so deeply into this book that I feel...stunned...raw...now that I've finished it. What a rare find...review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    This was an excellent read. I enjoyed it very much. By the end of the book i was in tears. I found myself identifying with mary swan as she came to understand the precious gift of salvation and how it changes lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Awesome!

    This book was great! I didn't want to put it down. I would recommend it for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    really wonderful read

    one of many free ebooks Id downloaded, half of which I dont read ...when I started to read this one Id noticed it wasnt my usual fare even after having read the description, but it was very well written, very engaging, and a wonderful story....I wish it were 'lend'able so I could let my mom 'borrow' it XD , very glad I gave it a try

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    My kind of reading!

    This was a fantastic story. I grew up in the south, in the 50s and 60s and I could so relate with Mary Swan and her anger toward the prejudices of the time. Wonderfully written, kept me going and going wanting to read non stop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Loved It!

    A very poignant and relevant story about coming of age in Atanta in the middle of the Civil Rights movement of the 60's. The characters are well developed and empathetic, and I laughed at the humor, cried with them in the tragedies, and thrilled with them in their victories. Underlying all is a young girl's quest to find the "Truth" and to understand her purpose and place in life. A great read for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Unoriginal

    The plot is very unoriginal and predictable. Musser throws in pages of religious material at strange times that don't actually add to the story or the main character's growth. She also ends the book abruptly without really tying up loose ends or letting you know what happens. Not sure if that's because she's writing a sequel or just sloppy writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Long but well worth reading

    Excellent. Life death hope and coming of age in an interesting and troubled period in the south. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Lovely read

    What a great read! The story was captivating and I couldn't put my nook down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    Hard to get into, but worth the effort.

    It was a bit of a curiosity. I think the writer made the same mistake(s) I did with my never-published novel, namely too many issues, too many characters. In our current culture, most readers are not willing to take a long, leisurely tour through a story.

    In my opinion, the author tackles too many heavy themes: Mental illness, (good insights there) civil rights (it's been done to death) evangelism (I am a Believer, but I thought it went way too heavy and spent too much story time on that) coming of age (not bad) and art, (also not bad.)

    Still, I came away feeling good. As a lover of cheesy Hallmark movies, I must say that it had a satisfying ending. I even cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Interesting Read-Recommended Highly

    I enjoy reading books which are set in the historical period of the 1960s. The author has an interesting style of writing. I felt I understood the characters' motivation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    STILL THINKING ABOUT THE CHARACTERS!

    I have toured Swan house and walked the grounds surrounding it. Been to the high Art Museum too.Everything could be so easily seen and felt, well written enough to wish for a 2nd book about the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Wholesome and inspiring read...

    Enjoyed the time period and use of characters. Inspired by main characters growth during a difficult time in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I haven't read it yet.

    Will read it this summer.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Loved it

    Really great book! Tears and joy are brought to life in this book,z!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Awesome

    It to me awhile to get into this book but once i did it was awesome real tear jerker in the end you will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5