Customer Reviews for

Swann's Way: In Search of Lost Time, Volume 1 (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

First Volume of an unprecedented achievement in literature

Proust was a master architect of sentences and characters. He rips down the veneer of French civilization and offers a revelation in insight on human behavior. When Virginia Woolf first read this novel, she nearly gave up the profession of writing because she felt no au...
Proust was a master architect of sentences and characters. He rips down the veneer of French civilization and offers a revelation in insight on human behavior. When Virginia Woolf first read this novel, she nearly gave up the profession of writing because she felt no author could ever produce a better work than Proust had achieved in Swann's Way. Upon reading this book, my passion for literature was revivified and made anew--though it is challenging at parts, it offers great rewards. To anyone that loves reading, this is an imperative literary journey.

posted by Solitary_Lobos on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not happy.

The formatting is distracting. I will be dumping this for one that is easier to read.

posted by 3067171 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    First Volume of an unprecedented achievement in literature

    Proust was a master architect of sentences and characters. He rips down the veneer of French civilization and offers a revelation in insight on human behavior. When Virginia Woolf first read this novel, she nearly gave up the profession of writing because she felt no author could ever produce a better work than Proust had achieved in Swann's Way. Upon reading this book, my passion for literature was revivified and made anew--though it is challenging at parts, it offers great rewards. To anyone that loves reading, this is an imperative literary journey.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Proust's prose

    I'm in gratuate school for history, 95% of the reading I do is non-fiction, most people would find my reading boring, dull and/or very dry. I take a break by reading fiction, mostly the classics. When I want to relax I read Proust, I find his prose mesmerizing. If he wrote ten pages on flipping and egg I would read it. To me the story is secondary. If you enjoy the pleasure of reading the written word this is it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Not happy.

    The formatting is distracting. I will be dumping this for one that is easier to read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Swann's Way (Davis Translation)

    Proust's work is now available in a translation that is not dull or coy. This translation is better than the Moncrieff -Kilmartin translation. Read this book and find out why Nabokov called Proust wisdom in literature.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    greatest

    What can be say for this book that has not already been say? I add this new translation is very fine for the English ear and will be a very fine introducion to many wishing to begin Proust but do not have learned French.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    N

    My teacher said this is an amazing book with great details and it feels like your in a dream i dont have a dought that im not going to mind spending money on this book : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    love the swan's wa

    always a pleasure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great book.

    Full of enchantment and beauty.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    The ebook is not the Davis translation.

    It's a good thing it was only a buck.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3